|
III. Market overview
A. The
Customer (Target Market)
a. Demographic
1. Education
2. Geographic
3. Income
4. Age
5. Gender
|
Print Resources
Market Share Reporter
Reference HF5410 M35
An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies,
products, and services. Gives sources from where information is derived.
World Market Share Reporter
Reference HF5410 W67
A compilation of reported world market share data and rankings on
companies, products, and services.
U. S. Market Trends and
Forecasts
Reference HF5415.1 U8
Overview and projections for almost 400 industries. Includes
information such as market size, market sectors, competition, customer
profiles, market history and forecasts in chart and graph
format. Trends in the back by age bracket, little over simplified but
could be helpful.
Market Scope: The Desktop Guide to Supermarket
Share
Reference HD9321.4 M375
Supermarket share for over 1,400 chains and wholesalers as reported by
five market definitions (ACNielsen SCANTRACK, Nelsen Media Research's
DMA, IRI InfoScan, TradeDimensions' Marketing Guidebook, and MSA).
Includes the buying offices, total number of supermarket sales as a
percent of total sales, as well as demographic information for the
geographic area, recent mergers and acquisitions in the supermarket
industry, etc. See introductory pages for users guide and definitions.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. We
have online now!
Reference Standard
& Poor's. HC 106.6 S74
Search by industry headings (in the front of each
volume). After you find the closest industry, grab the right
alphabetical book and read the articles for changes in the trends and
look at the CDI for more number trends. Very helpful. Also has
regulations for industries that have changed.
Who's Buying Groceries.
Reference HD
9321.4 W46
Provides the trends of different shopping segments,
men, women, race, age and ethnicity.
(Simmons may provide additional information.)
Check
consumer data resources (print and online). See especially the
New Strategist Reports.
SUDS The Lifestyle Market
Analyst
(Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No: HF5415.33 U6
L54)
- Provides marketing profiles by geographic area
- lifestyle profiles
- consumer segment profiles
- a list of consumer magazines and direct mailing lists
classifications targeted to lifestyles.
The Sourcebook of Zip Code
Demographics
(Reference Book on 1st floor of library Call No: HA 203 S66)
Projections of key population and income variables: data on
population, households,
families, income, race, age, and spending potential for various
products.
Chamber of Commerce as a resource,
i.e.
Bothell,
Woodinville,
and
Ballard.
They have listings of all the Member Businesses.
MRSC- Municipal Research Service Center of Washington-
Site giving all of the web sites for major cities as well as
county profiles in Washington State, see especially "Research Tool" tab
at the top of page. |
|
Free
Websites
Check
consumer data resources (print and online),
polls and surveys, U.S. Census,
(see government sources)
and newspaper and journal articles.
American Factfinder:
This U.S. Department of Commerce site provides a huge amount of
demographic information on people and business,
including personal income and a wealth of localized information, from
the year 2000 census. Use zip codes to locate Demographics
corresponding to where you
are considering opening your business.
MelissaData
http://www.melissadata.com/lookups/
Current but very simplified data.
Competitor websites may give you some great
ideas about buying trends as well. |
|
Databases
(UW Restricted)
Standard & Poor's
netAdvantage -
Features Standard & Poor's market investment news, including market
snapshot, company quote, equity indexes page, the Outlook's market
insight, S & P stock picks and pans, economic calendar, economic
insight, industry in focus, and Stovall's sector watch
Lexis-Nexis
Academic -
Covers news, trade journals, legal, statistical and
accounting information. Look for magazines & newspaper articles,
using search terms such as "Demand Trend" and the type of industry
you will go into. For example "demand trend" and the term "frozen"
produced great articles about trends in frozen foods.
TableBase (UW Bothell On Campus Access Only)
TableBase specializes in tabular data on companies, industries, products
and demographics. It is international in scope, covers over 90
industries and provides links to tables and articles
from which the tables were derived. A useful marketing tool!
InfoTech Trends
Market data from over 65 industry journals on peripherals, software,
storage, Internet, communications, etc. Covers revenue, shipment
forecasts, market share, usage, etc. Data is up to the most recent
quarter, comes in table format, and can be downloaded into Excel
spreadsheets. Note: Information found here may be useful for
making projections (e.g., from market, revenue, costs, etc.).
Simmons Choices 3
(Library
Access Only)
(To access from UWB/CCC Library, select: Start/Programs/Library
CD-ROMS/Simmons/Choices3)
This is a consumer research database derived from responses to a
national consumer survey by 30,000 American adults aged 18+. The
collection of data in the database includes household purchase or usage
of numerous household products, brands, and services, including media
usage. Customized reports can be created from the data to analyze
product users' demographic and psychographic characteristics and their
media behavior. Latest available data is for 2002. Suggestion: at
the beginning do a search for the products, companies or brands, so you
can verify the database has this data for the most recent year. For
example, search for "Costco" and "Wal-Mart" so you can compare the
demand and demographics for each company. If the data does not
exist in that year, try the next year. This is a very spiffy tool, but
the learning curve is steep; keep playing with it and you will use it
lot.
Note:
Beginner's Guide available here.
For more complex searches, ask at the reference desk for the
Simmons Choices 3 User Manual (Public Work Station Computer
Manuals HC110 C6 C47 1999-2000).
SimplyMap
-
a wonderful tool that allows some multi-variable searches to pinpoint
where your target customers are located.
This mapping tool allows you to
search on a map for customers meeting your target
demographics. Data can be exported to excel to
map charts showing the size of your client base. Suggestion: use Simmons to identify your clients and then use SimplyMap
to find the densest area that they reside and put your
business there.
VERY COOL TOOL!
Link to:
SimplyMap
Tutorials
Plunkett Research
Online
An industry center providing market research, trends and
analysis, industry statistics, profiles of industry-leading companies
(both public and private), industry associations, and company contact
export features.
Investext
To search by industry. Select an industry
from the drop down menu; enter "Demand" in the keyword search box and
see what comes up.
OR
To narrow your search: in the "Report
Title" box, try typing a word you think might appear in a title. Keep it
broad.
The larger reports are more likely to
contain information you seek (also, note who produced the report).
The report is accessible through the "PDF
Document" on the left margin.
OR
Search by company. Reports may contain information related to the
company's industry, its competitors, market share, trends and forecasts.
Business
Databases,
Doreen Harwood (our campus Business Librarian) created this page as
an index to all of the business databases available to you through the
UW Libraries. Database are UW Restricted. |
b.
Psychographic Trends
1. What type of media do they
consume?
2. What are their beliefs?
3. Why do you believe they
are the type to buy your product?
|
Print Resources
Handbook of market segmentation : strategic
targeting for business and technology firms, By Art Weinst
Reference HF5415.127 .W45 2004
Explains why understanding the psychographics of your
product or service is necessary. The book also breaks down the process of
internal research or using contracted research. Discusses the
usability of VALS.
Asking questions : the definitive guide to questionnaire design :
for market research, political polls, and social and health
questionnaires,
By Norman M. Bradburn, Seymour Sudman, & Brian Wansink
Reference H62 .B63 2004
This explains how to set up a psychographic questionnaire so
you can find the type of people likely to purchase your product. |
|
Free Websites
SRI Consulting Business Intelligence VALSTM
http://www.sric-bi.com/VALS/types.shtml For a description of the
shopper types. This is a commercial website
that has broken down the different types of shoppers
to help identify types of shoppers within your target
demographic.
"VALS is a consumer
psychographic segmentation system because it is based on psychological
characteristics and several demographics that correlate with consumer
behavior-hence, psychographics."
To take the survey to understand yourself in order to
put this tool in to perspective.
http://www.sric-bi.com/VALS/presurvey.shtml
Roper Center
for a huge number of polls going back many years and covering all
sorts of interesting topics. |
|
Databases (UW Restricted)
Simmons Choices 3
(Library
Access Only)
(To access, select library Information
Commons computers: Start/Programs/Library CD-ROMS/Simmons/Choices3)
SimplyMap-
(Not currently available) has some
psychographic
information, (use with Simmons for a more complete picture). This is a
wonderful tool
that allows some multi-variable searches to pinpoint where your target
customers are located. It even maps out their location or gives it
to you as excel data. VERY COOL TOOL!
Link to:
SimplyMap
Tutorials
Lexis-Nexis
Academic -
Covers news, trade journals, legal, statistical and
accounting information. On the left hand margin, select
"Reference," then "Polls & Surveys." This will allow you to search
for key terms.
|
c.
Phase of life - is your product limited to certain time periods in
customer's lives?
(i.e., single, college age, child rearing,
retired, empty nest, )
Think about the lifestyle choices people make such as when we buy life
insurance or stop snowboarding. What drives these changes?
|
Print Resources
The Lifestyle market analyst- Very helpful in seeing the
interests of different age brackets and cities.
Reference HF5415.33.U6 L54
The Portable MBA in
Entrepreneurship. (2004) John Wiley & Sons.
(Reference Book on 1st floor of library.
Call No: HD 62.5 B94)
Great interview Ideas for potential
customers in order to understand the purchasing process and to get to
know potential buyers.
Citizen
surveys : how to do them, how to use them, what they mean
By Thomas I. Miller and Michelle Miller
Kobayashi
Reference
HM261 .M54 2000
American Men: Who They Are &
How They Live by
New Strategist Publications
Reference HQ1090.3 A457
Demographic data on men organized into ten sections: Attitudes and
Behavior, Business, Education, Health, Income, Labor Force, Living
Arrangements, Population, Spending, and Wealth.
American Women: Who They Are &
How They Live by
New Strategist Publications
Reference HQ1421 S486
Demographic data on women organized into ten sections: Attitudes and
Behavior, Business, Education, Health, Income, Labor Force, Living
Arrangements, Population, Spending, and Wealth.
American Attitudes
American Consumer Series by New Strategist Publications
Reference HN 90 P8 A527
Who thinks what about the issues that shape our lives.
Americans and Their
Homes: Demographics of Home Ownership. American Consumer Series
Reference HD7287.82 U6 R87 by New Strategist Publications
Best of Health:
Demographics of Health Care Consumers. American Consumer
Series
Reference WA540 AA1 W4b by New Strategist Publications
Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians,
Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites American Consumer
Series
Reference E184 A1 R78 by New Strategist Publications
Demographics, lifestyles, and attitudes of racial and ethnic groups. |
|
Databases (UW Restricted)
ProQuest Databases
You can use the dropdown database list to limit
your data to "Business- ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry," "Business- ABI/INFORM
Dateline " or "Business- ABI/INFORM Global". If you need fewer articles,
limit dates to recent articles. Simmons Choices 3
(Library
Access Only)
(To access, select library Information
Commons computers: Start/Programs/Library CD-ROMS/Simmons/Choices3)
SimplyMap- has some
psychographic
information, (use with Simmons for a more complete picture). A wonderful tool
that allows some multi-variables searches to pinpoint where your target
customers are located. It even maps out their location or gives it
to you as excel data. VERY COOL TOOL!
Link to:
SimplyMap
Tutorials |
Questions you should answer within your business plan:
1.
Who is your customer - provide a specific description
(summarize the information
above that describes your ideal customer)
2.
How many potential customers are there in your target area?
3.
How are these customers currently being served?
a.
What is the unmet need and how will you meet it?
b.
Think about how you will win the customers currently
being served by others?
|
|
1.
Structure
-
How many Companies are
there? What size are they?
(Do they have resources to overtake you? or buy you out?)
-
Distribution Channels?-
Are they set up horizontally or vertically for a reason?
-
How do they transport
their product? Why?
-
What are the barriers to
enter this market?
-
How is their hierarchy set up?
|
Print Resources
Market Share Reporter
may provides some of this information
(Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No. HF5410 M35) |
|
Databases
(UW Restricted)
Corporate Affiliations
A corporate affiliations directory
that provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and
divisions--U.S. public, U.S. private, and international. Includes M&A
activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria such
as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel, responsibility, city,
state, zip code, country, product/brand name, outside service firm name
or type, area code, number of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code
and SIC keyword, year founded, ticker symbol, and keyword. Advanced
searches can be limited by public, private or international companies,
as well as parent, subsidiaries or both.
Hoovers
Provides access to company profiles for 14,000
companies, public and private, worldwide.
Search
for the company that you are interested in and check the competitive
environment and the competition.
Lexis-Nexis
Competitors are often included in company profiles.
Select: Business
Select: Company Profiles
Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of
financial data for U.S. and international public companies. Other
information provided includes business profiles, histories, lists of
subsidiaries, company officers and directors. An archive section
provides U.S. and international public companies that were acquired,
went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996. Full
Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH
Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH
module
TableBase (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only)
UW restricted
Use the product you hope to market as the keyword, then use drop down
menu to select concept term "Market Share."
Reference USA
http://www.referenceusa.com
Directory of Public and private companies and manufacturers for
U.S. and Canada. Searchable by company, SIC/NAIC codes, Yellow Pages
subjects, and industry. Can be limited by type and size of business
(employee size or sales volume), location (state, MSA, city, county,
area code, zip code), executive title, headquarters, branch or
subsidiary, stock exchange or all public companies. Provides address,
phone, fax, number of employees, sales, credit rating, ticker symbol,
toll free number, SIC code, line of business and if public company. Can
also be searched for companies that meet specific criteria such as all
biotech companies in Bothell. |
2.
Competition -
Who, How Many, How Big?
-
Research how they
advertise
-
Visit their web sites
-
What are their
markets
-
Learn their products
-
Product features
-
Prices
|
Print Resources
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. We
have online now!
(Reference Book on 1st floor of library Call
No: HC 106.6 S74)
Search by industry headings, in the front of each big
book is the industries that they include. After you find the closest
industry grab the right alphabetical book and read the articles for
changes in the trends and look at the CDI for more number trends. Very
helpful. It also has regulations for each of the industries that have
changed recently.
Market Share Reporter
sometimes provides this information
(Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No. HF5410 M35)
Industry Magazines:
get the latest information about trends or changes for your
product from trade journals. (Add the product to the search
provided.)
|
|
Free
Websites
Obviously, check the Competitions' websites!!!!
U.S. Patent and Trade Mark Office-
really cool site that allows you to check patents that have been applied
for as well as granted.
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
U.S. Patents and Trademarks since 1976. Includes international and
e-business links as well.
Patent Database on the internet
http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/swain/patent/patdbases.html
Metasite for patents. Some sites are free.
Business News Online, (newspapers,
newswires, magazines with limited free articles)
Competitors' sites may contain Company
Newswires (Company PR with possible hype so evaluate) with information about not-yet-released products that can impact your
company. Chamber of Commerce as a resource,
i.e.
Bothell,
Woodinville,
and
Ballard.
They have listings of all the Member Businesses. Understand your
competitor's location.
MRSC- Municipal Research Service Center of Washington-
Site giving all of the web sites for major cities as well as
county profiles in Washington State, see especially "Research Tool" tab
at the top of page. |
|
Databases
(UW Restricted)
Trade Journals: report on industry
trends and includes small and private
companies. For articles on the company, search online Databases
such as:
Lexis-Nexis,
ABI/Inform
Trade & Industry, or
Factiva.
Use these databases to find current information regarding changes
in the technologies that your product uses or the direction in which the
market is moving.
Lexis-Nexis
Select: Legal Research Select: Patents
Factiva:
Click on the tab News Pages at the top of the menu for the latest
headlines and top stories in Top Newspapers: The Wall Street
Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles
Times, Newsweek, Business Week, Barron's, Forbes, and Fortune.
ProQuest Newspapers: Full text and indexing for over
600 newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times,
Oregonian, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and other major U.S.
national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and
selected regional/state newspapers.
Forrester
Forrester is an independent research firm that analyzes the
future of technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers, and
society and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing,
software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet. Access is
provided to some reports in this database.
Corporate Affiliations
A corporate affiliations directory
that provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and
divisions--U.S. public, U.S. private, and international. Includes M&A
activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria such
as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel, responsibility, city,
state, zip code, country, product/brand name, outside service firm name
or type, area code, number of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code
and SIC keyword, year founded, ticker symbol, and keyword. Advanced
searches can be limited by public, private or international companies,
as well as parent, subsidiaries or both.
Hoovers
Provides access to company profiles for 14,000
companies, public and private, worldwide.
Search
for the company that you are interested in and check the competitive
environment and the competition.
Lexis-Nexis
Competitors are often included in company profiles.
Select: Business
Select: Company Profiles
Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of
financial data for U.S. and international public companies. Other
information provided includes business profiles, histories, lists of
subsidiaries, company officers and directors. An archive section
provides U.S. and international public companies that were acquired,
went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996. Full
Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH
Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH
module
TableBase (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only)
UW restricted
Use the product you hope to market as the keyword, then use drop down
menu to select concept term "Market Share."
Reference USA
http://www.referenceusa.com
Directory of Public and private companies and manufacturers for
U.S. and Canada. Searchable by company, SIC/NAIC codes, Yellow Pages
subjects, and industry. Can be limited by type and size of business
(employee size or sales volume), location (state, MSA, city, county,
area code, zip code), executive title, headquarters, branch or
subsidiary, stock exchange or all public companies. Provides address,
phone, fax, number of employees, sales, credit rating, ticker symbol,
toll free number, SIC code, line of business and if public company. Can
also be searched for companies that meet specific criteria such as all
biotech companies in Bothell.
Standard & Poor's
netAdvantage -
Features Standard & Poor's market investment news, including market
snapshot, company quote, equity indexes page, the Outlook's market
insight, S & P stock picks and pans, economic calendar, economic
insight, industry in focus, and Stovall's sector watch. |
3.
Stage of
Industry - the research that you have done about the industry and the
competition should be sufficient to complete this section.
Telltale signs of Industry stages:
|
Startup-
|
Maturity-
-
established in market
-
little need for publicity
-
increase in competition
-
prices tend to drop due to the proliferation of competing
products
-
brand differentiation, feature diversification, as each
player seeks to differentiate from competition with "how much
product" is offered
-
most profitable phase
|
|
Growth-
|
Declining-
-
costs
become counter-optimal
-
sales
volume decline or stabilize
-
prices, profitability diminish
-
profit becomes more a challenge of
production/distribution efficiency than
increased sales
|
4.
Trends
-
Growth-Demand
-
Technology - is technology
changing (quickly, slowly)?
-
Buying patterns - is this
a one time purchase item or many purchases in a lifetime?
|
Print Resources
Market Share
Reporter
Reference HF5410 M35
An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies,
products, and services. Gives sources from where information is derived.
World Market Share Reporter
Reference HF5410 W67
A compilation of reported world market share data and rankings on
companies, products, and services.
U. S. Market Trends and
Forecasts
Reference HF5415.1 U8
Overview and projections for almost 400 industries. Includes
information such as market size, market sectors, competition, customer
profiles, market history and forecasts in chart and graph
format. Trends in the back by age bracket at the back of the
book- a little over simplified but could be helpful.
Market Scope: The Desktop Guide to Supermarket
Share
Reference HD9321.4 M375
Supermarket share for over 1,400 chains and wholesalers as reported by
five market definitions (ACNielsen SCANTRACK, Nelsen Media Research's
DMA, IRI InfoScan, TradeDimensions' Marketing Guidebook, and MSA).
Includes the buying offices, total number of supermarket sales as a
percent of total sales, as well as demographic information for the
geographic area, recent mergers and acquisitions in the supermarket
industry, etc. See introductory pages for users guide and definitions.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. We
have online now!
Reference Standard
& Poor's. HC 106.6 S74
Search by industry headings, (in the front of each
volume). After you find the closest industry, grab the right
alphabetical book and read the articles for changes in the trends and
look at the CDI for more number trends. Very helpful. Also has
regulations for industries that have changed.
Who's Buying Groceries.
Reference HD
9321.4 W46
Provides the trends of different shopping segments,
men, women, race, age and ethnicity.
(Simmons may provide additional information.) |
|
Databases
(UW Restricted)
Lexis-Nexis
Academic - Look for magazines & newspaper articles,
using search terms such as "Demand Trend" and the type of industry that
you will go into, ("frozen" gave great articles about trends in frozen
foods); covers; news, trade journals, legal and accounting information.
TableBase (UW Bothell On Campus Access Only)
TableBase specializes in tabular data on companies, industries, products
and demographics. It is international in scope, covers over 90
industries and provides links to tables and articles
from which the tables were derived.
InfoTech Trends
Market data from over 65 industry journals on peripherals, software,
storage, Internet, communications, etc. Covers revenue, shipment
forecasts, market share, usage, etc. Data is up to the most recent
quarter, comes in table format, and can be downloaded into Excel
spreadsheets. Note: Information found here may be useful for
making projections (e.g., from market, revenue, costs, etc.).
Simmons Choices 3
(Library
Access Only)
(To access from UWB/CCC Library, select: Start/Programs/Library
CD-ROMS/Simmons/Choices3)
This is a consumer research database derived from responses to a
national consumer survey by 30,000 American adults aged 18+. The
collection of data in the database includes household purchase or usage
of numerous household products, brands, and services, including media
usage. Customized reports can be created from the data to analyze
product users' demographic and psychographic characteristics and their
media behavior. Latest available data is for 2002. Suggestion: at
the beginning do a search for the products, companies or brands, so you
can verify the database has this data for the most recent year. For
example, search for "Costco" and "Wal-Mart" so you can compare the
demand and demographics for each company. If the data does not
exist in that year, try the next year. This is a very spiffy tool, but
the learning curve is steep; keep playing with it and you will use it
lot.
Note:
Beginner's Guide available here.
For more complex searches, ask at the reference desk for the
Simmons Choices 3 User Manual (Public Work Station Computer
Manuals HC110 C6 C47 1999-2000).
Plunkett Research
Online
An industry center providing market research, trends and
analysis, industry statistics, profiles of industry-leading companies
(both public and private), industry associations, and company contact
export features.
Investext
To search by industry. Select an industry
from the drop down menu; enter "Demand" in the keyword search box and
see what comes up.
OR
To narrow your search: in the "Report
Title" box, try typing a word you think might appear in a title. Keep it
broad.
The larger reports are more likely to
contain information you seek (also, note who produced the report).
The report is accessible through the "PDF
Document" on the left margin.
OR
Search by company. Reports may contain information related to the
company's industry, its competitors, market share, trends and forecasts.
Standard & Poor's
netAdvantage -
Features Standard & Poor's market investment news, including market
snapshot, company quote, equity indexes page, the Outlook's market
insight, S & P stock picks and pans, economic calendar, economic
insight, industry in focus, and Stovall's sector watch.
Forrester
Forrester is an independent research firm that analyzes the
future of technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers, and
society and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing,
software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet. Access is
provided to some reports in this database.
Business Databases,
Doreen Harwood (our campus Business Librarian) created this page
as an index to all of the business databases
available to you.
|
5. Government
Regulations for this industry -
-
Licensing
-
Insurance
-
Taxes
-
Pollution -Toxins proper waste
disposal
|
Print Resources
Washington Administrative Code (WAC),
Reference KFW35 .A26 2001 on the first floor of the
Campus Library.
Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys.
We have online now!
Reference HC 106.6 S74
Search by industry headings- in the front of each big
book are the industries they include. After you find the closest
industry, grab the right alphabetical book and read the articles for
changes in the trends and look at the CDI for more number trends. Very
helpful. It also has regulations for each of the industries that have
changed recently.
Doing Business in 2004: Understanding
Regulation
Reference K3840 D64
Investigates the scope and manner of regulations that enhance business
activity and those that constrain it. Provides quantitative indicators
on business regulations and their enforcement that can be compared
across more than 130 countries, and over time.
Uniform Commercial Code
(Reference KF890 W45 in print format)
U.S. Commercial Law. |
|
Databases
(UW Restricted)
Lexis-Nexis
Select: Legal Research Select: Legal Research, State Codes,
Washington (and something about your product).
Investext
Abstracts and full text of reports and forecasts prepared by
international brokers, investment banks, and trade associations on over
11,000 U.S. and international companies and 83 industries. Some reports
include sales forecasts and market share. Also contains Wall Street
Transcripts of interviews with market leaders.
Standard & Poor's
netAdvantage -
Features Standard & Poor's market investment news, including market
snapshot, company quote, equity indexes page, the Outlook's market
insight, S & P stock picks and pans, economic calendar, economic
insight, industry in focus, and Stovall's sector watch.
Industry Surveys Doreen Harwood
(our campus Business Librarian) created this page as an guide to all of
the industry databases that are available to you.
|
6. What Promotions
are other companies utilizing?
|
Print Resources
Major Marketing Campaigns
Annual
Reference HF 5837 M34
Profiles 100 of the most notable advertising and marketing initiatives
of 1997. Entries include overview of brand history, competition,
marketing strategy and outcome. Campaigns cover a variety of marketing
strategies such as radio and television advertising, branding, and
direct mail. Search in general index by company, product, advertising
agencies and people. There is also a subject index.
Encyclopedia of Major
Marketing Campaigns
Reference HF 5837 E53
Contains 500 important marketing campaigns for products and services.
Entries are alphabetical by company and provide an overview and a
history of the campaign, target market, major competitors and (if known)
market share, marketing strategy and outcome.
The Advertising Age
Encyclopedia of Advertising
Reference HF5803 A38 (3 volumes)
Takes an historical look at the advertising industry. There are entries
for advertisers, brands, campaigns, individuals and various aspects of
advertising such as infomercials and telemarketing. Includes profiles
of 120 advertising agencies worldwide and the history of advertising in
specific countries and regions. Further reading lists are provided at
the conclusion of each entry. There are Appendixes for Advertising Hall
of Fame, Notable U.S. Advertising Degree Programs, Top U.S. Advertising
Agencies, Top U.S. and World Advertisers. The source is well
illustrated
The 2003 Entertainment, Media
and Advertising Market Research Handbook
Reference GV174 E58
Sections include a Market Overview covering Market Summary, Leisure
Time, Media Conglomerates and Consolidation, Profiiles of Key Players,
Investment Analysis, Celebrities, plus Advertising and Marketing,
Television, Film and Video, Print Media, Sports, Music, the Internet,
Entertainment, Venues, Demographics Focus (children, teen, Generagion X
and Y, Baby Boomers, Seniors, Gender, Ethnic and Gay and Lesbian
Markets). Sections typically include a market assessment and forecast,
market leaders, market trends, market distribution by advertising
segment, integrated marketing and advertising, consumer demographics,
and much more.
Trade Periodicals (SRDS Business
Publication Advertising Source)
Reference HF 5905 .S723 This is at Foster Library
Trade periodicals, frequently called trades, contain
brief articles, press releases, and job announcements about a specific
industry. The marketing trades give information about trends in the
marketing industry, company news, and current events. Examples of
marketing trades are Adverting Age, Marketing News, and Adweek.
Most of the trades are available full text in ABI/INFORM. |
|
Free Websites
Clio Awards
http://www.clioawards.com
An archive of who won the clio awards, which honor advertising
excellence worldwide.
Note: Some of the Clio Award videos are held in the
UWB/CCC Media Center. To locate them, search the Online Catalog
by Keyword for "Clio Awards" and limit Location to
"Bothell/CCC Campus Library" and Publication Type to "Videos,
Slides, Media." Federal
Trade Commission
http://www.ftc.gov/
Working for consumer protection and a competitive marketplace. Includes
sections on Business Guidance, Consumer Protection,
Antitrust/Competition, Economic Reports, News Releases, Legal Cases and
more.
Advertising Educational
Foundation
http://www.aef.com This site will
let you watch the CLIO commercials.
Advertising Educational Foundation serves as the industry's
clearinghouse, repository and distribution force for educational
information and materials to improve the perception and understanding of
the social, historical, cultural and economic role of advertising.
Their
mission is to provide the best resource to advertising and related
content on the web.
Marketing and Business Services
http://agr.wa.gov/Marketing/default.htm
WSDA helps Washington food and agricultural producers
sell their products in domestic and international markets and promotes
the agricultural industry.
100+ Marketing Ideas
from Small Business Administration (SBA)
http://www.sba.gov/managing/marketing/100ideas.html
Literally 100+ Marketing ideas, great site for other
ideas as well. |
What
questions you should answer within your business plan:
1.
Description of the
current industry
a. How can you take advantage of the current industry trends?
b. How much growth can you expect?
c. Is this a market you want to go into?
2.
What ideas can you borrow
from the competition? (i.e., Supply chains, distribution channels, points of
sales)
3.
What can you do that your
competition can't?
a. Can you keep them from doing that?
4.
What can you improve upon (e.g.,
make
more profitable, simplify, streamline, just-in-time, reduce waste)?
|
|
Describe each of the following 4P's. Since you
have done the above research, the written statements will solidify all of
the ideas you have and will help you to see what ideas are the best
options.
1. Product -
What is the product or service
you will sell? Describe
all of the attributes of the product or service. Is it a service or
tangible good? What is the product life cycle?
2.
Price - How will you determine price? What options
will work best for your product?
|
Print Resources
Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios
Reference HF 5681 .R25 T68
Over 20 financial ratios and percentages are given
for each of 75 major industries. Each industry is also subdivided, and
ratios are given for the sections. Statistics lag three years behind
publication date. Note: Compiles statistics for companies just starting
up and has no money in assets.
Marketing
by Kerin, Hartley, Berkowitz, & Rudelius.
Reference HF5415 .M29474 2006
Excellent resource for any questions and
this book is frequently a class textbook.
Encyclopedia of small business
Reference BL65.P7 E53 2007
v.1& 2
The Price Advantage by Marn, Roegner & Zawada
Reference HF5416.5 M365
Great explanations for all sorts of pricing situations, i.e. Post
Merger, Price Wars, and New Technology. |
|
Databases
(UW Restricted)
TableBase (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only)
UW restricted
Use the product you hope to market as the keyword; then use the drop down
menu to select concept term "Pricing."
Encyclopedia of Small Business
This source is an eBook. Select the index,
then P and scroll down to pricing and you will find some helpful
explanations to determine pricing.
If you get great info, make note of
the publication and the article name in order to find the full article
in
Lexis-Nexis.
|
3.
Place- What are the locations you will use to
make your product available?
|
Print Resources
Market Scope: The Desktop Guide to Supermarket
Share.
Reference HD 9321.4 M375.
BDI and CDI of the grocery stores, where
stuff should be sold once the product is developed but it does not tell
you what type of shoppers will go to that outlet.
Marketing Guidebook: The Blue Book of
Supermarket Distribution.
Reference HD 9321.3 P75
Mentions what aspects are important to people choosing grocery
stores, and what services they each offer. The book also offers information
on when there are conferences to demo
products and see the latest trends, including websites for this
information.
The Lifestyle
market analyst
Reference HF5415.33.U6 L54
Reference for consumers shopping
SUDS The Lifestyle Market Analyst
(Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No: HF5415.33 U6
L54)
- Provides marketing profiles by geographic area
- lifestyle profiles
- consumer segment profiles
- a list of consumer magazines and direct mailing lists
classifications targeted to lifestyles.
Editor and Publisher Market
Guide
Reference HF5410 .E33
Gives quality of life data, latest
census data, economic and demographic projections for U.S. cities and
other communities supporting daily newspapers.
Community sourcebook of ZIP code demographics
Reference HA203 .S66 |
4. Promotion -
How are you going to promote your site? What promotional ideas work with
the market you have selected?
Use the four P's (product,
price, place, & promotion) and other tactical or environmental variables to
show how your plan can succeed.
|
Print Resources
Best resource--Encyclopedia
of Major Marketing Campaigns
Reference HF 5837 E53
Contains 500 important marketing campaigns for products and services.
Entries are alphabetical by company and provide an overview and a
history of the campaign, target market, major competitors and (if known)
market share, marketing strategy and outcome.
Company/brand$
Reference HF5813.U6 C68
How major corporations spend their money
to advertise their products.
Company/brand$
breaks the advertising dollars
in to 10 different spending categories such as; cable TV, outdoors, and
radio.
Encyclopedia of
Consumer Brands
Reference HF 5415.3 E527
Three-volume set on consumable products, personal products and durable
goods. Gives product info on 600 of the most popular leading brands
(often considered "household words"). Entries include overview of brand
history, sales and market share (when available), major competitors,
advertising info, address and phone number of parent company, brand logo
or photo, essay on how the product originated, evolved and fares today.
Major Marketing Campaigns
Annual (Great examples of Marketing
Campaigns)
Reference HF 5837 M34
Profiles 100 of the most notable advertising and marketing initiatives
of 1997. Entries include overview of brand history, competition,
marketing strategy and outcome. Campaigns cover a variety of marketing
strategies such as radio and television advertising, branding, and
direct mail. Search in general index by company, product, advertising
agencies and people. There is also a subject index.
The Advertising Age
Encyclopedia of Advertising
Reference HF5803 A38 (3 volumes)
Takes an historical look at the advertising industry. There are entries
for advertisers, brands, campaigns, individuals and various aspects of
advertising such as infomercials and telemarketing. Includes profiles
of 120 advertising agencies worldwide and the history of advertising in
specific countries and regions. Further reading lists are provided at
the conclusion of each entry. There are Appendixes for Advertising Hall
of Fame, Notable U.S. Advertising Degree Programs, Top U.S. Advertising
Agencies, Top U.S. and World Advertisers. The source is well
illustrated
Gale Directory of Publications
and Broadcast Media
Reference Z6951 A97
A guide to publications and broadcasting stations, including newspapers,
magazines, journals, radio stations, television stations, and cable
systems. Covers ad rates, circulation stats, local programming,
personnel and more. Arrangement by state, city and media category.
Descriptive and statistical data are given for most cities and states.
The third volume has tables of industry activity and statistics,
broadcast and cable networks, news and feature syndicates, and 21
indexes. The fourth volume contains maps for all areas covered and a
regional market index (by newspaper, periodical, cable, television, and
radio)
Trade Periodicals (SRDS Business
Publication Advertising Source)
Reference HF 5905 .S723 This is at Foster Library
Trade periodicals, frequently called trades, contain
brief articles, press releases, and job announcements about a specific
industry. The marketing trades give information about trends in the
marketing industry, company news, and current events. Examples of
marketing trades are Adverting Age, Marketing News, and Adweek.
Most of the trades are available full text in ABI/INFORM.
|
|
Free Websites
Clio Awards
http://www.clioawards.com
An archive of who won the clio awards, which honor advertising
excellence worldwide.
Note: Some of the Clio Award videos are held in the
UWB/CCC Media Center. To locate them, search the Online Catalog
by Keyword for "clio awards" and limit Location to
"Bothell/CCC Campus Library" and Publication Type to "Videos,
Slides, Media."
Federal Trade Commission
http://www.ftc.gov/
Working for consumer protection and a competitive marketplace. Includes
sections on Business Guidance, Consumer Protection,
Antitrust/Competition, Economic Reports, News Releases, Legal Cases and
more.
Advertising Educational
Foundation
http://www.aef.com This site will
let you watch the CLIO commercials.
Advertising Educational Foundation serves as the industry's
clearinghouse, repository and distribution force for educational
information and materials to improve the perception and understanding of
the social, historical, cultural and economic role of advertising.
Their
mission is to provide the best resource to advertising and related
content on the web.
Marketing and Business Services
http://agr.wa.gov/Marketing/default.htm
WSDA helps Washington food and agricultural producers
sell their products in domestic and international markets and promotes
the agricultural industry.
100+ Marketing Ideas
from Small Business Administration (SBA)
http://www.sba.gov/managing/marketing/100ideas.html
Literally 100+ Marketing ideas, great site for other
ideas as well. |
Questions you should answer within your business plan:
1.
What is your product or service? (If you have explained it fully
before, don't repeat it. Just make sure it is fully explained.)
2.
What is the price? How did you determine this price? Show
support of price using the following; cost of materials, time to produce, cost of
transport, competitor's prices and your profit.
3.
Where do you plan to locate your business? Where will you
obtain the components necessary for
your product or service? Where will you sell your product or service? How
will it get there?
4.
What promotional ideas will you use? When and how? What
image will that give to your product?
|