This is a consumer research database derived from responses to a national
consumer survey by 30,000 American adults ages 18 on. The collection of data in
the database includes Household purchases or usage of numerous household
products, brands, and services, including media usage. Customized reports can be
created from the data to analyze product users’ demographic and psychographic
characteristics and their media behavior. A typical Simmons National Consumer
study asks 5,000 questions with 50,000 possible answers. Latest available data
is for the year 2002.
GETTING STARTED
Go to the Library Homepage, click databases, additional UWB/CCC databases, look
under CD-ROMS for "Simmons Study of Media and Markets" (Choices 3)
OR
Click on the Start button in lower left screen. Select Programs/Library
CD-ROMS/Simmons/Choices 3.
THE FIRST PAGE SCREEN: Background Information
On the opening screen you will see a Dictionary on the left-hand side of the
page from which you will select terms (data) to be placed in COLUMNS, ROWS, and
FILTER (boxes on the right-hand side of the screen.)
The Dictionary is an Index of terms used by the database/survey. Broad
categories are listed first, then by clicking on the left-hand square with the
cross in it, you will find the broad category further delineated into narrower
related terms. Being familiar with this dictionary will help your search.
Instructions for browsing the Dictionary are below.
STEP ONE: Choose a Survey
Note that the default survey is the fall00p-POP (survey identifier displayed on
lower right hand side of screen). To select the survey you want, click on the
icon on the toolbar at the top of the screen. Now you can choose a survey from
the drop-down menu. (Note: Not all the surveys listed in the menu have data in
them and the 1999 Surveys are not an option). For our example, we will use the
fall00p-POP survey.
STEP TWO: FILTER, COLUMN, and ROWS
Specify what you are looking for -
Example Question: "How many men in the United States between the ages of 21 and
45, watch TV Home Shopping programs and also have a passport?" Here’s a
breakdown:
FILTER: Men
ROWS: Ages 21-45
COLUMN: TV Home Shopping
Passport
STEP THREE: Move the above data to Table (fall00p-POP survey used)
Here is how the data is moved into the table:
a. Filter
In
the Dictionary, click on "Lifestyle Demographics" and then "sex" and you will
see that male and female appear in the Answer Box to the right. Click on Male
(it will highlight) and move this to the table Filter section by clicking on the
Filter icon
in the row above the Answer Box.
b. Rows
Now select "Age" under
"Lifestyle Demographics" and a comprehensive list will appear in the Answer Box.
To select more than one age, press Ctrl and Shift keys at the same time that you
click on the different ages. The ages selected will highlight. To move these
ages to your table Rows, click on the Row icon
above the Answer Box.
c. Columns
Next you will need to put "TV
Home Shopping" and "Passport" in your columns. Click on Radio/Cable/TV in the
dictionary, and scroll down to "Television Home Shopping Programs - Do you
Watch?" and click on it to move it over to the Answer Box. You will now click on
"Yes" and then move it to the table columns by clicking on the column icon
above the answer box.
In the dictionary, go to Travel, Passports, Do You
Have One? And move it to the Answer Box using the same steps you used to put
"Television Home Shopping Programs" into the table column.
You have now entered all the information you need to run your question.
STEP FOUR: Check layout of Table and add Title
Click on "Edit Table"
on top tool bar. A screen will come up that will allow you
to enter a Title. This screen will also allow you to check to see if the data
has been entered correctly into the table.
STEP FIVE: Return to Coding Window
By clicking on the far-left icon on the toolbar.
![]()
STEP SIX: Run Analysis
Click on icon on toolbar.
A processing window will appear and when it is
finished, a blank screen will appear to the right. In the top left screen there
should be a folder. To open the folder, double click on the folder icon. You can
now view your table in three different formats:

Once the Crosstab Viewer application has launched, many
options are available:
Return to Choices 3 coding window, Open an existing document, Save the active
document, Copy the selection, Print the report, Print Preview the report, Zoom
in, Zoom out, No zoom, View data such as total consumption, penetration, profile
and index, Sort and rank data within any column or row, Select Axes button,
Change base, Highlight cells that indicate figures above or below certain
values, Create graph in Excel, Run Correspondence Analysis, Select to run a
Private Eye, Invert selections, Hide rows or columns. For a detailed User
Guide that explains these functions, see the Reference Librarians to check out a
Simmons Choices 3 User Manual.
HOW TO BROWSE THE DICTIONARY (optional)
Note: In order to browse the dictionary, you must first go to the Survey icon
and select a survey. The Dictionary Browser provides access to the Questions and
Answers for the currently loaded survey.
Click on the binoculars icon above the dictionary. Type in your search term -
example: PASSPORTS. The Dictionary Word Search window will appear. Type in
"Passports" and click on Search. In the results box all listings with
"Passports" included will appear. Select the desired work by clicking on it (it
will highlight), and then click on Find in Dictionary. The answer will appear in
the Dictionary on the left-hand side of the page. You may then move it to the
table if you choose.
HOW TO PRINT Use the print icon on the toolbar.