International Program - Murphy
International Program

Library Session: Monday, October 6, 2008

To Do...
 
  • Create a UW NetID. Your UW NetID allows you to:
    • Access your library account
    • Request materials from other UW Libraries and from Summit
    • Access the UW Libraries databases and other UW Restricted resources from off campus
    • Access Electronic Reserves
    • Use wireless internet in the library
  • Learn how to connect to library resources from home
  • Learn about reserves and e-reserves
  • Activate your library card. This is also your student ID. Bring your ID to the desk on the first floor, and a staff member will be happy to activate your library card. You'll also need to provide the email address you use most often and your UW NetID. Notices from the UW Libraries will be sent to you via email.

 

Browsing Books
 

Use the Library of Congress Classification System to find books on topics of interest:. This is especially helpful when you are searching the Reference Materials and the Topic Books both located on the first floor.

Take a look at the Classification Guide and think about what subjects listed there might cover your topic.

Reference materials/books –Many reference materials are still in the form of books, such as a dictionaries, encyclopedias, or directories that contain specific facts, data, or other information. Reference books are non-circulating, as they are high-demand sources with multiple applications. Reference materials like subject encyclopedias can provide an overview and background to help students formulate their paper topics. Other "ready-reference" materials can provide quick facts, dates, and statistics. Some reference books can be found online here. The Campus Library’s Reference collection is located on the 1st floor near the Information Commons.

Topic books - can help you focus your ideas for your research paper, narrow your topic or find opposing points of view on a topic. They are also a wonderful source for more information on your topic with their excellent articles and bibliographies.

 

Using the UW Libraries Catalog
 

The UW Libraries Catalog provides you with access to over 8 million titles of the 20 University of Washington Libraries in Bothell, Seattle and Tacoma. The catalog is a publicly accessible database, and is available from any computer with an Internet connection. Through the UW catalog you can also search the Summit catalog and gain access to items at academic libraries throughout WA and OR. Check out this library guide for information on searching the catalog, renewing books, checking out books from other libraries, and more.

  • Do a keyword search for your topic. For instance : Global Warming. Do any of the results look helpful?
  • Click on an entry and take a look at it. What are the "LC SUBJECTS"?
  • Where is this book located?

 

Online Reference Sources
 
Article Databases
 
  • Expanded Academic ASAP- UW restricted
    Scholarly and general interest sources in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)- UW restricted
    Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Additional links
 

Getting help from your Librarian
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance. I can help over email, or you can make an appointment to meet in the library.