Reference Books in U.S. History

In addition to your textbook and general websites, use sources like these to find background information on your topic and for ideas on ways to focus from a broad “who, what, where, when” topic to a “how or why” question. General or subject encyclopedias can be a great source of background information. Researchers use encyclopedic and reference sources to establish a fuller picture of the players, conditions, perspectives and events related to their area of research. You will find that it is much easier to filter out redundant or non-pertinent information when you have armed yourself with the "big picture." Depending on your topic, consulting an appropriate encyclopedia before you begin searching in the databases and online catalog will save you time and make your searches more effective.

Critical Terminology Assignment Search Tips

Specialized U.S. History and American Studies Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - print and online

Read about how to access "UW Restricted" materials from home or click on the Off-campus access link at the top of this page and enter your UW NetID

General & by Time Period

Gale Virtual Reference Library Online UW Restricted

Oxford Reference Online, including timelines UW Restricted

American Decades (1900-1999)
E169.12 .A419 1994 v.1-10

American National Biography UW Restricted

Annals of America. A collection of reprinted historically
significant documents.
E173 A793 1976

The citizen action encyclopedia: groups and movements
that have changed America

JS303.5 H35 2002

Cold War America, 1946 to 1990
E741 .G76 2003

Colonial America to 1763
E188 .P86 1999

Companion to the American Revolution.
E208 C67 2000

Dictionary of American history - UW Restricted
E174 .D52 2003 v.1-10

Encyclopedia of American Cultural &
Intellectual History.
E169.1 E624 2001 v. 1-3

Encyclopedia of American social history.
HN57 .E58 1993 v. 1-3

Encyclopedia of American social movements
HN57 E594 2004 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of American studies.
E169.1 .E625 2001 v. 1-4

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War.
E460 H47 2000 v. 1-5
Also available online through NetLibrary UW Restricted

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
E169.12 .E49 2001

Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America
GV53 E53 2004 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of social welfare history in North America
HV12 E497 2005

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience.
BL2525 E53 1988 v. 1-3

Encyclopedia of the United States in the nineteenth century.
E169.1 .E626 2001 v. 1-3

Encyclopedia of the United States in the twentieth century
E740.7 .E53 1996 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of Urban America.
HT123 E5 1998 V. 1-2

Great events from history. American Series
E178 M22

Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures
E169.1 G73 2004

Oxford Companion to United States History UW Restricted

Philanthropy in America
HV91 P58 2004 v.1-3

Poverty in the United States
HC110 P6 P598 2004 v.1-2

Revolutionary America, 1763 to 1800
E162 P86 1995

The sixties in America
E841 .S55 1999 v.1-3

Twentieth century America: a primary source collection from the Associated Press
E740.5 T84 1995

 

African American History

African American Studies Center NEW UW Restricted

Blackpast.org NEW

African Americans at war
U52 S88 2004 v.1-2

Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and
African American experience
DT14 .A37435 1999

The African-American atlas :
Black history and culture - an illustrated reference
E185 .A79 1998

Encyclopedia of African American Culture
and History.
E185 E54 1996 vol. 1-5

Encyclopedia of African American society
E185 E546 2005 v.1-2

Greenwood encyclopedia of African American civil rights:
from emancipation to the 21st century

E185.61 E54 2003 v.1-2

 

Asian American History

Atlas of Asian-American history
E184.A75 A89 2002

Encyclopedia of Japanese American history :
an A-to-Z reference from 1868 to the present
E184.J3 E53 2001

 

Gender Studies & Women's History

American masculinities: a historical encyclopedia
HQ1090.3 A453 2004

Gale Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and
Transgendered History in America
- UW Restricted

Handbook of American Women’s History.
HQ1410 H36 2000

Historical and multicultural encyclopedia of women's
reproductive rights in the United States

HQ766.5 U5 H57 2002

Men and masculinities: a social, cultural, and
historical encyclopedia

HQ1090.3 M436 2004 v.1-2

Women during the Civil War
E628 H37 2004

 

Hispanic American History

Atlas of Hispanic-American history
E184.S75 O287 2001

The Hispanic presence in North America from 1492 to today
E169.1 .F375 1991

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States, vol. 2 History.
E184 S75 1993

The Latino encyclopedia
E184.S75 L357 1996 v.1-6

Immigration & Multicultural History

American Immigrant Culture.
E184 A1 A63448 1997 v. 1-2

Civil rights in America : 1500 to the present
JC599.U5 S53 1998

Encyclopedia of American immigration
JV6465 .E53 2000 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of civil liberties in America
JC599 U5 E53 2004 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of Ellis Island
JV6484 M67 2004

Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics
E184.A1 E574 2000 v.1 -2

Encyclopedia of multiculturalism
E184.A1 E58 1994

Encyclopedia of racism in the United States
E184 A1 E773 2005 v.1-3

Harvard encyclopedia of American ethnic groups.
E184 A1 H35

Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America, UW Restricted and Primary Documents
E184.A1 G14 2000 v.1-3
E184.A1 G15 1999 v.1-2

Racial and Ethnic Relations in America
E49 .R33 2000 v.1 - 3

Key U.S. Immigration Laws

 

Labor & Economic History

The American economy: a historical encyclopedia
HC102 A66 2003 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of American economic history.
HC103 .E52 1980 v. 1-3

Encyclopedia of the industrial revolution in America
HC105 O45 2002

Encyclopedia of U.S. economic history - UW Restricted
HC 102 G35 1999

Historical encyclopedia of American labor
HD8066 H57 2004 v.1-2

Work in America: an encyclopedia of history, policy, and society
HD8066 W637 2003 v.1-2

Working Americans, 1880-1999.
HD8066 D47 2000 v.1-3

 

Native American History

American Indian History
E77 .A496 2003 v.1 -2

Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights
KF8210.C5 E53 1997

Handbook of North American Indians, vol. 4 History of Indian White Relations.
E77 H25

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Browse by tribe name or year,
Also available in print -
KF8203 1972 v.1-5

The Native American Rights movement
KF8203.36 .G76 1996

 

Pacific Northwest History

Chronology of the American West: from 23,000 B.C.E.
through the twentieth century
F591 Z46 2002

Historical atlas of the Pacific Northwest
F851 H38 1999 ATLAS CASE

The Oxford history of the American West
F591 .O95 1994

 

Politics, Foreign Policy & War

The American presidents
E176.1 .A6563 2000

Americans at War - UW Restricted

East Asia and the United States: an encyclopedia of relations since 1784
DS518.8 E53 2002 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy - UW Restricted
E183.7 .E52 2002 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of American political history.
E183 E5 1984 v. 1-3

Encyclopedia of Cuban-United States relations
E183.8 C9 L39 2004

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution.
KF4548 E53 2000 v.1-6

Encyclopedia of the Korean War
DS918 E53 2000 v. 1-3

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American War
E404 C93 1999

Encyclopedia of World War II
D740 E516 2005 v. 1-5

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
KF8742 .W567 1997 v.1 -2

Historic U.S. Court Cases.
KF385 A4 J64 2001 v.1-2

Major Acts of Congress
KF154 M35 2004 v.1-2

Oxford Companion to American Military History
UW Restricted

Presidential documents
E176.1 P889 2000

The United States and Mexico at War
E404 U66 1998

West's Encyclopedia of American law
KF154 .W47 1998 v.1 - 10

World War II in the Pacific : an encyclopedia
D767 .W68 2001

 

Statistics

Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2005
HA202 K87 2001

Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970
HA202 H57 1989

Selected U.S. Decennial Census reports

U.S. Statistical Abstracts, from 1878+

U.S. Decennial Census Reports Contains historical census reports in PDF for 1790-1860, 1990, and 2000

United States Historical Statisics

Specialized Multidisciplinary Subject Encyclopedias

A Concise Glossary of Cultural Theory
HM101.B775 1999

Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought
H41 B53 2003

CQ Researcher - UW restricted
Extensive reports on issues of current
political and social importance.

Dictionary of Twentieth Century Culture
E169.12 A418 1994

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
GN307.E52 1996

A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory
HM101 .D527 1996

Encyclopedia of Community
HM756 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
HV 6017 E524 2002

Encyclopedia of ethics
BJ63 .E45 1992 v.1 -2

Encyclopedia of Homosexuality
HQ76.25 .E53 1989

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues
Since 1945
JC571 L2747 1999

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
HQ15 E53 2002 v. 1-2

Encyclopedia of Sociology
HM425.E5 2000
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
HQ1115 .E43 2001

Facts.com - (Facts on File World News Digest) UWB/CCC Campus Access Only
Select the Issues and Controversies On File section of the database. A good resources for current topics. Coverage is from 1940+

Gale Virtual Reference Library - UW restricted
A large collection of reference books - interdisciplinary

International encyclopedia of human rights : freedoms, abuses, and remedies
JC571 .M3243 2000

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the family
HQ9 E52 2003 v.1-4

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
H41 .I58 2001

Keywords in Multicultural Interventions: A Dictionary
BF637.C6 K493 1999

The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
CB9 N49 2005 v. 1-6

The Oxford companion to politics of the world
JA61 .O95 2001

Oxford Reference Books online UW Restricted
Browse the title list
Keyword search all or selected titles

Oxford Online: Politics and Social Sciences UW Restricted

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
H41.R4 2001

Return to U.S. History Guide

Getting Help from a Librarian

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me

Sarah Leadley
American Studies Librarian
sleadley@uwb.edu
425-352-5387

 

If I'm not available, we have many ways you can get help. You can contact librarians individually for appointments in-person or via email. You are welcome to contact any of my colleagues at the reference desk: 425-352-3146. We also have an e-mail reference service that can answer your questions within one or two working days. You can also try Q&A Live, a collaborative digital reference service that allows you to "chat" with a librarian in real time using your computer. This service is staffed by librarians at the UW and beyond..