This is a collection of primary source archives that I've used in the past or gleaned from various review sources or recommentations.
Please note that this page is not maintained and some links may not work.
The Mexican American War and the Media
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
National Child Labor Committee - Lewis Hine, 1908-1921
Immigrant and ethnic America - Harpers Weekly
Rutger's Oral history archive - WWII, Korea and Vietnam
American RadioWorks documentaries
Vanderbuilt Television News Archive
Literature and Culture of the 1950s
North American Women's Letters and Diaries, colonial to 1950 UW Restricted
Documents from the women's liberation movement - Duke University
Excerpts from CHOICE REVIEWS ONLINE UW Restricted
History
and politics out loud. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2000sup CHOICE.
"The product of National Endowment for the Humanities collaboration with
Michigan State University, HPOL announces a searchable archive of "politically
significant audio materials." On March 30, 2000, HPOL offered 101 items,
60 from the 1960s and 34 from the 1970s. The earliest segments in the collection
were two from President Franklin D. Roosevelt, including his eloquent first
inaugural address. One of the four from the 1940s was Secretary of State George
C. Marshall's announcement of the European recovery plan at Harvard University's
June 5, 1947 commencement. "
The
Dred Scott case. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2001sup CHOICE.
"The Web site features 85 documents from the circuit court trials and the
appeals to the Missouri Supreme Court."
The
Valley of the shadow: two communities in the American Civil War. Internet
Resource Reviewed in 2001oct CHOICE.
"the Web site includes maps, censuses, newspapers, personal papers, and
military and church records from Franklin County, Pennsylvania, and Augusta
County, Virginia".
History
matters: the U.S. survey course on the Web. Internet Resource Reviewed in
2002sup CHOICE.
(Reprinted from CH, Sup '01)
"a collection of primary documents in text, image, and audio about the
experiences of "ordinary" Americans; interactive exercises on interpreting
historical evidence; a collection of Web-based assignments; commentaries by
historians; interviews with distinguished teachers on their teaching strategies
and techniques; a syllabus collection; ongoing discussion lists moderated by
recognized authorities (this semester features a discussion on the Depression
hosted by Alan Brinkley); links to online reference sources; and games."
Foreign
relations of the United States: (1900-1918). Internet Resource Reviewed
in 2003sup CHOICE.
(Reprinted from CH, Sup '02)
"Foreign Relation of the United States (FRUS) is an authoritative, official
source for primary research on foreign policy topics. Published by the Department
of State decades after the events illuminated, FRUS began with materials for
1861 and now contains over 350 books of public and declassified documents. "
Civil
Rights Movement veterans. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2004jun CHOICE.
"The bulk of its original content consists of memories and reflections,
such as Bob Zellner's recollection of the March on Washington and Bruce Hartford's
interviews with various grassroots activists. ...At present, the Web site provides
uneven coverage of the civil rights years, containing the greatest amount of
material on Freedom Summer and other aspects of the movement in the South in
the first half of the 1960s. "
Eugenics
archive: image archive on the American eugenics movement. Outstanding Title!
Internet Resource Reviewed in 2004apr CHOICE.
"offers access to the following topics: Social Origins, Scientific Origins,
Research Methods, Traits Studied, Research Flaws, Eugenics Popularization, Marriage
Laws, Immigration Restriction, and well-documented sections on authors, references,
and staff. The Web site's collection of historic photographs and images from
the eugenics era is visually striking. The Archive clearly presents the social,
political, and economic forces that supported the eugenics movement of the 19th
and early 20th centuries and provides a link to the 21st-century version of
eugenics, the National Human Genome Research Project. "
Public
History Resource Center. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2004jun CHOICE.
"The editors provide a collection of links in the section People, Places,
Politics, and Social Movements of the Progressive Era. Topics range from the
Anti-Saloon League, 1893-1933, and Coney Island to dime novels and penny dreadfuls
and the emergence of advertising in the US. Other links highlight modernism,
the conservation movement, WW I, the US eugenics movement, the influenza of
1918, and women's suffrage, among other matters. Real highlights are Ronald
L.F. Davis's terrific essays, particularly "Creating Jim Crow: In-Depth
Essay," contained in the History of Jim Crow link. Another major link,
Focus on Work and Labor History, brings together a series of intriguing topics,
including the Bisbee Deportation of 1917, Chicago anarchists on trial, and La
Causa, which provides a history of Cesar Chavez's United Farm Workers."
Voices
of civil rights. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2005jan CHOICE.
"personal stories of participants of modern civil rights movements from
1945 through 1975. The Web site's centerpiece is profiles of activists from
the many reform organizations associated with the 1960s, including the African
American Civil Rights Movement, the American Indian Movement, and the Chicano,
gay rights, environmental, and women's movements. "
Women
working, 1870-1930. Outstanding Title! Internet Resource Reviewed in 2005jan
CHOICE.
"documents related to women's employment in the US during a period in which
that experience was fundamentally altered by the impact of industrialization.
Both professional women and those who worked in factories are highlighted in
thousands of digitized documents. Available material ranges from government
reports to relevant personal papers, advertisement circulars, and periodical
articles, as well as thousands of images. "
WWW
virtual library--American Indians: index of Native American resources on the
Internet. Outstanding Title! Internet Resource Reviewed in 2004oct CHOICE.
The home page lists 32 primary categories ranging from archival resources to
museums to electronic texts as well as nonprofit organizations and activist
sites.
Black studies.
Internet Resource Reviewed in 2005sup CHOICE.
"The main page lists 51 broad subject categories (including Brown v. Board
of Education, Emancipation, The Great Migration, Postage Stamps, Tuskegee Airmen,
and The Underground Railroad), each subdivided by specific topics. ...The site
reproduces original documents, including a 1957 telegram from President Eisenhower
to Arkansas Governor Orval Faubus regarding the integration of Little Rock Central
High School. Other types include lesson plans, sound recordings, videos, photographs,
government publications, oral and personal histories, and bibliographies. "
In motion: The African-American migration
experience. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2005sup CHOICE.
"The Web site chronicles 13 African American migrations from the Middle
Passage of the 16th century to contemporary influxes of migrants from Africa
and the Caribbean. This perspective places the forced migrations of the slave
trade within the broader context of self-motivated movements of African Americans,
spanning four centuries. "
"The Decisive day is come":
the battle of Bunker Hill. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2006feb CHOICE.
"Its primary attraction is ten primary source accounts of the battle from
prominent Bostonians such as Abigail Adams, as well as private soldiers and
other eyewitnesses. "
Korean-American
digital archive. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2005sup CHOICE.
"the Korean American community during the period of Japanese rule in Korea,
1903-65. It brings together more than 11,000 pages of documents, 1,800 photographs,
and 45 hours of oral histories in one searchable database. "
Radical America.
Internet Resource Reviewed in 2006jan CHOICE.
"Radical America was a magazine launched in 1967 by radical students in
Madison, Wisconsin, ...The Web site makes available PDF files of the first 14
years of publication (while a few issues, including the first, are missing,
the library intends to digitize them all). "
September
11, 2001, documentary project. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2005sup CHOICE.
"Beginning on September 12, 2001, folklorists and ethnographers nationwide
were asked to interview people and preserve their reactions to the attack on
the World Trade Center (WTC) and Pentagon and the crash of United Airlines Flight
93. ... and includes about 200 audio and video interviews, 45 photographs/drawings,
and 21 written narratives. "
The E Pluribus Unum Project. Internet
Resource Reviewed in 2005dec CHOICE.
"E Pluribus Unum examines three critical periods of strain and conflict
in US history: the 1770s, 1850s, and 1920s. It provides texts from these periods
to illustrate issues and rhetoric from multiple perspectives. "
Urban experience in Chicago:
Hull-House and its neighborhoods, 1889-1963. Internet Resource Reviewed
in 2005sup CHOICE.
Veterans History Project. Internet Resource
/ Reviewed in 2005sup CHOICE.
"firsthand accounts detailing ordinary people's experiences serving in
support roles and fighting in the US's 20th-century wars. "
Women, enterprise & society: a
guide to resources in the business manuscripts collection at Baker Library.
Internet Resource Reviewed in 2005sup CHOICE.
"This site is the culmination of a two-phase project to locate archival
materials that illuminate the participation of women in American business. Phase
I, managed by Laura Cochrane, surveys materials from the 18th and 19th centuries;
Phase II, led by Clara Bouricius, examines the 20th-century collections. "
Schomburg Center for Research
in Black Culture. Internet Resource Reviewed in 2006feb CHOICE.
"The Schomburg successfully provides researchers access and reference to
documents, art and artifacts, manuscripts, monographs, photographs, moving pictures,
and more. "
| Getting Help from a Librarian |
If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me
|
Sarah
Leadley |
If I'm not available, we have many ways you can get help. You can contact librarians individually for appointments in-person or via email. You are welcome to contact any of my colleagues at the reference desk: 425-352-3146. We also have an e-mail reference service that can answer your questions within one or two working days. You can also try Q&A Live, a collaborative digital reference service that allows you to "chat" with a librarian in real time using your computer.