Primary Sources in U.S. History

Web Sites ** Articles ** Government Documents ** Local History ** Books ** Help

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, speeches, interviews, memoirs, documents produced by government agencies such as Congress or the Office of the President, photographs, audio recordings, moving pictures or video recordings, research data, and objects or artifacts such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past, and when they are used along with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research. From: Using primary sources on the Web, includes strategies for reading and evaluating primary sources

These worksheets from the National Archives can be helpful in interpreting primary sources

WEBSITES

American Memory
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning." Includes:

U.S. History to 1865

U.S. History since 1865

African American History

Labor History

Native American History

Pacific Northwest History

Science & Medicine

Women's History

More history web sites

Historic Maps

Images/Films

Oral History

Statistics

U.S. Historical Statistics UW restricted

Selected U.S. Decennial Census reports

U.S. Statistical Abstracts, from 1878+

U.S. Decennial Census Reports


United States Historical Statisics

ARTICLES - HISTORIC NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES

Read about how to access UW restricted resources from home, or click on the "Offcampus access" link at the top of this page and enter your UW NetID.

More historical newspapers... and more historical magazines, and more newspapers (current and historic)

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

More government documents...

LOCAL HISTORY

More local history resources...

BOOKS

UW Libraries Catalog

    Using the UW Libraries Catalog to find primary sources

In addition to secondary sources (for example, scholarly books written by historians) the UW Libraries has a huge collection of books that can be considered primary sources for American history. These include books written during the period for your topic (i.e., during the depression), books written by participants, published collections of correspondence and other personal writings, memoirs, oral histories, and reprints of collections of primary source material.

How to search the UW Libraries Catalog for primary sources:

  • Limit your search by year of publication.
  • Search for books written by key participants and organizations.
  • Use the subject headings "sources," "correspondence," "personal narratives," “oral history”, and "diaries" in conjunction with your search.
  • Browse the shelves in the appropriate subject area (or use the call number browse capability of the Catalog).

Examples of “keyword” searches:

Trade unions and history and su:sources
african americans and su:interviews
japanese americans and su:(diaries or correspondence or narratives or oral history)

See also the Summit Catalog - A combined library catalog for academic libraries in Washington and Oregon. Search and request items unavailable at UW

Return to U.S. History Guide

Getting Help from a Librarian

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me

Sarah Leadley
American Studies Librarian
sleadley@uwb.edu
425-352-5387

 

If I'm not available, we have many ways you can get help. You can contact librarians individually for appointments in-person or via email. You are welcome to contact any of my colleagues at the reference desk: 425-352-3146. We also have an e-mail reference service that can answer your questions within one or two working days. You can also try Q&A Live, a collaborative digital reference service that allows you to "chat" with a librarian in real time using your computer.