| Company Information | Statistical Information |
| Industry Information | Government and Law |
| Finance and Investments | Economics |
| Entrepreneurship | Business & the Environment |
Finding Information on Pacific Northwest Companies
Online Resources:
Reference USA UW
restricted
http://www.referenceusa.com
Public and private companies and manufacturers directory for U.S. and
Canada. Searchable by type and size of business, industry group and SIC
code, location (state, MSA, city, county, area code, zip code), executive
title, headquarters, branch or subsidiary, employee size or sales volume, stock
exchange or all public companies. Provides address, phone, fax, number of
employees, sales, credit rating, ticker symbol, toll free number, SIC code, line
of business and if public company. Can also be searched for companies that meet
specific criteria such as all biotech companies in Bothell
The Northwest 100
http://texis.seattletimes.com/nw100/
Seattle Times list of top public and private companies in Washington, Oregon and
Idaho. Includes rankings, profiles and comparisons.
Green Business Directory
http://www.metrokc.gov/hazwaste/greenbiz/
Consumers' guide to environmentally sound business. Lists businesses and
organizations in the Puget Sound region
that are committed to protecting our environment.
Search local Newspaper and Journal Articles
Print Resources:
Washington State International Trade Directory
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library.
Call No. HF 5065 W2 W37)
Puget Sound Business Journal Book of Lists
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library. Call No. HC 108 S77 P83)
Washington Software Alliance Industry Directory
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library. Call No. HD9696.63 U63 W28)
Provides Industry Member Profiles and an Overview of the software and
computer-related industry in the state.
Advanced Technology in the Pacific Northwest
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library. Call No. HD 9696 A3 P33
)
A directory with data on over 4,000 high tech companies in the Pacific
Northwest, including Idaho, Oregon, Washington, Alberta and British Columbia.
Arranged alphabetically by company, as well as by city, state, NAICS code,
product classification and number of employees (company size).
Guide to Business-Related Organizations in Puget Sound
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library. Call No. HF5065 W2 G835)
Contents include Chambers of Commerce, Community Service Clubs, Economic
Development Councils, Ethnic Minority & Religious Groups, General Business
Associations, Industry-Specific Organizations, International Business
Organizations, Neighborhood Associations, Networking Forums, University Alumni
Associations, and Women's Organizations.
Rankings and Listings:
Puget Sound Business Journal Book of Lists
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library. Call No.HC 108 S77 P83)
A compilation of weekly lists that appear in the Puget Sound Business Journal.
Included are top 100 Washington private companies, largest Puget Sound area
biotechnology firms, non-profit organizations in the Puget Sound area ranked by
revenue, fastest growing companies in Washington state and more.
The Northwest 100
http://texis.seattletimes.com/nw100/
Seattle Times listing of top public and private companies in Washington,
Oregon and Idaho. Includes rankings, profiles and comparisons.
Find-It! Consumer Washington
http://finditconsumer.wa.gov/
The Find-It! Consumer web site is a collaborative effort of state
organization sponsors and library staff to make useful, quality consumer
information easily available to the public. Find-It! Consumer is a web site
search engine for "one stop consumer help". It provides a single stop
for searching more than 100 consumer protection and public safety web sites.
Through Find-It! Consumer users can find: Solutions to consumer
complaints, information on consumer safety, and ways to protect against consumer
fraud.
Seattle Times
http://www.seattletimes.com/news/business
Investing
Northwest
Entrepreneur Network
The Northwest Entrepreneur Network, a non-profit organization, is dedicated to
helping entrepreneurs succeed. Our activities
and programs are focused on building the entrepreneurial and venture
community in the Northwest and enabling entrepreneurs to access resources
and funding to accelerate their business growth.
Doing Research for a Business Plan
UW Libraries Business Web Page
Has link for Pacific Northwest Business
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/BusEcon/
Starting and Running a Business
Seattle Times—Small Business
http://www.seattletimes.com/news/business/small/
Information on financing, business plans, resources, etc
Washington State Dept. of Revenue
http://dor.wa.gov/
Includes starting a business in Washington State.
Access Washington—Washington State Government Information &
Services
http://www.access.wa.gov
Has links to sites and information on starting and running a small business,
including licensing, relocating, expanding, international trade, government
business, environment permitting, etc.
Why Washington: Business Development
http://www.oted.wa.gov/ed/busdev/
Washington State Business Development Office.
Find-It! Washington
http://find-it.wa.gov/
An easy way to find government information in Washington State sponsored by the
Washington State Library.
Washington State Labor Market
http://www.wa.gov/esd/lmea/
Washington state economy and employment. Includes wage and salary estimates.
King County Business Resource Guide
http://www.metrokc.gov/exec/bred/ed/brg.htm
A business resource guide for finding services available in King County,
Washington. From the King County Office of Business Relations and Economic
Development.
General Source--for background information
Starting and Operating a Business in Washington: A Step-by-Step Guide.
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library. Call No. KFW 234 .J46)
CQ State Fact Finder
(Book format on 1st floor of library in Reference collection. Call No: HA203
C77)
Ranking profiles for every state. Includes tips for
business decisions.
Washington State Data Book
(Call Number: HA 694 A6 located in the reference collection on first floor of
library)
Also available online:
http://www.ofm.wa.gov/databook/index.htm
Gives a diversity of data on Washington, its people, economy and government. The
data comes from state and federal agencies as well as private business. Contents
area include: population, economy, state government finance, human services,
criminal justice, education, natural resources, environment, energy,
transportation and local government and special districts.
Profile: Washington
(Book in Reference collection on first floor of library. Call No. HA691 W37)
A compilation of data on the social, economic, demographic, legal and physical
aspects of the State of Washington.
State of Washington Office of Financial Management
http://www.ofm.wa.gov/forecasting/sitemap.htm
Provides statistics for Washington State on population, housing, human services,
health care, criminal justice, economy, household income, education, as
well as state government finance and special studies information.
Statistical Resources for Washington Local Governments
http://www.mrsc.org/library/ctystat.htm
Quarterly Business
Review from Washington Dept. of Revenue
The QBR publications contain standardized tables detailing gross business
income, taxable retail sales and accrued tax liability by major industry.
Beginning with 2005, the QBR tables were converted from SIC to NAICS codes. This
was an effort to move in line with national standards.
Census 2000
http://www.lib.washington.edu/govpubs/census2000.html
University of Washington Libraries Government Publications created this web site
to organize and provide access to data becoming available from the 2000 census,
including for Washington state.
Population, Economy, Research
http://www.ofm.wa.gov/demographics.htm
Demographics for Washington State provided by the Office of Financial Management
for the State of Washington.
Puget Sound Regional Council
http://www.psrc.org/datapubs/index.htm
The Regional Council is a clearinghouse for
regional data and publications on population, housing, economy, and
transportation in the central Puget Sound region.
City of Bothell Home Page
http://www.ci.bothell.wa.us/index.html
King County
http://www.metrokc.gov/
Snohomish County Home Page
http://www1.co.snohomish.wa.us/
University of Washington Fact Book
http://www.washington.edu/admin/factbook/
U.S. Census State and County QuickFacts
Easy access to data on people, business and geography.
http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/
The World Almanac has statistical data on states.
Access in Lexis
Nexis under Reference and then State Profiles UW
restricted
Google Uncle Sam
http://www.google.com/unclesam
Searches U.S. Government and state government web pages.
Legal Research Guides from the UW Seattle Gallagher Law
Library
http://lib.law.washington.edu/ref/guides.html
Includes U.S., State, and International.
Washington State Law Library
http://www.courts.wa.gov/library/
Seattle Public Library--Government and Law Website
http://www.spl.org/selectedsites/government.html
Gives links to government web sites for City of Seattle, King County, Washington
State and Federal web sites. Links to voter registration information and
forms, including Project Vote Smart and Democracy Network (Washington State
Election Information). Also links to legal resources (such as constitutions,
codes, regulations and court decisions) for City of Seattle, King County,
Washington State, U.S. and World.
Washington State Government Information and Services
http://access.wa.gov/
Municipal Research and Services Center of Washington
http://www.mrsc.org
Search Revised Code of Washington (RCW); the Washington Administrative Code (WAC);
Municipal Codes and Ordinances for Washington State, Cities, and Counties, as
well as have access to a wealth of information relevant to local governments in
Washington State.
Pacific Northwest State and Local Resources
http://www.lib.washington.edu/Govpubs/pnw.html
Compiled by UW Libraries.
FirstGov
http://www.firstgov.gov/
Searches federal and state government web pages.
Washington State Labor Market
http://www.wa.gov/esd/lmea/
Washington state economy and employment. Includes wage and salary
estimates.
Access Washington
http://access.wa.gov
To access Washington employment information compiled in tables, including wages
for geographic areas, select: Employment. Then select: Labor Market
Information. Choose LMI by Area (or LMI by Type) and then a county. Select
Occupational Wage Surveys or Industry Employment and Wages, or Occupational
Projections, or Selected Economic Data.
Washington's Interactive Labor Market Access
http://www.wilma.org/
Provides access to the state's comprehensive and integrated database of
labor market information.
Salary.com
http://salary.com
Gives salary information for various job titles by zip code or state/metro area.
Also provides advice on negotiating for a compensation package, salary news,
plus links to government wage sites, salary surveys, and trade associations.
Washington State Office of the Forecast Council
http://www.wa.gov/ofc/home.htm
The Seattle Times
http://www.seattletimes.com/
Also available through Washington State
Newsstand
Search "Economic Forecast" in The Seattle Times.
ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT
Electronic Journals on the Environment
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/Environment/dr/eljnl.html
Some of these e-journals are UW restricted. The list was compiled by UW
Libraries.
Green Business Directory
http://www.metrokc.gov/hazwaste/greenbiz/
Consumers' guide to environmentally sound business. Lists businesses and
organizations in the Puget Sound region that are committed to protecting our
environment.
|
Guide
Developed by: |