MANAGEMENT INFORMATION

   

MANAGEMENT RESEARCH GUIDE

A Selection of Resources

Encyclopedias Other General Sources
Dictionaries Other Search Strategies, includes databases
Handbooks Ask a Question:  Research Help

 

Management Information: General Sources

Encyclopedias

Gale Reference Virtual Library  UW restricted
E-book topics include - Business, Management, IT, Arts, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.

Oxford Reference Online UW restricted
Online Encyclopedias include Computing, Economics and Business, Law, Science, Politics, Social Science and more.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
REFERENCE HD30.15 B455 2005
13 volume print set maintained in Reference collection on first floor of Library

The Concise International Encyclopedia of Business and Management
REFERENCE HF1001 I53   Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
REFERENCE HF1001 E466  Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of library
This two-volume encyclopedia provides information on major areas of business--accounting, economics, finance, information systems, law, management and marketing-- and renders a  variety of approaches to and perspectives about business.

Encyclopedia of Japanese Business and Management
REFERRENCE HF1001 E467   Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Encyclopedia of Leadership
REFERENCE HD47.7 E3 2004   Multiple volume print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Encyclopedia of Management
REFERENCE HD 30.15 E49 2000  Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library

International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies
REFERENCE HD31 I564 2008  Print  Source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Top of Page


Dictionaries

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management
Call Number: HD30.15 B456 1997  Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics
Call Number: HD30.22 B55 1997    Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
Call Number: HD58.7 B57 1995.   Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia Dictionary of Strategic Management
Call Number: HD30.28 B59 1997  Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

International Dictionary of Management
Call Number: HD30.15 J64 1990  Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Top of Page


Handbooks

AMA Management Handbook
Call Number: HD31 A418 1994   Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

The Blackwell Handbook of Global Management: A Guide to Managing Complexity
Call Number: HD62.4 B54 2004   Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Handbook of Organizational Culture & Climate
Call Number: HD58.7 H363 2000    Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

The Nonprofit Handbook: Management
REFERENCE HD 62.6 N662   Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Top of Page


Other General Sources

Advances in the Management of Organizational Quality
REFERENCE HD 62.15 A483   Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Business: The Ultimate Resource
REFERENCE HD38.15 B878 2002
Essentially an encyclopedia of business that is designed for quick access to information in handy two-page synopsis of topics.  Also includes brief profiles of management thinkers such as Drucker and McGregor and management giants such as Astor and Woolworth, as well as a dictionary of terms and an almanac of country and industry profiles and world economy tables and maps. The final section contains over 3,000 business information sources--web sites, books, journals, organizations--on a number of business topics.

CEO Express
http://www.ceoexpress.com
Provides links for daily news, business research, travel, leisure, as well as other personal and professional links.

Current Topics in Management (4 vols.)
REFERENCE HD 28 C87  Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Edward Deming: Critical Evaluations in Business and Management
Call Number: HD62.15 W2 2005   Two volume print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Negotiation, Decision Making and Conflict Management
Call Number: HD58.6 N443 2005.  Multiple volume print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Business Acronyms, Initials, and Abbreviations
Call Number; HF1002.5 R67 1992.  Print source kept in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

Top of Page


Other Search Strategies

Search for Newspaper and Journal articles  UW restricted databases

Conference Board Business Knowledge Research   UW restricted database

Link to  Business-Related Databases

Use the UW Libraries Catalog to locate books and multimedia
Use terms such as:

  - benchmarking management  - decision making  -  job enrichment - organizational change
  - business communication  - delegation of authority  -  leadership - organizational effectiveness
  - comparative management  - employee morale  -  management by objectives - organizational motivation
  - conflict management   - employee motivation  -  negotiation in business - personnel management
  - crisis management  - employee retention  -  organizational behavior - reengineering management

 


 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu

URL:  http://library.uwb.edu/guides/BusWeb/ManagementInformation.htm
Updated: 06/26/2008