MANAGEMENT INFORMATION SYSTEMS

   

MIS Research Guide

Books & AV Material

IT Websites
Directories E-Journals
Databases Newspaper Articles
Industry Reports More Information

Books and AV Material

UW Libraries Online Catalog 
We also have access to Summit
which combines information from Pacific Northwest academic libraries into a single unified database

Lecture notes in computer science - UW restricted (Springer) 1997 to present

netLibrary  UW restricted
An ebook collection available for use by University of Washington faculty, staff and students. Browse online.

Safari Text Books Online  UW restricted
Full-text technical reference books on topics such as networking, Java, Linux/Unix, Perl, .NET, desktop productivity, web development and more from O'Reilly and other publishers of IT books. Click here to see the list of titles in the catalog UW

Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science - UW restricted
Contains 50- to 100-page self-contained electronic documents--lectures, which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. Each lecture synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field

Gale Reference Virtual Library UW restricted
E-book Topics include - Business, Management, IT, Arts, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.

Oxford Reference Online UW restricted
Online Encyclopedias include Computing, Economics and Business, Law, Science, Politics, Social Science and more.

Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology.
It’s in our reference collection on the first floor of our library. Call number is Z1006 E566 2005 (vol 1-5).

Top of Page


Directories

Link to more Directories

Advanced Technology in the Pacific Northwest
REFERENCE HD 9696 A3 P33  (Book format on first floor of library in reference collection)
Data on over 3,600 firms/divisions in the Silicon Forest.

Washington Software Alliance Industry Directory
REFERENCE HD9696.63 U63  (Book format on first floor of library in reference collection)
Provides industry member profiles and an overview of the software and computer-related industry in Washington state.

Top of Page


Industry Reports

Link to more Industry resources

Forrester  UW restricted
Forrester is an independent research firm that analyzes the future of technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers, and society and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet. Access is provided to some reports in this database.

Gartner UW restricted
Gartner, Inc. (NYSE: IT) is the world’s leading information technology research and advisory company. Gartner analysts and consultants are known to provide the most comprehensive collection of analysis and advice to the global IT industry.

Investext  UW restricted
Abstracts and full text of reports and forecasts prepared by international brokers, investment banks, and trade associations on over 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 83 industries. Some reports include sales forecasts and market share.  Also contains Wall Street Transcripts of interviews with market leaders.

Plunkett Research Online  (Web-Based but On Campus Access OnlyUW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
An industry center providing market research, trends and analysis, industry stats, profiles of industry-leading companies (both public and private), industry associations, and company contact export features.  Industries include, Airlines, Hotel and Travel,  Automobile, Computers & Internet, Consulting, Energy, Engineering and Research, Entertainment and Media, Finance and Investments, Food and Beverage, Health Care, Biotech and Genetics, Retail, and Telecommunications.  In addition, Job Seeking/Careers information is given.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage 
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more.  Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.

Electronic Market Data Book
REFERENCE HD9696 A3 U539  (Book format on first floor of library in reference collection)
U.S. and international electronics industry data. Covers market indicators, consumer electronics, telecommunications & defense-related communications, electronic components, computers & peripherals,  industrial & electromedical electronics, and international electronics.

Top of Page


IT Web Sites

ReCapIt
Tracks alliances in the IT industry and provides analysis on company alliances impacting the technology industry. Also includes articles on technology trends.

ITworld.com
Current IT news, webcasts, whitepapers and career information.  Note: Whitepapers links did not always work.

Managing Automation Online
Focuses on technology solutions for manufacturers.  Includes, news, case studies, white papers, software evaluations, RFID product evaluations, and features from Managing Automation Magazine.

Top of Page


Online Databases

Link to more Science and Engineering Databases

ACM Digital Library. - UW restricted
Citations and full-text of Association for Computing Machinery articles from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.

Business Source Complete UW restricted
Covers all disciplines of business.

Compendex - UW restricted
Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology, excluding patents; Internet version of Engineering index, covering 2600 journals.

Expanded Academic Index  UW restricted
Abstracts and some full text for over 1,500 scholarly and general interest journals and magazines from major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, science and technology.

Factiva (Formerly Dow-Jones) UW restricted
Factiva provides access to over 8,000 sources including newswires, newspapers, magazines and trade publications, including sources from 118 countries in 22 languages. Also provides company and industry comparison reports, company profiles, SEC filings and stock prices for U.S. public companies.

IEEE Xplore  UW restricted
A primary source for current technical literature, containing over a million full-text technology papers, articles and standards.     

InfoTech Trends   UW restricted
Provides market data on the information technology industry from over 65 industry journals. Includes peripherals, software, storage, Internet, communications, etc.  Covers revenue, shipment forecasts, market share, usage, etc.   Data is up to the most recent quarter, comes in table format, and can be downloaded into Excel spreadsheets.

INSPEC - UW restricted 
Indexes and abstracts serials, conference proceedings, standards and reports in the physical sciences, electrical engineering & computer science.

Lexis-Nexis  UW restricted
Full text database of  news from newspapers (national, regional and world), newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines and trade journals. Provides company and industry information, as well as corporate financial reports, SEC filings, accounting literature, Country Profiles, Roper Surveys, biographical information, policy papers, and access to other reference, legal and medical sources.

TableBase (Web-Based but On Campus Access OnlyUW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
TableBase specializes in tabular data on companies, industries, products and demographics. It is international in scope, covers over 90 industries and provides links to tables and  articles from which the tables were derived.  Searchable by company name, country and region, SIC code, product codes, industry, concept term (market share, ranking, forecasts, users, costs, etc.), marketing term (ad volume, sales, distribution channels, etc.).

Top of Page


E-Journal Collections

Ingenta  UW restricted
Categories include Computer and Information Science, Engineering and Technology.

Science Direct  UW restricted
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.  Includes business, management and accounting journals with archives to 1984.

Wiley Interscience  UW restricted
Among topics covered it includes a suite of business, computer science, and engineering journals.

 

E-Journal Websites

APICS Magazine
APICS is the Educational Society for Resource Management, a not-for-profit international educational organization "featuring innovative ideas and real world strategies for inventory, materials, production, and supply chain management; planning and scheduling; purchasing; logistics; warehousing; and e-business solutions."l

CIO   (Note: current and back issues of the magazine are available in ABI/Inform and Lexis-Nexis to which we subscribe)
This magazine a
ddresses the needs of CIOs (Chief Information Officers) and other information executives. The web site also provides analyst reports on the IT industry, research polls, career information, and an up-to-date IT Reserch Center with exclusive online reports, articles, case studies, metrics, events, white papers, books and more.

Online Mercury News includes Technology/Silicon Valley news. Access from Lexis-Nexis.

Red Herring - Covers the business of high technology, including people, companies, and industries.

Top of Page


Newspaper Articles

Search for newspaper articles  UW restricted

Top of Page


More Information

UW Libraries Computer Science Resources page

UW Libraries Engineering, Science and Technical Resources page

 


 

Top of Page

Contents Page

Campus Library

 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-5442

URL: http://library.uwb.edu/library/guides/BusWeb/MIS.htm
Updated: 06/26/2008