Historical Business Data
Page Template 1

 

 

 

 


HISTORICAL BUSINESS RESEARCH
 
Banking & Finance Economics & Trade Labor Marketing
Business People Financial, Corporate Legal Other Search Strategies
Corporate Historical Profile Industry Management Statistics
Banking & Finance
 

Business

Business History
Books in Reference Collection on 1st floor of Campus Library. Call No: HF499 B855 2005  
Multiple volume print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

United States Business History, 1602 - 1988: A Chronology
Books in Reference Collection on 1st floor of Campus Library. Call No: HC103 R595 1990.  
Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.


Banking And Finance
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Banking and Finance to 1913
Call No: REFERENCE HG2461 B33 1990.

Banking and Finance 1913 - 1989
Call No: REFERENCE HG2461 B325 1990.  

A Financial History of the United States
Call No: REFERENCE HG181 M297 2001.  Multiple volume

Historical Dictionary of World Bank
Call No: REFERENCEHG3881.5 W57 S25 1997  

International Financial History in the Twentieth Century: System and Anarchy
Call No: REFERENCE HG3881 I607283 2003 

 


Stock Market

101 Years on Wall Street: An Investor's Almanac
Books in Reference Collection on 1st floor of Campus Library. Call No: HG4572 B74 1991

Chronology of the Stock Market
Books in Reference Collection on 1st floor of Campus Library. Call No: HG4572 W75 2002  

Factiva  UW restricted 
Provides daily prices for 2 years for stocks, funds, currencies and market indexes
Provides weekly and monthly prices for 5 years for stocks, funds, currencies and market indexes

Daily Stock Price Record: NYSE
- Third Floor Stacks: HG 4915 I23  (Library Use Only)
   Multiple volume set by S&P covering 1977-1994 and 2003-04
-  Microfiche  1994-2002

Daily Stock Price Record: ASE
-  Third Floor Stacks: HG 4915 i22  (Library Use Only)
    Multiple volume set by S&P covering 1977-1994 and 2003-04
-   Microfiche  1994-2002

Daily Stock Price Record: NASDAQ
- Third Floor Stacks: HG 4915 I24  (Library Use Only)
   Multiple volume set by S&P covering 1977-1994 and 2003-04
-  Microfiche BOT-9 1994-2002

Value Line Investment Survey Standard Edition (Large cap)
Microfiche April 1997 - prior year (Current year in ValueLine Research Center Online)

Value Line Investment Survey Expanded Edition (Small and Midcap)
Microfiche  April 1997 - prior year  (Current year in ValueLine Research Center Online)\

See also: Economics

Top of Page

Business People

Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Encyclopedia of American Women in Business
From Colonial Times to the Present: two volumes
Call No: REFERENCE HD6054.4 U6 K753

Encyclopedia of African American Business
Call No: REFERENCE HD2358.5 U6 E53 (2 volumes)
The encyclopedia contains information on a variety of topics pertaining to African American business developments and includes brief profiles of well-known African American women and men business leaders who are listed by name and by occupation. While this source provides a historical perspective, it is restricted in size and coverage to two volumes, and gives an overview of the black business community and black business leaders in America from the first quarter of the eighteenth century to the early twenty-first century.

Top of Page

Corporate Historical Profile
 

Online Sources

Mergent Online UW restricted 
In addition to 15 years of financial data for U.S. and international public companies, Mergent Online includes business profiles, histories, lists of subsidiaries, company officers and directors. An archive section provides U.S. and international public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996. Full Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH module.

Use the UW Libraries Online Catalog to search  for books about the company.
Search the company name as a Subject. You can limit to items at just UWB.
You can also search the company as a keyword.

Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

International Directory of Company Histories
Call No: REFERENCE HD 2721 I57 1988  
Information on historical development of some of the world’s largest, most influential companies. Multiple volume set arranged by industry. Last volume has index to companies and persons.

Top of Page

Economics & Trade

Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call No: REFERENCE HC102 A66 2003   (Two volumes)

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Call No: REFERENCE HC102 G35 1999  

History of World Trade since 1450 (e-book)  UW restricted

 

Top of Page

Financial, Corporate

Historical corporate financial information:

  • 10-K Annual Report filed with the SEC
    Locate in Lexis-Nexis UW restricted   Select: Business. Then: SEC Filings & Reports in left frame  
    Also available from:     SEC Web Page    and   Edgarscan.
  • Mergent Online UW restricted
    Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of financial data for U.S. and international public companies. Full Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH module.
  • Hoovers Online
    Search for a company.  From Browse Company Record in left frame, select Financials and then Historical Financials
    .
  • Disclosure and Worldscope Company Profiles (Lexis-Nexis) UW restricted
     (Select: Business tab. Then select: Company Profiles in left frame.   Then select source for dropdown menu.)

Top of Page

Industry

Industry Analyst reports contain historical perspectives. 

Also, databases with analyst reports such as Investext and Plunkett maintain archives.

Prior editions for print sources are maintained in the library stacks.
For example:  S&P Industry SurveysIndustry Norms and Key Business Ratios, Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios, RMA Annual Statement Studies, etc.

Top of Page

Labor

Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Chronology of Labor in the United States
Call No: REFERENCE HD6508 W74 2003  

Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor
Call No: REFERENCE HD4839 D58 1996 

Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor
Call No: REFERENCE HD8066 H57 2004.  (Two volumes)

History of Labour in the United States
Call No: REFERENCE HD8066 C7 1966.   (Multiple volume)

Labor Conflict in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Call No: REFERENCE HD5324 L32 1990. 

St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide: Major Events in Labor History
Call No: REFERENCE HD4839 S74 2004.

Work in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Policy and Society
Call No: REFERENCE HD8066 W637 2003.  (Two volumes)

Top of Page

Legal

Congressional Universe   UW restricted
Full text of bills from 1989, public laws from 1988, committee reports from 1990, House and Senate documents from 1995, Congressional Record from 1985, Federal Register from 1980, National Journal from 1977, and other government information. Updated daily

Top of Page

Management

The Encyclopedia of the History of American Management
Call Number: HC102.5 A2 E53 2005.  Print source in Reference collection on first floor of Library.

See also Banking & Finance

Top of Page

Marketing

Try Advertising--Campaigns resources for background information on an organization's marketing strategy and more

Prior editions of print sources are maintained in the library stacks on the third floor. 
For example: Market Share Reporter, World Market Share Reporter, The Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics, New Strategist Publications such as Household Spending and American Generations, etc.

Top of Page

Other Search Strategies
 

Online Sources

Check the UW Catalog to determine if prior editions are housed in the stacks.

Search the UW Catalog for circulating items.

Search  for Journal articles  and Newspaper articles  UW restricted databases

America History and Life UW restricted
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.  (Abstracts only. Check UW Catalog for Library holdings)

Historical Abstracts UW restricted
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers over 2,000 journals from around the world.  (Abstracts only. Check UW Catalog for Library holdings)

Historical newspapers online - UW restricted
Contains three historical newspaper citation indexes: Palmer's Index to the Times of London 1790-1905; Official Index to the Times of London 1906-1980; and the Historical Index to the New York Times 1863-1905 and 1913-Sept 1922. This library does not provide access to the Palmer's Full Text Online

NewsBank retrospective (1970-1991) - UW restricted
Newspaper articles covering social, political, economic, environmental, international, health, and science issues and events from contemporary American history, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives

New York Times 1851- 2001 (Proquest) UW restricted (new!)
Full text of the New York Times newspaper from 1851-2001.

New York Times historical index - UW restricted
Indexing only of the New York Times, starting with the lead-up to the Civil War and ending just after World War I.

Times (London) Digital Newspaper Archive (1785-1985) UW restricted

JSTOR UW restricted
Contains full text of over 100 core scholarly journals, going back to the 1800s.

See also History Guide

 

Top of Page

Statistics

Online Sources

Economic Report of the President
http://www.access.gpo.gov/eop/index.html
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress.  This web site provides access to reports for 1995 forward. Documents are available as ASCII text and PDF files.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present  UW restricted
Update of Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970  (Note: long download time)
Table of Contents  (see below for print source in reference collection)

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov
U.S. and world population and socio-economic data.
Also contains a Business section which includes the economic census and foreign trade.

Historical Census
The U.S. Census Bureau released PDF files of Census reports going back to 1790. The web site will continue to grow. Only summary information is available, not the individual questionnaires. To access, click on "Census of Population & Housing". 

Historical Census Browser.
The data from the U.S. Census describes the population and economy of the U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960.  Only summary information, not individual questionnaires, is made available by the University of Virginia Library.

Statistical Universe UW restricted
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications since 1973, state and private sources since 1980, and about 2,000 documents from international organizations since 1983.


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Datapedia of the United States. 1790-2005: America Year by Year
Call No: REFERENCE HA202 K87 2001. 

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
Call No: REFERENCE HA202 H57 1989.   (Two volumes)

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call No: REFERENCE HA 202 U56  (print source)   Prior Editions in Stacks.
Also in Lexis Nexis (Electronic Database) under Statistical Universe.
Summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States. Data are from many statistical publications, both government and private. Sources are given. Includes state rankings and profiles.

 

 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-5442

URL:http://library.uwb.edu/guides/BusWeb/HistoricalData.htm
Updated:9/17/08