Entrepreneurship

ENTREPRENEURSHIP
Resource Guide

Internet Sites Patents Additional Information
Online Business General Sources Research Guidelines
Franchise Link to: Consumer Data Link to: Venture Capital
Link to: Business Plan Tutorial    

 

 
Internet Sites

Doing Research for a Business Plan

UW Libraries Business Web Page
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/BusEcon/

UW Foster Library Web Page
http://www.lib.washington.edu/business/

Internet Public Library—Business
http://www.ipl.org/ref/RR/static/bus0000.html

A Road Map for Business Plan Research
http://newarkwww.rutgers.edu/guides/business/index.html
An excellent guide that walks you through the process of creating a business plan--from what questions to ask to what resources to use for understanding your product; identifying and studying potential competitors, suppliers and corporate customers; projecting financials; and finding and understanding your customers. Compiled by librarians at Rutgers University.

Yahoo—Small Business
http://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/
Yahoo Small Business--Business Plans
http://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/resources/subCat.php?mcid=1&scid=13

Top of Page

 

Starting and Running a Business

Bplans.com
http://www.bplans.com
Gives examples of business plans, tips and articles on creating business plans, lists of small business development centers, and other business planning web links.

Business Week
Business Week has a website for starting and running a small business.  Registration required for archives of articles.

Inc.com: How to Start a Business
http://www.inc.com/guides/start_biz/

Seattle Times—Small Business
http://www.seattletimes.com/news/business/small/
Information on financing, business plans, resources, etc.

EntreWorld.com
The Kauffman Foundation's  resources for entrepreneurs starting and growing a business.

Entrepreneur.com
Resources for starting and growing a business--sample business plans, advice on funding, marketing, management, e-business, researching a business opportunity, etc.

Kaufman eVenturing
An online guide for entrepreneurs that provides entrepreneur's stories, how-to's, tools and templates, and Kaufman points of view on a variety of topics.

Small Business Administration Home Page
http://www.sbaonline.sba.gov/
Information for starting a small business: demographics, facts, financing, business plans, mergers & acquisitions, exporting, consulting, patents & trademarks, reports, statistics, studies, FAQs, and more.

Business.gov
http://www.business.gov
The U.S. government's official business link, Business.gov guides you through the maze of government rules and regulations and provides access to services and resources to help you start, grow, and succeed in business.

Washington State Dept. of Revenue
http://dor.wa.gov/
Includes starting a business in Washington State.

Access Washington—Washington State Government Information & Services
http://www.access.wa.gov
Has links to sites and information on starting and running a small business, including licensing, relocating, expanding, international trade, government business, environment permitting, etc.

Washington State: Business & Project Development
http://www.choosewashington.com
They're a team within the Washington State Department of Community, Trade & Economic Development that helps companies – both in-state and out-of-state – establish and grow in Washington.

Find-It! Washington
http://find-it.wa.gov/
An easy way to find government information in Washington State sponsored by the Washington State Library.

Multiple Research and Services Center of Washington
http://www.mrsc.org/cityprofiles/citylist.aspx

Contains City and County Profiles.

County Business Patterns--U.S. Census
http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html

Small Business Statistics--U.S. Census
http://www.census.gov/econ/www/widemenu.html#bus_own

Office of Small Business Programs: U.S. Department of Labor
http://www.dol.gov/osbp/welcome.htm

Venture Capital Finance Directory
http://www.vfinance.com/
vFinance.com contains venture capital directories and related services, including a downloadable business plan template.

Top of Page

 

 
Online Business

E-commerce: Implementing Global Marketing Strategies
REFERENCE HF 5548.32 .S97

ClickZStats
http://www.clickz.com/stats/

Provides access to web trends and statistics.

Internet Forms and Commentary
REFERENCE  KF889.3 I563
A Practitioner's Guide to E-Commerce Contracts and the World Wide Web

Wilson Web
Focused on web marketing and especially geared toward small business owners.

Top of Page

 

 
Patents

Link to Patents

Top of Page

 

 
Franchise

Bond's Franchise Guide
REFERENCE HF5429.235 U5 S66
Provides over 1,000 detailed franchisor profiles, including franchise attorneys, consultants and service providers.

The 2005 Franchise Annual
REFERENCE HF5429.3 F69
A directory of information on international new franchise opportunities

Top of Page

 

 
General Sources--for background information

Encyclopedia of Small Business  (Electronic book in Gale Virtual Reference Library) UW restricted
Also available as a book in Reference collection on 1st floor of library (Call No: HD 62.7 H553)
Provides info on a wide range of small business topics such as advertising media on the web, business start-ups, employee compensation, family-owned enterprises, financing, franchising, Internet commerce, product development and tax planning.

Small Business Sourcebook
(Book in reference collection on 1st floor of library.  Call No. HD2346 U5 S66)
A guide to the information services and sources provided to 100 small businesses by associations, consultants, educational programs, franchisers, government agencies (federal, state, and local), reference works, statisticians, suppliers, trade shows, and venture capital firms

The Small Business Handbook
REFERENCE HD 62.7 B84
A guide to starting and running a business.

The Complete Small Business Sourcebook
REFERENCE HD 2341 H356
Information, services and experts for small business needs.

The Prentice Hall Encyclopedia of Model Business Plans
REFERENCE HD 30.28 C76
Has an overview of business plan process, 60+ model business plans and guide to sources of information.

The American Bar Association Legal Guide for Small Business
REFERENCE KF1659 Z9 A43
What a small business person needs to know, from start-up to employment laws to financing and selling a business.

USlegalforms.com
Provides free previews of a wide range of legal forms, including for incorporation, but  there is a fee for downloading.

The Restaurant Manager's Handbook
How to set up, operate and manage a financially successful food service operation.
REFRENCE TX911.3 M27 B76

UW Libraries Online Catalog
Search by Library of Congress Subjects such as:

Small business management
Small business finance
Small business law and legislation
Business planning
Strategic planning

Top of Page

 

 
Additional Information:

Link to Electronic Databases

Link to Industry Information

Link to Company Information

Link to Finance and Investing 

Link to Marketing

Link to Economics and Labor

Link to Statistical Information

Link to International Business

 

Top of Page

Contents Page

 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-5442

 

Home Page Link