CITING
ONLINE SOURCES
USING APA FORMAT
6th Edition
Journal Articles from Online Databases
Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. (Date). Article title. Periodical Title, volume(issue), pages.* Retrieved from <Source> database. (other information needed to trace the article should be in parenthesis, such as specific File Name, item number--if applicable)
*Since some online articles do not
indicate page numbers, you will not always be able to include them in your
citation.
Note: No retrieval date is necessary for journal articles or books.
Examples with author:
Carter, W. (1998, August 10). Collective effort. Telephony, 235(6), 66-67. Retrieved from ABI/Inform Global database.
Hayes, M. (1998, December 21). Thin clients offer savings—advances promise lower ownership costs, but Microsoft prices remain high. Information Week. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis database.
Intext citation: (Hayes, 1998)
Example with no author:
Mobile telephones: Wireless war. (2001, January 8). The Economist. Retrieved from Factiva database. (Retrieval Item: ECON99008000049)
Intext citation: (Mobile telephones, 2001)
Articles from a Journal's website
Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. (Year). Article title. Periodical Title, volume(issue), pages. doi: xx.xxxxxxxxxx*
*If DOI is not available, give the exact URL or the home page URL for the journal, newsletter, or magazine in the reference. Use format:
Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxxxxx
About DOI (Digital Object Identifier): A doi is a unique number sometimes assigned to journal articles by publishers. Providing a doi in the citation makes it
easier for readers to find an online version of the work being cited. In a print version of an article, a doi (if there is one) will usually be displayed
either at the top or bottom of the first page of an article. For an online article, the doi is usually somewhere on the article home page. It will begin with doi: However, do not worry about it if you cannot find it since many articles do not have a doi.
Examples with DOI :
Herbst-Damm, K. L. & Kulik, J. A. (2005). Volunteer support, marital status, and the survival times of terminally ill patients. Health Psychology, 24, 225-229. doi: 10. 1037/0278-6133.24.2.225
Stultz, J. (2006). Intregrating exposure therapy and analytic therapy in trauma treatment. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry, 76, 482-488. doi: 10.1037/0002-9432.76.4.482
Intext citation: (Stultz, 2006)
Examples without DOI :
Hager, M. H. (2007). Therapeutic diet order writing: Current issues and concsiderations. Topics in Clinical Nutrition, 22,28-36. Retrieved from, http://www.topicsinclinicalnutrition.com
Intext citation: (Hager, 2007)
Note: No retrieval date is necessary because the final version of the article is being referenced.
Newspaper Articles and News Wires from Databases
Brody, J. E. (2007, December 11). Mental reserves keep brain agile. The New York Times. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis database.
Note: There may not be a page number.
Intext citation: (Brody, 2007)
e-books from an e-book provider (database such as ebrary or EBL):
Editor, A. (Date). Book title. Location: Publisher. Retrieved from <E-book Provider/Platform>.
Examples:
Kolb, R. (Ed.). (2008). Encyclopedia of business, ethics and society. Los Angeles: Sage Publications. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Budhwar, P. S. & Bhatnagar, J. (Eds.). (2009). The changing face of people management in India. New York : Routledge. Retrieved from EBL E-book Library.
e-books on the free Web:
Author, A. (Date). Book Title. <DOI or Available from URL>
Examples:
Schiraldi, G. R. (2001). The post-tramatic stress disorder sourcebook: A guide to healing, recovery, and growth [Adobe Digital Editions version]. doi: 10.1036/0071393722
Huxley, A. (1958, 2000 electronic edition). Brave new world revisited. New York: Rosetta Books. Electronic edition available from http://www.wowio.com/users/product.asp?BookId=42
Example of Work Cited in Another Work:
Boxall, P. & Purcell, J. (2008). Strategy and human resource management. New York: Palgrave Macmillan. In Budhwar, P. S. & Bhatnagar, J. (Eds). (2009). The changing face of people managment in India. (p. 162). New York: Routledge. Available from EBL E-book Library.
Author. (Date). Document title. Retrieved from <Source> (File Name and number--if available--and any other information needed to trace the report)
From a Database:
Example where the company is the author:
General Electric Co. (2008). SEC Form 10-Q for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2008. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis Academic database.
Intext citation: (General Electric Co., 2008)
Example where the company is not the author:
Disclosure Incorporated. (2009). International Business Machines: Disclosure report. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis database. (Disclosure Company Number: I510600000 )
Intext citation: (Disclosure Incorporated, 2009)
From the Free Web:
Texas Instruments. (2008). 2008 Annual Report to Shareholders. Retrieved from http://www.ti.com/corp/docs/investor/ar08/shareholders.htm
Intext citation: (Texas Instruments, 2008)
Company Information from Databases
Hoover's, Inc. (2009). International Business Machines: Company record: Fact sheet. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from Hoover's database.
Datamonitor. (2009, March 18). Costco Wholesale Corporation: Company profile. Retrieved from Business Souce Complete database.
Intext citation: (Hoover's, Inc., 2009)
Note: Retrieval Date is included because the content referenced can change or be updated.
Top of Page
Buhl, L. (2009, January). U.S. market for seafood, with a focus on fresh. Rockville, MD: Packaged Facts. Retrieved from Marketresearch.com.
Intext citation: (Buhl, 2009)
Top of PageEntire Web Site
Title of Page. Retrieved <Date>, from <URL>
Example:
Federal Consumer Information Center. Retrieved from http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/
Specific Document on a Web Site
These citations will often follow a similar format to that for print with some additions and deletions.
Examples:
Federal Trade Commission. (2001, September 13). Consumer awareness at gasoline pumps urged [News Release]. Retrieved from http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2001/09/fyi0146.htm
Intext citation: (Federal Trade Commission, 2001)
DiCarlo, L. (2000, September 22). Forbes 400 richest Americans. Forbes.com. Retrieved September from http://www.forbes.com/tool/toolbox/rich400/
Intext citation: (DiCarlo, 2002)
Nike, Inc. (2002). 2002 annual report. Retrieved from http://www.nike.com/nikebiz/nikebiz.jhtml?page=17#
Intext citation: (Nike, Inc., 2002)
Note:
- If there will be more
then one reference to a company web page for different documents, identify the
document either in the text of the paper or the intext citation, e.g., (Nike,
Inc., 2002 Annual Report).
- Retrieval Date is ONLY NEEDED when content is changable or can be updated. Therefore,
journal, newsletter, newspaper, or magazine articles and books do not need retrieval dates.
Industry/Analyst Report from Database (with author)
Green, W. J. & Longson, A. (2009, April 19). Freight transportation. Freight pulse 16: Rail pricing resilient; Trucks to face more challenges. Morgon Stanley Industry View. Retrieved from Thomson Research database
Intext citation: (Green & Longson, 2009)
Author, A. & Author, B. (Date). Article Title. Periodical Title, volume (issue), pages. Abstract retrieved from <Database or URL>
Note: If you are unable to obtain the full article, instructors may allow use of information from an abstract; however, the citation must indicate the information came from an abstract. Information from abstracts should not be used for material being published.
Example of Abstract from a Database
Mehra, A. & Floyd, S.W. (1998, July-August). Product market heterogeneity, resource imitability and strategic group formation. Journal of Management, 24(4), 511-512. Abstract retrieved from Expanded Academic ASAP database.
Intext Citation: (Mehra & Floyd, 1998)
Example of Abstract from Web
Lassen, S.R., Steele, M.M., & Sailor, W. (2006). the relationship of school-wide positive behavior support to academic in an urban middle school. Pschology in the Schools, 43, 701-712. Abstract retrieved from http://www.interscience.wiley.com
Personal Communications (such as e-mail and interviews)
Data from personal communications is not recoverable by the reader; therefore, personal communications are not included in references. However, they must be cited in text. See p. 179 and pp. 213-215 of the APA style manual (6th edition) for further information.
NOTE: If you have questions,
please
(1) check with the UWB Writing Center or
(2) consult the APA website for citing electronic sources: http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html
(3) or
consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
(See pages 268-281 on Electronic Media)
Guide developed by
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
University of Washington, Bothell and Cascadia Community College
E-mail comments to: doreenh@u.washington.edu
URL:
http://library.uwb.edu/guides/BusWeb/CiteOnlineAPA.html
Updated:
2/4/10