|
Online
Sources:
The American Marketplace
Provides marketing analysis based upon government statistics.
Part of New Strategist series.
Located in Lexis Nexis.
UW restricted database
Select: Sources tab above.
Then Select Find Sources tab above.
Type American Marketplace in keyword box. Click Find Sources.
Select The American Market Place. Click "Ok Continue" button in
upper right of screen
The World Almanac and Book of Facts
The most comprehensive of almanacs of miscellaneous information. Has statistics
on social, industrial, political, financial, religious, educational and other topics,
including statistical data on states.
Usually up-to-date, reliable sources.
- Access in Lexis
Nexis Select Power Search tab above. From drop down source
menu, select World Almanac and Book of Facts UW
restricted
- Also in book format in reference collection on 1st floor of
library. Call No. AY 67 N5 W7
Statistical
Resources on the Web
University of Michigan Library Documents Center, a mega statistics site covering
numerous topics.
Print Sources:
(located on 1st floor of library in reference
collection)
Finding Statistics Online
REFERENCE HA 33.5 B47
Business Statistics of the United States
REFERENCE HC101 A13122
Covers almost every area of the U.S. economy, including GDP, income, employment,
investment, prices, wages, productivity, profits, energy, international trade,
money supply, debt, and interest rates.
Cities of the United States
REFERENCE HT123 C49677
A compilation of information on economic, cultural, geographic, and social
conditions of U.S. cities.
Demographics of the U. S.: Trends and Projections
New
Strategist Publications
REFERENCE HB849.49 R875
Covers attitudes and behavior, education, health, housing, income, labor force,
living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth.
TV Dimensions
REFERENCE HE8700.8 T917
Defines viewers of TV shows and cable channels by their product usage, and by
the degree of interest in advertising for each category. Also includes white
papers on topics such as ad recall trends since the early 1950's and negative
effects of ad clutter, etc.
Datapedia of the United States 1790-2005
REFERENCE HA202 K87
Highlights of America year by year: population, vital statistics and health,
migration, labor, national income and wealth, consumer income and expenditures,
social statistics, land/water/climate, agriculture, forestry and fisheries,
minerals, construction and housing, manufacturing, transportation,
communications, energy, distribution and services, international transactions
and foreign commerce, business enterprise, productivity and technological
development, financial markets and institutions, and government.
Economic Indicators Handbook
REFERENCE HC 103 E26
Has a wide range of stats for measuring the U.S. economy. Includes: Gross National
Product; Gross Domestic Product; composite indexes of leading, lagging and coincident
indicators; cyclic indicators; Consumer Price Index; a selection from Producer Price
Index; and selected stock market indexes.
Editor & Publisher Market Guide
REFERENCE HF 5410 E33
Gives quality of life data, latest census data, economic and demographic projections for
U.S. cities and other communities supporting daily newspapers.
Manufacturing & Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and
Leading Companies
REFERENCE HD9721 M3495 (multiple volume set in our reference collection)
Projections, historical trends, occupational data and leading companies provided for over 200
industries. Includes NAICS coverage of manufacturing, wholesale and
retail.
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide
REFERENCE G 1046 Q1 R35
Contains business and planning datapopulation, economic and geographicfor
thousands of U.S. places and includes large-scale, detailed maps.
State Profiles
REFERENCE HA203 S734
The population and economy of each U.S. state and an overview of the U.S. for
comparative purposes. Covers areas such as health, education, government
finance (including government payments to individuals and leading exports),
energy, travel, agriculture, gross domestic product, economic structure by
industry (including leading industries), employment, population demographics,
income and poverty status.
CQ's State Fact Finder
REFERENCE HA203 C77
This is a quick fact-finding tool that includes ranking profiles for each state
and answers to frequently asked questions needed for making personal, business
and public policy decisions.
The Statistical Handbook on Technology
REFERENCE T 21 B47
Provides statistical overviews of technologies related to agriculture; business,
manufacturing and materials; communications; computers; construction and infrastructure;
consumer products and entertainment; education and libraries; energy and environment; the
military and law enforcement; medicine and biotechnology; space and transportation.
Contains tables and figures that examine access to technologies, budgets, capacities,
consumption, costs, employment, funding sources, number of products on the market, number
of units existing, penetration, popularity, prices, production, sales, trade, usage,
values, etc.
The Guide to Understanding the Insurance Industry
REFERENCE HG8501 B479
A supplement to Best's Review that "dig into the financials that drive
insurers." Includes an Industry overview on agents & brokers,
investing/ratings, asset distribution, new companies, and solvency, as well as
data on property/casualty insurance, life insurance, health insurance,
reinsurance, captive domiciles, and how insurance is regulated.
Washington State Retail Survey
REFERENCE HF5429.4 W2 W37
The Retail Survey is designed to provide a comprehensive review of retail sales
activity in every county and city in Washington. It reports on historical sales
trends in over 300 individual market areas in Washington, based on sales from
over 64,000 retail outlets; and it includes statistical measurements to evaluate
past performance of individual markets and prospects for future growth.
Top of
Page
|
|
Online Sources
County and City Data Book
(current issue only from our online catalog)
Presents a variety of information on states, counties, cities and places in the United
States. Some of the subjects covered: banking, climate, crime, education, federal funds,
government finances and employment, health, households, housing, journey to work, labor
force and unemployment, land area, manufacturers, money income and poverty, population,
retail and wholesale trade, service industries, vital statistics.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
(from our online catalog)
(Also in book format in our reference collection on 1st floor of library.
Call no: HA 202 S84)
This is a local area supplement to the Statistical Abstracts of the U.S. and is considered
a convenient summary of statistics on social, political and economic organization of the
states and metro areas of the U.S. References are made to other statistical publications
and sourcesgovernment and private.
State of Washington Data Book
(Also in book format in our reference collection on 1st floor of library Call
No: HA 694 A6)
Gives a diversity of data on Washington, its people, economy and government. The data
comes from state and federal agencies as well as private business. Contents area include:
population, economy, state government finance, human services, criminal justice,
education, natural resources, environment, energy, transportation and local government and
special districts.
Statistical Resources for Washington Local Governments
http://www.mrsc.org/library/ctystat.htm
Statistical Abstract of the United States
REFERENCE HA 202 U56 (print source) See also source below.
Summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United
States. Data are from many statistical publications, both government and private. Sources
are given. Includes state rankings and profiles.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States web site
http://www.census.gov/statab/www
Can search selected features: USA Statistics in Brief, State Rankings, Frequently
requested tables, State and County Profiles
State of the
Nation (Part of Stat USA
electronic database on the UW Libraries Gateway) UW
restricted
Search for U.S. Federal Government economic and financial data. Service provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce.
Statistical UW restricted
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S.
government publications since 1973, state and private sources since 1980, and about 2,000
documents from international organizations since 1983.
FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov
Federal Government statistics locator. Links to 70+ U.S. Government agencies that produce
statistics of interest to the public. Site maintained by Federal Interagency Council on
Statistical Policy. It is not always obvious which agency of the government produces
statistics, for their responsibilities sometimes overlap.
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov
U.S. and world population and socio-economic data.
Also contains a Business section which includes the economic
census (covers wholesale and retail trades, manufacturing, information,
arts, entertainment, recreation, accommodation and food services, professional, scientific
and technical services, education, health care, etc.) and foreign
trade, American Fact
Finder, County and City Data
Book, State and County
Economic and Demographic Profiles (local area supplements to Statistical
Abstract of the U.S.), numerous surveys, latest economic indicators and more.
Government Information Sharing
Project
A searchable database to provide easier access to electronic government
information: Demographics, Economics, Education.
White House Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html
To locate popular economic and demographic information from various government
agencies. Contains three major links: Economic Statistics, Social Statistics,
and Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy, and covers crime,
demographics, education, health, income, poverty, housing characteristics,
school dropout rates, and college enrollment, as well as data on the civilian
labor force such as earnings, unemployment, and productivity rates. The
information is maintained and updated by statistical units of federal agencies.
Food Consumption Prices and Expenditures or Food
Cost Review
By the U.S. Department of Agriculture
http://www.usda.gov/
Use the search engine.
Statistics: Local, State, National and International
Includes statistics from both government and non-government
sources.
Print Sources:
Snohomish County
Business Journal Market Facts
(In book format in Reference Collection on 1st floor of library. Call No.
HC107 .W22 S66
2006)>
Top of
Page
|