International Business
International Business Research Guide

International Business Research Guide
 
 
Search by Company or Industry
Company Information
Industry Information
Directories & Associations (Find a Company)
Search by Country
Country Overviews and Facts
Economic Conditions
Marketing Information
CultureGuides
 
International-Based
Electronic Business Databases
Journals & Newspapers
General Reference Sources
International Trade
(Export-Import) Information
Foreign Exchange Rates
Search by Company or Industry
Company Information
 
Online Sources

Corporate Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes M&A activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria such as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive name or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country, product/brand name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year founded, ticker symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by public, private or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries or both.

Corporate Information
http://www.corporateinformation.com
Covers companies worldwide, including private companies. Gives a synopsis on companies, including competitors and sales.

Europages: The European Business Directory
http://www.europages.com/home-en.html
Multilingual directory of 500,000 companies in 30 European countries searchable by product, company name or business sector. Includes links to some European business web pages, Euro converter and other financial information.

Hoover’s Online UW restricted
Provides profiles of some international companies. Covers overview, history, products & services, key competitors, brief financial performance, executives, address, phone & web page.

Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
Provides analyst reports and forecasts for over U.S. and international companies and 83 industries.
- To Search For Company:
Select:Content Profiles. Then type in "Company Name" or "Ticker symbol"
Select: Company with a "Quote/Ticker" symbol
- To Search For Industry:
Select: Full Search. Then Select: "text".
Type in industry
Can also Select: "SIC" or "NAICS". Then type in code

Kompass UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies, products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries.

Mergent Online UW restricted
Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of financial data for U.S. and international public companies. Other information provided includes business profiles, histories, lists of subsidiaries, company officers and directors. An archive section provides U.S. and international public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996. Full Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH module.

Mint Global UW restricted
Mint global, also known as Orbis (which is the earlier interface), contains information on over 35 million companies worldwide, including banks and insurance companies, providing descriptive information, company financials, news, market research, ownership, M&A data and more.

Plunkett Research Online (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
An industry center providing market research, trends and analysis, industry stats, profiles of industry-leading companies (both public and private), industry associations, and company contact export features. Industries include, Airlines, Hotel and Travel, Automobile, Computers & Internet, Consulting, Energy, Engineering and Research, Entertainment and Media, Finance and Investments, Food and Beverage, Health Care, Biotech and Genetics, Retail, and Telecommunications. In addition, Job Seeking/Careers information is given

Worldscope UW restricted
Access via Lexis-Nexis:
- Select Business tab above
- Select Company Profiles from left frame
- Select Worldscope from drop down source menu

WorldScope is an international database containing financial profiles, fundamental analysis, and stock performance data for over 28,000 companies in 54 countries. WorldScope takes into consideration the variety of accounting conventions now in use worldwide and presents more than 6,000 data variables in a reformatted design that facilitates comparisons between companies within and across national boundaries. WorldScope data variables include financial variables extracted from source documents, data items computed from fundamental variables, general corporate data, including a brief business description, officers, segment data, major shareholders and auditor information, and accounting data items on a company-specific basis.

Also, try visiting the company web site, but the information may be in another language.



Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

International Directory of Company Histories
Call No: REFERENCE HD 2721 I57
Information on historical development of some of the world’s largest, most influential companies. Multiple volume set arranged by industry. Last volume has index to companies and persons.

Top of Page

 

Industry Information

Online Sources

Gartner UW restricted
Gartner, Inc. (NYSE: IT) is the world’s leading information technology research and advisory company. Gartner analysts and consultants are known to provide the most comprehensive collection of analysis and advice to the global IT industry.

Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
Search for industry reports and forecasts from international brokers, investment banks, and trade associations.
Provides analyst reports and forecasts for over U.S. and international companies and 83 industries.
- To Search For Company:
Select:Content Profiles. Then type in "Company Name" or "Ticker symbol"
Select: Company with a "Quote/Ticker" symbol
- To Search For Industry:
Select: Full Search. Then Select: "text".
Type in industry
Can also Select: "SIC" or "NAICS". Then type in code

Corporate Information
http://www.corporateinformation.com
Provides brief industry overviews and/or industry-related links. Search by broad industry classifications and limit by country. Registration required.

MarketResearch.com UW restricted
The database MarketResearch.com provides in depth market research reports for U.S. and global industries which are over 100 pages long each. Written and published in the U.S. by various market research firms, the reports provide quantitative and qualitative focus and analysis on leading manufacturers, retailers, distributors, and marketers. Information included are executive summaries, industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovation, buyer behavior, market share, and market forecasts.

Mint Global UW restricted
Mint global, also known as Orbis (which is the earlier interface), contains information on over 35 million companies worldwide, including banks and insurance companies, providing descriptive information, company financials, news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data.


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Call No: REFERENCE HD 2324 .E53
Provides the history, development and current status of 115 of the most lucrative and high-profile industries. Organized by industry, the narrative entries provide outlooks and projections for the industry along with background and development, research and technology and major countries and companies in the industry.

Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Call No: REFERENCE HF5439 M267 G66
Forecasts and economic analysis of 13 industry segments prepared by PriceWaterhouse Coopers.

2008 World Industry & Market Outlook
Call No: REFERENCE HC10 W69 2008
Demographic data for over 120 major global industries. Provides current estimates of the size of the largest manufacturing, retail, wholesale and services industries in the world.

Top of Page

Directories & Associations

Online Sources

Thomas Global Register
http://www.aernet.com/
The Thomas Global Register (TGR) is a directory of 500,000 manufacturers and distributors from 26 countries, classified by 10,500 products and services categories. It is used to bring industrial buyers and sellers together. Registration is required to get extended details on non-advertising companies, but registration is free. Results display a company’s address, phone number, fax number, e-mail, and Internet address.

Corporate Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes M&A activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria such as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive name or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country, product/brand name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year founded, ticker symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by public, private or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries or both.

Europages
http://www.europages.com
A directory of 500,000 companies from 30 countries. Search by company (and restrict by number of employees, turnover, or type of activity), location or product . Entries give address, phone and line of business. Includes links to company catalogs and company web sites.

National Export Directory
http://www.trade.gov/td/tic/resources/index.html
The Trade Information Center provides access to a National Export Directory, which contains information for state trade offices, trade finance offices, trade centers, and foreign trade zones. Click on the National Export Directory link from the Trade Information Center website.

Kompass UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies, products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries.


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Bancomext Trade Directory of Mexico
Call No: REFERENCE HF 3233 B253
Bancomext is the Mexican Foreign Trade Bank. The directory contains indexes for product and industrial activity and provides company profiles as well as lists of trading companies and organizations supporting foreign trade.

Bergano’s Register of International Importers
Call No: REFERENCE HF I416 B47
Lists thousands of importers/distributors to contact for direct exporting. Search by location or product. Gives contact info., what they’re interested in, and for whom they are representatives.

Business Organizations, Agencies, and Publications Directory
Call No: REFERENCE HF 3010 B86
A guide to 37,000 organizations, agencies, and publications concerned with international and U.S. business, trade and industry. Also includes trade shows.

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
Call No: REFERENCE HG4538 A1 D5 (3 vol)
Volume 1 lists in alphabetical order American companies with operations in foreign countries. Volumes 2 and 3 contain listings by country of American firms foreign operations.

D & B Principal International Businesses: The World Marketing Directory
Call No: REFERENCE HF 54 U5 P74
A world marketing directory covering 50,000 leading companies worldwide. Information given includes name, address, phone, sales, import/export indicator, ownership date, number employees, SIC, lines of business, chief executive. Search by company, location, product.

Top of Page

Search by Country
Country Overviews & Facts

Online Sources

Background Notes
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
From the U.S. Dept. of State, gives brief economic and political updates for countries worldwide.

Country Studies
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Because the original intent of the Series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. The series is not a current events database. Rather, it offers background analysis on a country's history, geography, society, economy, political system, foreign policy, and national security. They are currently being updated.

CIA World Factbook Country Profiles
http://permanent.access.gpo.gov/lps35389/2003/rankorderguide.html
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) gives economic, political, and demographic information on all countries. Includes poverty level, household income or consumption level by percentage, inflation rate, employment rate, GDP purchasing power parity, GDP per capita (e.g., Disposable Income), etc.


Includes Disposable Income (GDP per capita).

The Electronic Embassy
http://www.embassy.org
Links to all foreign embassies of Washington, D. C., with web pages for each country.

Global EDGE
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp
An outline of the business climate, political structure, history, and statistical data for more than 180 countries. It also includes regional and country specific links in addition to a general overview of each geographic area. A Megasite for international business, trade information, and economic trends.

HLB International
HLB is a world-wide organization of accounting firms and business advisors.
To pull up information on doing business in a particular country:
1) Select Publications tab at top of page. 2) Select Doing Business In. 3) Select a country from dropdown menu.

IMD World Competitiveness Online UW restricted
The World Competitiveness Yearbook (WCY) analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. World Competitiveness Online provides access to the entire WCY database including a 5-year time series. The IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook measures 55 countries on the basis of 331 criteria.

InfoNation
http://www.cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation/info.asp
The database allows viewing and comparing up-to-date statistical data (overview, economy, environment, health, and technology) for the Member States of the United Nations.

OFFSTATS
http://www.auckland.ac.nz/lbr/stats/offstats/OFFSTATSmain.htm
Offers social, economic and general data on individual countries from official sources on the web. Searchable by country or topic.

World Factbook
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
Published by the CIA. Narrative and statistical data on numerous countries. Covers geography, maps, people, government, economy, transportation, military, transnational issues, and communications.


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Dun & Bradstreet’s Guide to Doing Business Around the World
Call No: REFERENCE HF 1416 M78
Contains cultural, political and trade data on numerous countries. Topics include demographics, cultural tips, economic overview, country risk rating, monetary and trade policies, trade flows and prospects, foreign investment climate, intellectual property rights, religious/societal influences on business, and more. There is also an appendix of documents used for international trade.

Global Competitiveness Report
Call No: REFERENCE HF1414 G563)
This study is one of the leading monitors of the competitive condition of economies of 100 countries (includes competitiveness rankings, problematic factors for business and much more). The report focuses on some of the key factors that help determine economic growth and explain why some countries are more successful than others in raising income levels and opportunities for their respective populations in joining the upper ranks of international competitiveness.

Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific
Call No: REFERENCE HA 1661 S832
Statistics on a wide variety of topics, including population, manpower, national accounts, industry, energy, transport and communications, external trade, wages, prices and consumption, finance and social statistics.

Top of Page

Economic Conditions


Online Sources

BISNIS
http://www.bisnis.doc.gov/
Business Information Service for Newly Independent States. Includes U.S. Embassy Reports, Country Reports, Industry Reports, U.S. State Exports, Exchange Rates, Sources of Finance. Provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce.

BizAPEC
http://www.bizapec.com/main.htm
Business Support for the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation. BizAPEC.com contains information, advice and tools to assist businesses in identifying opportunities and uncover the rules, regulations and requirements needed to get goods to market. Click on "Regional Export Markets" to access economic information by country.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
http://www.bea.doc.gov/
BEA produces and disseminates national, regional and international economic accounts statistics. The National Economic Accounts give a quantitative view of production, distribution and use of the the Nation's output, as well as the nation's tangible wealth and input-output tables that show how industries interact. Regional Economic Accounts give estimates and analyses of personal income, population, and employment for regions, states, metropolitan areas, and countries; plus, BEA prepares estimates of gross state product. The International Economic Accounts shows the international transactions accounts (balance of payments) and the estimates of U.S. direct investment abroad and foreign direct investment in the U.S. BEA website also provides access to their publication Survey of Current Business (including international).

CEEBIC
http://www.mac.doc.gov/ceebic/
Central Eastern Europe Business Information Center. A business facilitation program for U.S. firms interested in expanding into the Central and Eastern European markets. Established in 1990, CEEBIC is a one-stop shop and the US Government's clearinghouse for the most recent economic, commercial, and financial information on the 15 countries of Central and Eastern Europe.

Country Commercial Guides
http://www.stat-usa.gov/mrd.nsf/vwCCG_Country
Prepared annually by U.S. Embassies with other U.S. government agencies. The guides present information on the business and economic situation of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects U.S. business. Each CCG contains the same chapters, and an appendix, which include topics such as economic trends and outlook, political environment, marketing, trade regulations, investment climate, and business travel.

ebusinessforum.com
http://www.ebusinessforum.com/
The ebusinessforum.com provides analysis of new business models, best practice case studies to benchmark a company's digital strategy, briefings on the latest innovations in e-business worldwide, and the doing ebusiness in... feature to assess prospects for e-business growth in over 60 countries. Website developed by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) working with corporate leaders in the digital economy. For additional information on the site, go to: http://www.ebusinessforum.com/index.asp?layout=about_us

Foreign Exchange Rates
http://www.oanda.com
Oanda.com or "The Currency Site" is a commercial site with currency tools for foreign exchange investors, currency localization tools for businesses, and currency tools for travelers. For a simple currency converter, try the Thomas Global Register - International Tools page at http://www.aernet.com/tools/default.asp.

Source OECD UW restricted
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development's Online Library, which includes monographs and annual reports by theme; periodicals; and statistics. Do a quick search or use drop down menus.

Strategis: Canada's Business Information Site
http://strategis.ic.gc.ca
From Canada's Minister of Industry, the site is organized in categories and includes a news link.

World Bank
URL: http://www.worldbank.org/
Economic indicators including data and statistics on various developing countries and regions.

* WDI Online (World Development Indicators) UW restricted
World Bank provides general current and time series statistical data for countries.

* GDF Online (Global Development Finance) UW restricted
World Bank provides current and time series debt and other financial data by country.

World Economic Outlook
(Also in book format in Reference collection on 1st floor of library. Call No. REFERENCE HC 59 I52 C 59 I52H)
And http://www.imf.org
Gives statistical data on the world’s economy and narrative analysis and projections. Prepared by the International Monetary Fund.


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

African Development Report 2004: Africa in the Global Trading System
by the African Development Bank

Asian Development Outlook
(Also in book format in Reference collection on 1st floor of library. Call No. HC 411 A17)
The Asian Development Outlook, popularly known as the ADO, is a series of annual economic reports on the developing member countries (DMCs) of the Asian Development Bank. The ADO provides a comprehensive analysis of macroeconomic and development issues for the DMCs of ADB

Economic Survey of Europe
by United Nations
Call No: REFERENCE HC240 A1 U477

Economic Survey of Latin America
by United Nations
Call No: REFERENCE HC125 .E25

World Economic Outlook: Globalization and External Imbalances: World Economic and Financial Surveys
by International Monetary Fund
World Economic Outlook Reports
Reference Collection Call No. HC59 I52 (1st floor of library)

Emerging Stock Markets Factbook
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4551 E43
Information on financial markets in the developing world. Compiled by International Finance Corporation.

Top of Page

 

Marketing Information

Online Sources

Country Commercial Guides
http://www.stat-usa.gov/mrd.nsf/vwCCG_Country
Prepared annually by U.S. Embassies with other U.S. government agencies. The guides present information on the business and economic situation of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects U.S. business. Each CCG contains the same chapters, and an appendix, which include topics such as economic trends and outlook, political environment, marketing, trade regulations, investment climate, and business travel.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) UW restricted
Provide up-to-date analysis on worldwide market trends and business strategies. Assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions in almost 200 countries. Coverage includes Country Reports, Country Profiles, Viewswire (daily analysis service), Country Commerce, and eBusinessForum.

Market Research from Export.gov
http://www.export.gov/marketresearch.html
To access the Market Research Library, click on Country & Industry Market Reports. These market research guides discuss economic trends and outlook; investment climate; political environment; trade regulations, standards and finance; and business customs. This site also includes information on how to perform market research.

MarketResearch.com UW restricted
The database MarketResearch.com provides in depth market research reports for U.S. and global industries which are over 100 pages long each. Written and published in the U.S. by various market research firms, the reports provide quantitative and qualitative focus and analysis on leading manufacturers, retailers, distributors, and marketers. Information included are executive summaries, industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovation, buyer behavior, market share, and market forecasts.

International Trade Administration Tourism Industries
http://tinet.ita.doc.gov
Provides tourism statistics and market analysis on U.S. visitors and U.S. travelers abroad (national, state/city/territory, and country), export assistance, policy, latest updates, and other related links.

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov
Contains a Business section, which includes a foreign trade division. Also has the latest economic indicators, census of people (including international) and more.

U.S. Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration
http://www.ita.doc.gov
Has an International Trade Information Center with info on all federal export assistance programs, as well as country and regional market information. This includes statistical and narrative data on regions and countries, trade (e.g., exports), current economic analysis, key industries and service sectors, and over 200 Internet sites that are export related.


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Business Rankings Annual
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4050 B88
Lists of companies, products, services and activities from a variety of published sources. Information is grouped by subject and arranged alphabetically. Do you need to know the fastest growing U.S. cities, best selling prescription drugs, top health care companies, countries spending the most on IT, leading software suppliers worldwide? You’ll find it here and more. Includes the source.

E-Commerce: Implementing Global Marketing Strategies
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5548.32 S97
Addresses e-commerce basics and business characteristics, as well as segments of the economy where e-commerce is being implemented. Provides case studies, Information Technology trends, and types of e-commerce and standards required to facilitate their growth.

International Financial Statistics Yearbook
Call No: REFERENCE HG 3081 .I6263
Statistics on international and domestic finance such as exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government finance for most countries.

International Marketing Data and Statistics
On order for Reference
Statistical data relevant to marketing in many countries.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook
Call No: REFERENCE HF 91 Y4
Statistics on 174 countries external trade performances.

U.S. Global Trade Outlook 1995-2000: Toward the 21st Century
Call No: REFERENCE HC 106.5 A17
Assesses the best markets in different countries, as well as opportunities for different industries. Compiled by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce.

World Market Share Reporter
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5410 .W67
Gives worldwide market share data and rankings for companies, products and services

Top of Page

Culture Guides

Dun & Bradstreets Guide to Doing Business Around the World
(Book in library reference collection on 1st floor. Call No. HF1416 M78 2001)

Executive Planet
http://www.executiveplanet.com/
Business culture guides for a selection of countries for international travelers. Includes a discussion group.

Global Business Etiquette: A Guide to International Communication and Customs
(Book in library reference collection on 1st floor. Call No. HF5389 M375)

International Business Etiquette and Manners, Interantional Business Center.org
http://www.cyborlink.com/default.htm
This resource contains information on international business etiquette and manners for several dozen countries including categories such as Geert Hofstede analysis, appearance, behavior, communication, and books and resources about that country. The information is provided by the Global Leadership MBA Graduates from University of Texas, Dallas.

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands
(Book in library reference collection on 1st floor. Call No. HF5389 M67)
A guide to doing business in over 60 countries. Includes cultural overviews, tips for doing business, negotiating strategies, and protocol.

Portals to the World
Contains links to country information that were selected by Library of Congress specialists.

To locate books on the topic, search UW Libraries Catalog by terms such as:
corporate culture
intercultural communication
business etiquette


Top of Page


International Trade
(Export-Import) Information

Online Sources

Foreign Trade Statistics
http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www/
From the U.S. Census Bureau.

BISNIS
http://www.bisnis.doc.gov/bisnis/bisnis.cfm
Business Information Service for Newly Independent States. Includes U.S. Embassy Reports, Country Reports, Industry Reports, U.S. State Exports, Exchange Rates, Sources of Finance. Provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Export.gov
http://www.export.gov/
Provides web links for trade assistance, contacts lists (trade partners), exporting guides, tariffs and taxes, NAFTA rules, market research with trade statistics, foreign currency rates, and news.

TradeStats Express
Provides the latest national, state and regional annual trade data, which can be customized and then retrieved, visualized, downloaded, or printed.

Dept. of Commerce, International Trade Administration
http://www.ita.doc.gov/
Maintained by International Trade Administration, U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Click on Trade Statistics to find U.S. Foreign Trade Highlights, U.S. Foreign Trade Data and the Foreign Trade Reference Room. Click on Trade Information Center for information on export resources, trade offices, events, country and industry information.

Europa World Year Book UW restricted
Provides recent history and major social, economic and political events of individual countries. Includes statistics on external trade by country.

Kompass UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies, products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 70 countries. You can search all companies manufacturing or distributing, importing or exporting, a product, in 74 countries allowing you to identify possible suppliers, clients or competitors.

Market Access and Compliance
http://www.mac.doc.gov/
The Market Access and Compliance section of Export.gov contains information about foreign trade agreements. The site has links to country and regional websites (listed under "Specific Interests") with information on foreign trade and business.

Sierra International, Inc.
http://www.serraintl.com/morelink.html
An Export Import Directory that contains web links for Export-Import Aids and Tools, Government Agencies, Foreign Currency Aids, Embassies and Consulates, as well as sections on international airlines, ocean, trucking, courier/mail, and rail services.

State Export Facts
http://www.ita.doc.gov/TD/Industry/OTEA/state/
From the U.S. Dept. of Commerce, export data for a number of major U.S. export markets such as state merchandise export totals to the world, state export sales by industry sector to leading markets, state export totals to leading U.S. export destinations, and export markets ranked for each state.

UN Comtrade: The Comtrade database is a product of the UN Statistics Division and is the most comprehensive source for world trade
Note the following restrictions: You can download an unlimited number of records. You have the two following technical restrictions: a) maximum six queries per minute b) download of no more than 150,000 records per query."


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Bergano’s Register of International Importers
Call No: REFERENCE HF I416 B47
Lists thousands of importers/distributors to contact for direct exporting. Search by location or product. Gives contact info., what they’re interested in, and for whom they are representatives.

Dictionary of International Trade
Call No: REFERENCE HF 1373 H55
Handbook of the global trade community with a dictionary and 19 appendices on acronyms, abbreviations and incoterms, currencies of the world, world airports and world maps, as well as guides to country codes, international dialing , ocean and air freight containers, trade documents and letters of credit.

Export America
A Federal magazine for global business needs from the Commerce Department's International Trade Administration. The magazine offers advice for exporters wanting to enter or expand in the global market. Bothell Cascadia Campus Library carries from 1999 on.

International Trade Reporter Export Reference Manual
Print source available at FOSTER Library on the UW Seattle Campus: Call No: REFERENCE HF 1 .I73
Country-by-country shipping information such as market data, tariff, import and exchange controls, sales channels in specific countries, and a summary of needed shipping documents.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook
Call No: REFERENCE HF91 Y4

Search for additional Export information:

UW Libraries Online Catalog (WEBPAC)
Search for books by subjects such as:
International Trade
Export Marketing
Exports United States
Tariff

Top of Page


Foreign Exchange Rates

Federal Reserve Foreign Exchange Rate Daily Update

Federal Reserve Foreign Exchange Rate Historical Data

BISNIS
http://www.bisnis.doc.gov/
Business Information Service for Newly Independent States. Includes U.S. Embassy Reports, Country Reports, Industry Reports, U.S. State Exports, Exchange Rates, Sources of Finance. Provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce.

The Asian Wall Street Journal Weekly
Reports both general and business news on Asia and the Pacific. Includes Asian economic, political, technology, travel, and financial news, plus a special section on Japan. Also includes Asian market indexes, exchange rates and interest rates. Indexed in Factiva and Lexis-Nexis.

Top of Page

International-Based
Electronic Business Databases

Business Source Complete Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.

Corporate Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes M&A activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria such as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive name or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country, product/brand name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year founded, ticker symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by public, private or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries or both.

Factiva UW restricted
Access to full-text of articles drawn from over 3,000 business publications, newspapers and newswires. International publications also.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) UW restricted
Provide up-to-date analysis on worldwide market trends and business strategies. Assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions in almost 200 countries. Coverage includes Country Reports, Country Profiles, Viewswire (daily analysis service), Country Commerce, and eBusinessForum.

Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
Provides reports and forecasts for U.S. and international companies and 83 industries. Some reports include sales forecasts and market share. Prepared by international brokers and investment banks.
Provides analyst reports and forecasts for over U.S. and international companies and 83 industries.
- To Search For Company:
Select:Content Profiles. Then type in "Company Name" or "Ticker symbol"
Select: Company with a "Quote/Ticker" symbol
- To Search For Industry:
Select: Full Search. Then Select: "text".
Type in industry
Can also Select: "SIC" or "NAICS". Then type in code

Kompass UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies, products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries.

Lexis-Nexis UW restricted
Full text database of newspapers, magazines, trade journals, legal documents, company financial information and newswires.

Includes international publications:
- Select: News tab above
-Select source from drop down menu

Country Profiles:
- Select: Business tab above
-Select Country Profiles from left frame

World Business Opportunities database
-Select: Sources from tab above
-Select: Find sources tab above
- Type World Business Opportunities in keyword search box
-Select World Business Opportunities and click on "Ok Continue" tab in upper right of screen
-Enter search terms and click Search button

It also contains World News
-Select News
-Select a source from drop down source menu

Public Affairs information Service (P.A.I.S.) UW restricted
Contains citations and abstracts from articles, books, government documents, pamphlets, conference proceedings and U.S. Congress reports. Focuses on social, economic and political issues and the making and evaluating of public policy, including government regulation of industry.

Newsbank Access World News UW restricted
Includes: (1) Global NewsBank, a full text news database drawing from a variety of English language news sources from around the world, mainly 1996-present; (2) NewsBank Newsfile Collection, a full text database of selected news stories from over 500 U.S. newspapers, 1991-present; and (3) AccessUN which gives access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.

Library Press Display UW restricted
Online access to over 200 newspapers form more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

World News Connection UW restricted
A successor to the Daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service and the JPRS reports from the Joint Publications Research Service provided through the National Technical Information Service. The material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Full text is available on-line, or relevant articles may be sent to a subscriber's e-mail address.

Top of Page

Journals & Newspapers

Here is a selective list of journals and newspapers at UWB with an international focus.

**Many of the articles in these journals can be accessed through electronic databases. If you see "indexed in..." you can go to that database and search for articles from the journal or newspaper. For example, The Economist is one of many publications indexed in the ABI/Inform database, so you can go to ABI/Inform and search online for articles from The Economist.

The Asian Wall Street Journal Weekly
Reports both general and business news on Asia and the Pacific. Includes Asian economic, political, technology, travel, and financial news, plus a special section on Japan. Also includes Asian market indexes, exchange rates and interest rates. Indexed in Factiva and Lexis-Nexis.

Business America
A magazine of international trade. Profile business conditions in different countries. Indexed in Lexis-Nexis and Factiva

The China Business Review
China business practices, finance, technology, industrial planning, travel, trends and issues. Includes charts on China’s economic and financial indicators, China’s output and investment, foreign investment in China by source, China’s trade with the world, China’s top imports and exports, and U.S. direct investment in China. Indexed in Lexis-Nexis and Factiva

The Economist
International economic news, world politics and current affairs in America, Asia, Europe, Britain and other international areas. Also covers business, finance, science and technology. Each issue closes with charts of economic, financial and emerging-market indicators for different countries. Indexed in Lexis-Nexis.

Export America
A Federal source for global business needs from the Commerce Department's International Trade Administration. The magazine offers advice for exporters wanting to enter or expand in the global market. Covers regional developments likely to affect exporters, trade opportunities by country and industry, online marketing tips, and official export statistics.

Far Eastern Economic Review
Covers all news on all of Asia. Covers political, cultural, intellectual, economic, business, political, trade, investment, technology, and travel issues. Includes charts on stock markets, commodities, foreign exchange and economic indicators. Indexed in Factiva.

The Japan Times
Japan business, economic and political news, and Asia-Pacific news. Indexed in Lexis-Nexis and Access World News (in Newsbank).

Journal of International Affairs
The Journal of International Affairs is affiliated with the School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University. The Journal covers international affairs in a single-topic format and serves as a forum for debate on global issues. Indexed in .Factiva, Expanded Academic, and Business Source Complete.

Journal of World Business
Joint ventures, global markets, communication and comparative ethics are studied to provide an overview of current issues in international business. Indexed in Science Direct

The Nikkei Weekly
A leading English-language business newspaper covering the entire spectrum of Japan’s economy, science and technology, labor, finance and industry. Provides concise reports and analyses of developments in Japan’s overall business trends, international trade, banking, government, finance, securities markets, commodities and industries. Also gives a summary of business conditions in other Asian and Pacific markets. Some articles indexed in Lexis-Nexis.

The Wall Street Journal
Full text of The Wall Street Journal. No charts or tables. Indexed in National Newspapers or Factiva.

The World Economy
Global trade policy. Indexed in Blackwell-Synergy.

Top of Page

General Reference Sources

Online Sources

Global EDGE
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp
An outline of the business climate, political structure, history, and statistical data for more than 180 countries. It also includes regional and country specific links in addition to a general overview of each geographic area. A Megasite for international business, trade information, and economic trends.

Glossary of international business terms
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/glossary.asp?Index=a
Search or browse a glossary of international business terms.

Internet Access for International Business, Economics, Marketing and Trade Information
http://www.nal.usda.gov/atmic/links.htm
Compiled by the Agricultural Trade and Marketing Information Center, National Agricultural Library.

VIBES: Virtual International Business and Economic Sources
http://library.uncc.edu/vibes
Contains over 1,600 links to Internet sources of international business and economic information that are in English and available free of charge. Links include: Full-text files of recent articles and research reports, statistical tables and graphs, and Meta pages (pages with links to other sources). Maintained by the Business Librarian at the University of North Carolina Charlotte.

International Trade
http://www.business.gov/busadv/maincat.cfm?catid=22
The U.S. Business Advisor was created by the Small Business Administration (SBA) and an interagency task force. It links to several popular web sites related to international trade.


Print Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)

Handbook of International Relations
Call No: REFERENCE JZ1242 H365

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management
Call No: REFERENCE HD 30.15 B456

The Concise International Encyclopedia of Business & Management
Call No: REFERENCE HF 1001 I53

Encyclopedia of Japanese Business and Management
Call No: REFERENCE HF1001 E467

Internet Resources and Services for International Business
Call No: REFERENCE HF 54.56 L58
Internet resources and services are listed by individual country.

World Factbook
Call No: REFERENCE G 122. U56a
Central Intelligence Agency gives economic, political, and demographic info on all countries.
Also available on the web: http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html

Search for additional General Resources:

UW Libraries Online Catalog (WEBPAC)
Search for books regarding international business subjects.
Example subjects:

Competition, International
International Business Enterprises
International Economic Relations
International Trade
Export Marketing
Exports United States
Tariff
Marketing research
Marketing surveys

 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu

URL:http://library.uwb.edu/guides/BusWeb/BusWebInternational.htm
Updated:9/17/08