| |
Online
Sources
Standard
Industrial Classification (SIC) Manual
http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html
(Print Source in Library Reference collection
on 1st floor. Call No: HF 1042 A55)
The SIC code system was devised by the Office of Management and Budget
as a guideline for reporting business statistics. Industries
are classified in broad two- or three-digit groupings, as well as more
specific four-digit codes. Each SIC code represents a type of business.
SIC codes are used extensively in directories, financial services, statistical
publications and industry reports to classify industry data. Also, some
online databases allow searching by SIC code. To use or search these
sources, you will need to determine the SIC code of the company you
are researching.
Lexis-Nexis: UW
restricted
1) Select: Business. 2) Select: Directories. 3) From Source drop down menu, select: SIC Directory
North
American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html
(Print Source
in Library Reference collection on 1st floor. Call No: HF1042 N67)
NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide
new comparability in statistics about business activity across North
America. Shows corresponding NAICS codes for SIC codes and vice versa.
However, most electronic databases and reference sources still use SIC
codes. Government sources have begun to use NAICS codes, as well
as Hoovers Online and Reference USA.
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Harris' Complete
Guide to NAICS: Your Utimate Reference to NAICS, SIC and ISIC Codes
Call
No: REFERENCE HF1042 H37
This is a guide to NAICS, SIC, and ISIC Codes, providing
background, comparison, and explanation of how to use them, as well
as a conversion source for SIC to NAICS, NAIC to SIC, and ISIC to NAIC.
An overview and structure is given of the ISIC United Nations classification
system for comparability of different countries and an explanation that
there is comparability at the 2 digit level of ISIC with NAICS. |
| |
What They
Are
Ratios give a standard for comparing a company's
performance. Putting data from the Balance Sheet and Income Statement into ratios or
percentages, can provide a better understanding of a company's financial well
being. The
comparison is made against industry averages or other statements. Two forms of numerical
study of financial statements:
Common Size converts each line of a financial statement into percentages
of total revenues and each line of the Balance Sheet into percentages of total
assets.
Ratio Analysis compares an item on the financial statement to another
item (not to the whole). The idea is to focus on meaningful comparisons such as total debt
to total equity on the Balance Sheet to find out how much of the assets are funded by
borrowing.
Sources
Online
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage UW restricted
Provides global industry
reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat excel analytics
(includes ratios and company comparisons); as well as stock, bond
and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more. Exportable
to Excel spreadsheets.
Reuters (requires
registration)
http://www.investor.reuters.com/StockEntry.aspx?target=/stocks
A Market Ratio Guide Comparison Report. Tables show how a company measures
against the S&P 500, the industry, and a sector
comprised of similar industries. To access: Type a company name or its stock symbol in the search box and click the "Ratios" radio dial. From the results, you may need to also select "More Ratios" in the right column.
Hoovers
Online UW restricted
Provides a comparison
with top competitors, the industry and the market.
For a comparison with top competitors:
Search for a company. Then, under Browse a Company in left
frame, select Financials and then Competitive Landscape
For a comparison with the industry and the market:
Search for a company. Then, under Browse a Company in left frame,
select Financials and then Competitive Comparison
FirstResearch UW restricted
Provides Finaniclal ratios for aggregated and small companies in particular industries.
Disclosure Reports in Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
These
reports contain Ratio Analysis for companies.
1) Select: Business
2) Then Select: Company Financial.
3) Use the Source dropdown menu to select Disclosure Reports.
4) Type a company name in the search box.
5) Select a time span from the dropdown menu.
Print
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial
Ratios
Call
No: REFERENCE HF5681
R25 T68
The source of the industry financial data is from corporate income
tax returns filed with the U.S. Internal Revenue Service. Data are
grouped into 13 categories by size of assets for each industry. Corporate
performance is profiled in two analytical tables for each industry. One
table reports operating and financial information for all corporations
(those with and w/o net income); the other table gives the same info but
for only corporations with net income. Ratios are arranged by
SIC code.
Industry
Norms and Key Business Ratios
Call
No: REFERENCE HF5681
R25 I525
Industry norm statistics on 800+ lines of business to compare a companys
financial condition to peers, project future performance, determine
standards of risk and performance, and create a model to measure how
a companys financials should look based on industry performance. From D&B database of business credit reports. Uses
SIC codes.
RMA Annual Statement
Studies
Call
No: REFERENCE HF5681
B2 R6
Composite financial data
for 375+ industry groups (by NAICS code). Arranged by
broad category, then by industry group and line of business. Published
by RMA, a national organization of bank loan officers.
RMA surveys its membership to obtain sample financial statements
of businesses seeking bank financing. While this is a very detailed
source of composite financial information, RMA cautions that the figures
be viewed as general guidelines because of the limited samples within
industry categories. Top
of Page |
|
Annual Report on the United States Seafood Industry
REFERENCE HD9451 A558
Gives a broad overview of the seafood industry and supply and demand statistics. It covers world seafood supply, U.S. seafood supply, U.S. seafood trade, seafood processing, individual commodity supply, important economic indicators and consumer demand and attitudes.
Manufacturing
& Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Companies
Call No: REFERENCE
HD9721 M3495 (multiple
volume set in our reference collection)
Projections, historical trends, occupational data and leading companies
provided for over 200 industries. Includes NAICS coverage of manufacturing,
wholesale and retail.
Encyclopedia
of Emerging Industries
Call No: REFERENCE
HD2324 E528
Covers businesses and
broad sectors showing evidence of significant recent growth or
potential for exemplary growth in the near future. Discussion includes
industry snapshots, organization and structure, background and development,
pioneers in the field, current conditions, industry leaders, work force,
global market place for the industry, research and technology, and further
further reading that includes articles, books, government documents,
industry association reports, and Internet sites.
Encyclopedia
of Global Industries
Call No: REFERENCE
HD 2324 .E53
Provides the history,
development and current status of 115 of the most lucrative and high-profile
industries. Organized by industry, the narrative entries provide outlooks
and projections for the industry along with background and development,
research and technology and major countries and companies in the industry.
2008 U.S. Industry & Market Outlook
Call
No: REFERENCE HC101
U56 2008
Demographic data for over 100 major U.S. industries and
over 500 minor industries. provides most current estimates of the size
of the largest manufacturing, retail, wholesale and services industries
in the U.S.
Global Entertainment
and Media Outlook
Call
No: REFERENCE HF5439 M267 G66
Forecasts and economic
analysis of 13 industry segments prepared by PriceWaterhouse Coopers.
Trends
in the Conference Center Industry: A Statistical and Financial Profile
Call No: REFERENCE
TX911.2 T74
The...Entertainment,
Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook
Call No: REFERENCE
GV174 E58
Provides statistics and
data for assessment of the media and advertising market. Sections typically
include a market assessment and forecast, market leaders, market trends,
market distribution by advertising segment, integrated marketing
and advertising, consumer demographics, and much more.
Restaurant Industry Operations Report
REFERENCE TX909 A1 R47
This report is based on financial and operating data provided by members of the National Restaurant Association and members of various state restaurant associations. The data is presented by type of restaurant, location, sales volume, and menu theme, among other methods. Operating results are presented as amounts per restaurant seat and as ratios to total sales, the most common basis used in the industry.
Beverage Industry
Annual Manual
Call No: REFERENCE
HD 9348 U5 B48
Supplier, Product and
Operations Guides, Industry Reports and Association Listings.
Value Line Investment
Survey (on microfiche)
Provides ratings on
companies stock performance; historical trend data and projections for
stocks; and evaluation and analysis of industries and stocks.
Large cap from 1988 - last quarter. (in microfiche cabinets on
1st floor of library)
Small and mid cap from March 1995 - last quarter
"
"
2008 World Industry & Market Outlook
Call No: REFERENCE HC10 W69 2008
Demographic data for over 120 major global industries.
Provides current estimates of the size of the largest manufacturing,
retail, wholesale and services industries in the world.
Top
of Page
|
|
Industry Forecasts:
FirstResearch UW restricted
Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
Thomson Research (Investext) UW
restricted
Investment research featuring research reports written by top analysts at over 1,000 leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms worldwide. Nearly 4,000 new reports are added each business day
Plunkett
Research Online (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
An industry center providing market research, trends and analysis, industry
stats, profiles of industry-leading companies (both public and private),
industry associations, and company contact export features. In addition, Job Seeking/Careers information is given.
Standard & Poor's
NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat excel
analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and
more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
Forrester UW
restricted
Forrester is an independent research firm that analyzes the future of technology change
and its impact on businesses, consumers, and society and analyzes such
technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking,
telecommunications, and the Internet. Access is provided to some reports in
this database.
Hoover's
Online UW
restricted
For an industry analysis: First, pull up an industry record: search by
keyword for an industry or browse industries. Second, select Overview under Browse Industry Record in left frame.
Business Source Complete UW restricted
Under "Publication Type" select "Industry Profile" from drop
down menu.
Encyclopedia of American Industries (e-book version is UW
restricted )
(Also available in book format in reference collection on first floor of library.
Call No. HC102 E53)
Select: Business - View Publications
Select: Encyclopedia of American Industries
Government Sources:
Quarterly Business
Review from Washington Dept. of Revenue
The QBR publications contain standardized tables detailing gross business
income, taxable retail sales and accrued tax liability by major industry.
Beginning with 2005, the QBR tables were converted from SIC to NAICS codes. This
was an effort to move in line with national standards.
Industries at a Glance - U.S.
Dept. of Labor
http://stats.bls.gov/iag/iaghome.htm
Trade and Export Information
by Industry
http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/td_home/tdhome.html
Developed by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce's International Trade Administration
(ITA). Provides links to industries such as automotive affairs,
biotechnology, building materials, chemicals, forest products, energy,
industrial machinery, metals and pharmaceuticals, as well as consumer goods,
environmental technologies, service industries, finance, tourism, technology and
aerospace industries, textiles and apparel.
Economic Census
http://www.census.gov
The economic census is done by the U.S.
Commerce Dept. every 5 years (covers wholesale and retail trades, manufacturing,
information, arts, entertainment, recreation, accommodation and food services,
professional, scientific and technical services, education, health care, etc., for states,
MSAs, counties and places with 2,500 or more people). Uses
N.A.I.C. system, not SIC. Indexes by geographic area,subject, and
industry. Depending where you look, you may find financial and operating data in ratios,
materials consumed by kind (dollar value and quantity), expenditures on raw materials and
parts used in manufacturing, number of employees (can measure labor productivity), number
of establishments in a geographic area, detailed reports on special topics, ranking of
counties and places by total sales, types of merchandise sold by retail stores, selling
footage of stores, percentage of sales to customer categories, etc.
Other Search Strategies:
InfoTech
Trends UW
restricted
Market data from over 65 industry journals on peripherals, software, storage,
Internet, communications, etc. Covers revenue, shipment forecasts, market share,
usage, etc. Data is up to the most recent quarter, comes in table format, and can be
downloaded into Excel spreadsheets. Note: Information found
here may be useful for making projections (e.g., from market, revenue, costs,
etc.).
TableBase (On Campus Access Only) UW
restricted
TableBase specializes in tabular data on companies, industries, products and
demographics. It is international in scope, covers over 90 industries and
provides links to tables and articles from which the tables were
derived. Searchable by company name, country and region, SIC code, product
codes, industry, concept term (market share, ranking, forecasts, users,
costs, etc.),
marketing term (ad volume, sales, distribution channels, etc.). Note: Information found here may be useful for making projections (e.g., from sales,
users, costs, etc.).
Search for journal articles in databases such as:
Business Source Complete UW
restricted
Lexis-Nexis UW
restricted
Factiva UW
restricted
Search for newspaper articles UW
restricted databases
Policy Papers
Cover the issues,
legislation, policies, programs, industry perspective and stats. These reports are issued by various government agencies, commissions,
committees, and research services.
To access in Lexis-Nexis: UW
restricted
1) Select
"Guided News Search" (tab)
2) Select "General
News" from the drop down menu under "Step 1"
3) Then use the drop down menu
under "Step 2" to select "Policy Papers."
Note: You may need to keep your search
strategy simple such as wireless telecommunications or Internet or
biotechnology.
|