|
External links:
Ownership
Foreign
Exchange Rates
Industry
Research Guide
for surveys, ratios, and rankings
IPOs
|
Accounting & Finance Research Guide |
| |
|
|
General
Sources |
| |
Online
Sources
Barkley's Comprehensive
Financial Glossary
http://www.oasismanagement.com/glossary/
iFigure
http://www.ifigure.com/
Online calculators and worksheets to help plan, solve and make decisions
for many different situations and tasks, such as investing money, figuring
business profits, making statistical comparisons, calculating cost savings
of discounts, buying a house.
GeoInvest.com
http://www.geoinvest.com
A guide to investment concepts, as well as a good starting point for financial
news, research, and commentary.
Equity Analytics
http://www.eanalytics.com/
Provides a directory of information for government statistical releases,
earnings reports, stock splits and dividends, futures, options, commodities,
stocks, bonds, software reviews and a discounted bookstore.
Yahoo Finance &
Investment
http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Finance_and_Investment/
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
A-Z of International
Finance
Call No: REFERENCE HG 3880 M33
The essential guide to tools, terms & Techniques
The Blackwell Encyclopedic
Dictionary of Finance
Call No: REFERENCE HG 151 B49
Business Ratios
and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Call No: REFERENCE HF5691 B73
Coverage includes measurements for asset utilization, operating performance,
cash flow, liquidity, capital structure and solvency, return on investment,
market performance, accounting/finance department, engineering department,
logistics department, production department, sales and marketing department,
analysis with an electronic spreadsheet, and an appendix with a measurement
summary.
Encyclopedia of
Business and Finance
Call No: REFERENCE HF1001 E466
This two-volume encyclopedia provides information on major areas of business--accounting,
economics, finance, information systems, law, management and marketing--
and renders a variety of approaches to and perspectives about business.
Every
Investors Guide to Wall Street Words
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4513 S37
Tips and terms from the experts
A
Financial History of the United States
Call No: REFERENCE HG181 M297 2001 (in reference collection on first floor
of library)
The three volume set covers the U.S. financial time period 1492-2001.
See Also Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography in our
Reference Collection
Finance
& Investment Handbook
Call No: REFERENCE HG173 D66
FINWeb
http://www.finweb.com
Web links to economics and finance-related topics.
The
Handbook of International Financial Terms
Call No: REFERENCE HG 3881 M578
Handbook
of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
Call No: REFERENCE HC 106.8 047
Contains 284 indicators. Entries provide a brief description of each indicator,
an explanation of how it is derived or calculated, characterization of
how it is used, a table of sources that furnish values for the indicator,
indicates who publishes it, and gives a bibliography of works that give
more information about it.
International
Encyclopedia of the Stock Market
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4551 I528
International
Finance and Accounting Handbook
Call No: REFERENCE HF5686 I56 H36
The
New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance
Call No: REFERENCE HG 151 48
Includes 1,000+ essays arranged alphabetically. Divided into 3 volumes.
Top
of Page |
Accounting
and Tax |
|
Online
Sources
Databases
Business Source Complete
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.
Lexis-Nexis UW restricted
Covers accounting
literature such as AICPA publications, SEC Financial Reporting Release
(FRR), Miller GAAP and GAAS Guides, Miller European Accounting Guide,
OMB Literature, and more.
To access:
Select: Business
tab above. Then select Accounting from left frame. Select a source from
the drop down menu and search by keyword
To research tax
law (IRS Bulletin, tax regulations and more) in Lexis-Nexis:
Select:
Legal tab at top. Then select a source from the drop down menu or from
the left frame and search by keyword.
RIACheckpoint UW restricted
RIACheckpoint is an accounting and tax research database, which includes tax cases, codes and regulations, IRC publications and other tax documents and federal rulings and internal revenue bulletins. It also includes accounting standards and regulations from AICPA, FASB, GASB, IASB, PCAOB and the SEC reference library.
Oxford Reference Online for A Dictionary of Accounting UW restricted
Web Sites
AccountingNet
This site for accountants includes information on the CPA and CMA exams,
as well as links to regional CPA societies and news.
Accounting Terminology
Guide
http://www.nysscpa.org/prof_library/guide.htm
An accounting glossary from the New York State Society of CPA's.
American Accounting Association
http://aaahq.org
American
Institute of Certified Public Accountants
http://www.aicpa.org/default.aspx
Financial Accounting Standards Board
http://www.fasb.org
Access FASB Pronouncements:
Select "Pronouncements" in left frame or http://fasb.org/st/
Scroll to "View FASB Pronouncements"
They are arranged by topic. Keyword search box at top of page.
Institute of Management Accountants
http://www.imanet.org/
Includes information on CMA certification
International Accounting Standards Board
http://www.iasb.org/Home.htm
National
Association of State Boards of Accountancy
Provides a directory to state boards of accountancy, CPA exam schedule
and requirements and NASBA publications.
Washington Society of Certified Public Accountants (WACPA)
http://www.wscpa.org/wscpa/index.cfm
Washington State Board of Accountancy
http://www.cpaboard.wa.gov/
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
A Guide Through International Financial Reporting Standards (on order)
Accountants'
Handbook (2 vol.)
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5621 A22
Vol. 1: Financial Accounting and General Topics
Vol. 2: Special Industries and Special Topics
The
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5621 B54
FASB Original Pronouncements as Amended and Current Text
(Accounting Standards Orignal Pronouncements and Accounting Standards Current Text. A multiple volume set.)
Call No: REFERENCE HF5616 U5 A36
Miller
GAAS Guide
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5667 M55
A comprehensive restatement of standards for auditing, attestation, compilation
and review, and the Code of professional Conduct.
Treasurers
& Controllers Desk Book
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4027.3 G68
Contains procedural guidelines, helpful hints, and warnings of pitfalls
to avoid for financial executives. Published by the American Management
Association.
U.S. Master Tax Guide (on order)
Who
Audits America
Call No: REFERENCE HF5616 U5 W5
Includes a master company list with entries containing who audits the
companies, who used to audit them, stock exchange they're on, trading
symbol (if applicable), number of employees, assests (net, loss, sales),
fiscal year, headquarters location, codes for companies whose shares are
not traded. There are also listings for: auditors with a summary of sales
audited in $ millions; clients of all auditors nationwide listed by state;
"Big Four" audit firms and the companies they audit; non-Big
Four audit firms and the companies they audit.
Wiley
Not-for-Profit GAAP
Call No: REFERENCE HF5686 N56 W55
Interpretation and application of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
for not-for-profit organizations.
Top
of Page |
Banking |
|
Online
Sources
Federal
Reserve Districts and Banks
http://www.federalreserve.gov/otherfrb.htm
Federal Reserve Banking
Information
http://www.chicagofed.org/banking_information/index.cfm
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago provides access to banking data and reports,
regulations and publications.
Federal Reserve Economic
Research
http://www.chicagofed.org/economic_research_and_data/index.cfm
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago provides this database of federal reserve
economic research.
The World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/
International Monetary
Fund (IMF)
http://www.imf.org
Promotes international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly
exchange arrangements; fosters economic growth and high levels of employment;
provides temporary financial assistance to countries to ease balance of
payments adjustment.
Bank to International
Settlements
http://www.bis.org/cbanks.htm
Provides web links to Central Banks around the world.
Directory of Banks
on the Web
http://www.qualisteam.com/Banks/index.html
A banking and finance portal.
AAAdir
Searchable directory of world banks, credit unions and financial information
on the web.
American
Banker
Contains banking industry information, including bank statistics such
as ranking of the top 100 banks in the U.S. by asset and the top banks
in each state ranked by assets and deposits. Free registration required
for most data.
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Encyclopedia
of American Business History and Biography: Banking and Finance to 1913
Call No: REFERENCE HG2461 .B33 1990
Encyclopedia
of American Business History and Biography: Banking and Finance, 1913-1989
Call No: REFERENCE HG2481 .B325 1990
Thorndike
Encyclopedia of Banking and Financial Tables
Call No: REFERENCE HG1625 T492
Includes tables for Growth, Depletion, Saturation, Population Growth,
Inflation, Deflation, Amount at Growth, and Retirement Income. The tables
can be used to measure how populations grow, the increasing demand for
raw materials, the amount of remaining reserves, and to project price
inflation and deflation.
Top
of Page |
Bonds |
|
Online Sources
Mergent
Online UW restricted
Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of financial data for U.S.
and international public companies. Other information provided includes
business profiles, bond and equity portraits, histories, lists of subsidiaries,
company officers and directors. An archive section provides U.S. and international
public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged
out of existence from 1996. Full Annual Reports for several years are
integrated within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are
available through the EDGAR SEARCH module.
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage UW restricted
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat
excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic
insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
SIFMA
http://www.sifma.org/
The Securities Industry and Financial Market Association includes data
on the fixed income market.
Bonds Online
http://www.bondsonline.com
An aggregate of free information on bonds, Bonds Online provides current
bond news, pricing and other areas of interest to bond investors. Covers
U.S. corporate, municipal, mortgage-backed securities, and government
bonds. Areas such as market news and and bond prices are updated daily.
InvestingInBonds.com
http://investinginbonds.com
An educational site designed as a self-guided tutorial to learn about
investing in bonds. The site is maintained by The Bond Market Association.
There are separate sections on corporate and municipal bonds, mortgage-backed
securities, and US. Treasury securities. There is a Daily Report to look
up corporate and municipal bond trades from the previous trade day.
Savingsbonds.gov
http://www.savingsbonds.gov
The Bureau of Public Debt provides this site, giving latest information
on investing in U.S. Savings Bonds. Features a savings bond calculator,
current bond rates, explanation of products, how and why to buy bonds,
online resources, and upcoming auctions and historical information.
FRED
http://www.stls.frb.org/fred/
A Federal Reserve Economic Time-Series Database that provides historical
U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates,
monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments
and regional economic data for Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky,
Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee.
Economic
Report of the President
http://www.access.gpo.gov/eop/index.html
Includes Bond Yields & Interest Rates.
World Almanac Book
of Facts
Can be found in LexisNexis
online database UW restricted
- Select: Power Search
tab above
- Select: World Almanac
from drop down source menu
- Search term: corporate
bonds
- Results: 15 year archive
for Treasury 30-year bonds; New Aa corporate bonds; New Aa municipal
bonds \
Print Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Moodys
Bond Register (renamed Mergent Bond Register)
Foster Library on UW Seattle campus and the Bellevue Public Library hold
this for current and some prior years.
Statistical
Abstracts of the United States
Call No: REFERENCE HA 202 U56 and an abridged web version at http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Collection of statistics in table format for a wide range of economic
indicators, including bond and stock dividend yields, money market interest
rates and mortgage rates.
Wall
Street Journal
Corporate Bonds may be listed on the NYSE, AMEX or over the counter.
Bond quotes, changes in bond ratings and interest rates (corporate, municipal,
U.S. Government and foreign exchange) are listed in the The Wall Street
Journal. The Bothell/Cascadia Campus Library keeps current editions of
the WSJ until microfilm arrives. Then the Western Edition of the WSJ is
on Microfilm (BOT 110) from 1985- . MicNews on the UW Seattle Campus has
on Microfilm ( A3910) the Eastern Edition from 1889- (with some gaps 1889-1892).
Top
of Page
|
Consumer
Information |
|
Online
Sources
Bankrate.com
http://www.bankrate.com/brm/default.asp
Bankrate.com posts what it found to be the lowest rates offered by lenders
and the highest rates offered on savings. Every weekday night updates
are done to its database of interest rates from 4,000 institutions across
the country. Institutions are surveyed on a rolling basis throughout the
week, so these rates represent a leading indicator of what's going on
in the marketplace.
They Find-It!
Consumer Washington
http://finditconsumer.wa.gov/
The Find-It! Consumer web site is a collaborative effort of state organization
sponsors and library staff to make useful, quality consumer information
easily available to the public. Find-It! Consumer is a web site search
engine for "one stop consumer help". It provides a single stop
for searching more than 100 consumer protection and public safety web
sites. Through Find-It! Consumer users can find: Solutions to consumer
complaints, information on consumer safety, and ways to protect against
consumer fraud.
Martindale Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/Calculators1A_1_Finance.html
Links to web centers with information and calculators for home, auto,
credit cards, retirement, insurance, investing, and salary and benefits.
Investor Protection
Trust
http://www.investorprotection.org/
The Investor Protection Trust provides independent, objective information
needed by consumers to make informed investment decisions. They have links
to Checking Out a Broker, Getting Started Investing, Resolving Disputes
With a Financial Professional, Making a Complaint, and Avoiding Scams.
Safeshopping.org
http://www.safeshopping.org/
An informational site created by the American Bar Association to help
consumers order safely online.
Tax Center at Banks.com
http://www.banks.com/taxes/
TaxWeb is the Internet's first consumer-oriented source for federal, state
and local tax-related developments. They provide answers to general tax
questions, plus hyperlinks to current federal and state-sponsored tax
sites that allow you to conduct more detailed tax research.
U.S. Consumer Gateway
http://www.consumer.gov/
A federal consumer information center with links to information from various
federal agencies.
Top
of Page |
Financial
Information: Analyzing and Using |
|
Print Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Understanding
and Using Financial Data
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5686 L35 U53
An Ernst & Young Guide for attorneys. Tells you where to find financial
operations information on an entity, as well as how to compare it to the
information given by other companies in the same industry or geographic
location, and how to corroborate the information in the basic statements.
How
to Analyze Businesses, Financial Statements and the Quality of Earnings
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5681 B2 S4875
Besides covering the FASB Statements, the book incorporates Statements
on Auditing Standards applicable to the audit report.
The
Analysis and use of Financial Statements
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5681 B2 W4678
Financial statement analysis from the point of view of the primary users
of financial statements: equity and credit analysts; however, managers,
auditors, educators and regulators can also benefit from the insights
and analytic techniques presented here.
Investors
Guide to Technical Analysis
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4521 G53
Geared toward the private investor and the market student. Covers in detail
the basic concepts, giving an understanding of the psychology of markets
and a grasp of the methods used to interpret them. Technical analysis
is the analysis of price behavior in financial markets, as against the
analysis of underlying assets represented by that price.
Top
of Page |
Industry
Information
|
|
Online
Sources
FDIC
http://www.fdic.gov
The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation gives reports on the banking
industry as a whole (statistical, analytical and historical). There is
also a searchable databases to find institutions and their branches to
determine their status as insured depository institutions, their financial
condition and their condition relative to other institutions. The databases
may also contain other financial and non-financial information about individual
financial institutions as well as certain aggregate financial statistics
for comparative use.
PriceWaterhouse
Coopers (PwC)
* Some industry
information is available free such as on Banking & Capital Markets,
as well as Financial Services
(Select the Industry Sectors tab on opening page).
* Other publications are downloadable free such as Financial Services
Bulletin and Financial Services Survey
http://www.pwc.com/extweb/industry.nsf/docid/7C7AEFB164213A8685256AEA0061F195
(or click on Industry Sectors tab on PwC home page and then select "What's
New in the Financial Services Industry" in the left frame, or search
for the publications in the keyword search box),
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
FDIC
Statistics on Banking
Call No: REFERENCE HG 2401 S76
A statistical profile of the United States banking industry. Detailed
data on bank industry performance during given time period. Focus is data
about FDIC-insured depository institutions.
Top
of Page |
Investing |
| |
Online Sources:
Mergent's
Dividend Achievers UW restricted
Available through Wiley Interscience Journals. (Note: The page may take
awhile to load)
Streetnet Online Investors
Guide
http://www.streetnet.com
Provides investment information such as stock quotes and earnings estimates,
as well as numerous links to useful financial web sites, such as SEC filings
and interest rates. Also lists newsgroups for investors and a small number
of company home pages with annual reports.
Reuters Investor
http://www.investor.reuters.com/Home.aspx
Gives company profile, plus comparison ratios, performance, financials,
earnings estimates, price charts, news, quotes, DRIP, and insider trading.
Big Charts
http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/
Allows custom charts to be drawn according to different indicators. Also
provides company profiles, stock quotes, SEC filings, best and worst performing
stocks in an industry, analyst estimates, overall market and indices summary.
BradyNet
http://www.bradynet.com
Emerging market fixed-income information such as prices, ratings, forfaiting,
news, etc.
Mergent
Online UW restricted
Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of financial data for U.S.
and international public companies. Other information provided includes
business profiles, histories, lists of subsidiaries, company officers
and directors. An archive section provides U.S. and international public
companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out
of existence from 1996. Full Annual Reports for several years are integrated
within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are available through
the EDGAR SEARCH module.
Hoover's
Online UW restricted
Under Pro Tools: select Stock Screener to search for stocks in over 20
categories, including growth stocks, value stocks, and high-yield stocks
or by industry or stock exchanges, company size, rate of return, growth
rates, ratios, or margins.
Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
Analyst reports and forecasts prepared by international brokers, investment
banks, and trade associations on over 11,000 U.S. and international companies
and 83 industries. Also contains Wall Street Transcripts of interviews
with market leaders.
Mutual Fund Connection
http://www.ici.org
Links to mutual funds and information about mutual funds by the Investment
Company Institute as part of its efforts to enhance public understanding
of the investment company industry.
Securities Industry
Association
http://www.siaonline.org/
Provides information on key issues, survey results, research reports,
conferences and upcoming events for the securities industry.
Berkshire Hathaway
Inc.: Shareholder Letters
http://www.berkshirehathaway.com/letters/letters.html
This site contains CEO Warren Buffett's annual letters to the shareholders
of the Berkshire Hathaway company, going back to 1977.
Print Sources:
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
World Investment Report:
Trends and Determinants
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4538 W67
Also available online from United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
Provides analysis of trends in foreign direct investment and international
production by transnational corporations, and notes major regulatory changes
at the national and international levels. Gives a breakdown of regional
FDI trends, and examines specific issues related to the role and impact
of foreign direct investment in various parts of the world. Reviews factors
that determine flows of foreign direct investment to host countries and
the evolving nature of those determinants.
Value Line Investment Survey
(on microfiche)
Provides ratings on companies stock performance; historical trend data
and projections for stocks; and evaluation and analysis of industries
and stocks.
Large cap from 1988 - last quarter. (in microfiche cabinets on 1st floor
of library)
Small and mid cap from March 1995 - last quarter
The
Micropal Guide to Offshore Investment Funds
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4538 M53
Statistical and practical information on over 5,000 offshore investment
funds. Contains info on offshore investment in collective investment vehicles
such as unit trusts, mutual funds or closed ended funds that are tax havens
and offer added wealth protection and fewer investment restrictions.
Morningstar
Mutual Fund 500
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4530 M664. Prior editions
are in the stacks.
Guide to 500 quality mutual funds selected by the editors of Morningstar.
Also gives investment guidelines such as questions to ask before buying
a fund, portfolio pitfalls, knowing when to sell, balancing portfolios,
and tax-efficient investing.
Directory of Dividend Reinvestment
Plans
REFERENCE HG 4028 D5 S73
101
Years on Wall Street: An Investors Almanac
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4572 B74
Summaries of bull and bear markets since 1890, yearly retrospects, statistical
analyses, winners and losers, financial scandals and crises, and more.
Handbook
of Fixed Income Securities
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4551 H265
Covers a wide range of fixed income products and fixed income portfolio
management strategies.
Stock Projections:
Yahoo
Finance
Use keyword search box to retrieve a stock quote for your company. In
the table that appears, there should be a 1 year Target Estimate (1y Target
Est).
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage UW restricted
Search for a Company Profile for your company. Then, from the left frame,
select the following reports:
- Estimates & Opinions
- Stock Report
Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
Reports and forecasts prepared by international brokers, investment banks,
and trade associations on over 11,000 U.S. and international companies
and 83 industries. Price targets are included in some company reports
such as from PriceTarget Research.
SEC
Reports (Where to find them and information about them)
Top
of Page |
Market
Data (Current and Historical) |
|
Current and Historical:
Online
Sources
Financial Web
http://www.financialweb.com
Provides web links for quotes, charts, news, earnings, mutual funds, annual
reports, SEC filings, IPOs, historical stock market information and more.
Some areas may require logon or fee.
Holt Stock Report
http://metro.turnpike.net/holt/index.html
Gives daily stock reports, most actively traded stocks, and activity on
indices. Archives for 4 or 5 years.
Credit Care Center
http://www.creditcarecenter.com/learning%20center/investment_learning_center.htm
Investment FAQs (an investment learning tool), financial statements, ratios,
analysis, earnings, charts, stock reports.
Note: top institutional holders can also be obtained from a company
profile in Yahoo. 1) Select: Stock Quotes. 2) Obtain a stock quote for
a company 3) Select: Profile.
Global
Financial Data UW restricted
Global Financial Data is a collection of financial and economic data,
which includes: long-term historical indices on stock markets; Total Return
data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation
rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices;
gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indices; treasury bill
yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates covering over
200 countries.
Factiva
UW restricted
Provides daily prices for 2 years for stocks, funds, currencies and market
indexes
Provides weekly and monthly prices for 5 years for stocks, funds, currencies
and market indexes
Select tab at top of screen: Company/Markets
Options are current and historical stock quote data, as well as tabs at
top of screen for Charting and Company (i.e., company profile)
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Value
Line Investment Survey (on microfiche)
Provides ratings on companies stock performance; historical trend data
and projections for stocks; and evaluation and analysis of industries
and stocks.
Large cap from 1988 - last quarter. (in microfiche cabinets on 1st floor
of library)
Small and mid cap from March 1995 - last quarter " "
Wall Street Journal
(current and back issues maintained in print and/or microfilm)
Note: the online version will not provide this historical information
New York Times
(current and back issues maintained in print and/or microfilm)
Note: the online version will not provide this historical information
Daily
Stock Price Record: NYSE
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4915 I23 (Library Use
Only)
Multiple volume set by S&P covering 1977-1994 and 2003-04
Also on Microfiche BOT-10 covering 1994-2002 (1999 incomplete)
Daily
Stock Price Record: ASE
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4915 i22 (Library Use
Only)
Multiple volume set by S&P covering 1977-1994 and 2003-04
Also on Microfiche BOT-8 covering1994-2002
Daily
Stock Price Record: NASDAQ
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4915 I24 (Library Use
Only)
Multiple volume set by S&P covering 1977-1994 and 2003-2004
Also On Microfiche BOT-9 covering 1994 - 2002
Factbooks,
Encyclopedias and Reports (may also include market price archives):
Online
Sources
Economic
Report of the President
http://www.access.gpo.gov/eop/index.html
In addition to an economic analysis on a wide range of domestic and international
economic policy issues with long-term and near-term growth projections,
there are statistical tables often covering 40 years or more relating
to income, employment and production. Categories include: National Income
and Expenditures; Population, Employment, Wages and Productivity; Production
and Business Activity; Consumer and Producer Price Indexes; Money,
Stock, Credit and Finance (including Bond Yields & Interest Rates,
NY Stock Exchange Indexes, Dow Jones Industrial Average, S&P Index,
Common Stock Yields and more); Government Finance; Corporate Profits
and Finance; Agriculture; and International Statistics.
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
American Stock
Exchange Fact Book
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4575.1 A43
Highlights of the previous year on the AMEX, including company trading
statistics.
Emerging
Stock Markets Factbook
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4551 E43
Source of information on financial markets in the developing world.
International
Encyclopedia of the Stock Market
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4551 I528
New
York Stock Exchange Fact Book
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4571 N4
NYSE activity, stock price trends, listed companies, stock transactions
in the U.S. between U.S. and foreign investors, NYSE fixed-income markets,
institutional investors and more.
World
Stock Exchange Fact Book
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4551 W657
Contains historical market data from over 45 stock exchanges. Gives market
capitalization, sector profiles, share trading, market growth, market
indicators, monthly values, and most traded stocks. Also provides an understanding
of structure, rules and practices of markets by giving info on settlement
details, commissions, taxes, investor protection, regulations for foreign
investors, and listing and disclosure requirements.
World
Market Information:
Stock Price Charts
World Wide
http://www.bloomberg.com/markets/index.html?Intro=intro_markets
World Stock Exchanges
http://quotes.nasdaq.com/asp/globalMarkets.asp
http://www.internationalist.com/business/Stocks.html
Futures, Options, Commodities:
Online
Sources
Futures & Options
Exchanges
http://www.numa.com/ref/exchange.htm
Chicago Mercantile
Exchange
http://www.cme.com/
Daily settlement prices of all CME futures and options, estimated volume
and open interest are available.
Commodity
Futures Trading Commission
http://www.cftc.gov
Federal regulatory agency for futures trading
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
CRB
Commodity Yearbook
Call No: REFERENCE HF 1041 C56
For major commodities, supplies data such as world production; supply
and distribution in the U.S. by state and by weight; sales prices; per
capita consumption; import and export values; volume of trading and where
traded. Also gives Bridge/CRB Indices and the commodity price trend for
energy, grains, livestock, precious metals and softs.
Top
of Page |
News:
a selection of finance News sites |
|
Wall Street Journal
http://online.wsj.com/public/us
Boston GlobeBusiness
Section
http://www.boston.com/business/?p1=GN_Business
CNNthe Financial
Network
http://money.cnn.com/index.html
Investors Business
Daily
http://www.investors.com/
Seattle Times
http://www.seattletimes.com/news/business
Top
of Page |
Risk
Management |
|
Online
Sources
IFCI
Risk Watch (web link may not be working)
http://risk.ifci.ch/index.htm
The International Finance and Commodities Institute's Guide to Regulation
and Control of Financial Risk. Includes regulatory documents on international
finance, key risk concepts, glossary of risk management terms, risk management
case studies, a forum for document discussion, and links to other web
sites relevant to risk.
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Dictionary of Financial
Risk Management
Call no: REFERENCE HG 151 G37
Designed for professional financial analysts and financial managers.
Value
Line Investment Survey (on microfiche)
Provides ratings on companies stock performance; historical trend data
and projections for stocks; and evaluation and analysis of industries
and stocks. Contains beta values for over 1,500 companies.
Large cap from 1988 - last quarter. (in microfiche cabinets on 1st floor
of library)
Small and mid cap from March 1995 - last quarter " "
Top
of Page |
Venture
Capital |
|
Online
Sources
National
Venture Capital Association
http://www.nvca.org/
Association events, VC industry statistics and legislative alerts.
Red
Herring
http://www.redherring.com
Technology business news and events, including Investor and IPO news,
VC & startups.
Venture
Capital Finance Directory
http://www.vfinance.com/
vFinance.com contains venture capital directories and related services,
including a downloadable business plan template.
Search
Business
Source Complete (periodical database) UW restricted
using subjects such as:
venture capital, venture capital companies, startups, risk capital
Search
Thomson Rsearch(online database). UW restricted
Select "All Industries"
Under "Report Title" enter venture.
Search
Journal of Business Venturing
in Factiva
or Business
Source Complete UW restricted databases
Note: Full text available from Science
Direct 1995-present. UW restricted
Print
Sources
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Pratt's
Guide to Venture Capital Sources
Call No: REFERENCE HG65 R8
Provides a background for venture capital, relays how to raise venture
capital, discusses sources for business development financing, and contains
a directory of U.S. and non-U.S. venture capital firms.
The
Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms
Call No: REFERENCE HG4751 F582
This directory Includes brief profiles and mission statements for 2,323
domestic and international venture capital & private equity firms.
The profiles provide useful statistics such as industry group preferences,
average investment, portfolio companies, investment criteria and key executives.
The directory contains five indexes: - College/University (for venture
capital executives) - Executive (listing by key personnel) - Geographic
(by state for domestic listings and by country for international listings)
-Industry Preference (industry segments and names of firms invested in
them) - Portfolio Companies (listing of companies that received venture
capital from a listed firm).
|