Business

 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 


  1. Use the UW Libraries Online Catalog (WEBPAC) to search for books regarding the environment.

Use subjects such as:

Business enterprises—environmental aspects
Industrial management—environmental aspects
International business enterprises—environmental aspects
Industries—U.S.—environmental aspects
Economic development—environmental aspects
Pollution – economic aspects
Environmental economics
Environmental policy
Environmental law
Sustainable development
Industries—social aspects
Social responsibility of business
Green marketing
Hazardous substances -- Handbooks, manuals, etc

Use keywords (words that appear in the title, author, subject or notes fields of the item record). Try to think of alternative words to use. Also, consider using narrower or broader words.

Use an asterisk * to search for all words with the same root word
(e.g., environ* searches for environment, environmental, environments)

  1. Search for articles in newspapers and magazines and journals  UW restricted databases
     

Use Words that appear in articles (not subjects—unless the database allows subject searching) . Be creative in finding synonyms to use in your search strategy.

Example: waste or refuse or garbage or landfill
(Result: Finds documents with any one or more of these terms.)

Use Connectors:

AND used to narrow a search. Finds documents with both terms.

Example: business and pollution
(finds documents with "business" and "pollution")

OR        used to broaden a search. Finds documents with any one or more terms.

Example: legislation or laws or regulations or rules
(finds documents with one or more of these terms)

Use Parenthesis (to group words together for a more complete search):

Example: global and (warming or change)
(finds documents with "global" and "warming" OR "global" and "change")

  1. Additional environment-related databases you may want to search:    UW restricted databases

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts
Biology, ecology, fisheries, oceanography, pollution, biotechnology, marine technology, engineering, marine methodology, and climatology and nonliving resources such as oil, gas, minerals, chemicals.

Biosis
Biological Abstracts—life sciences (ecology, zoology, botany, biotechnology, microbiology and medicine)

DOE (Dept. of Energy)

Geobase
Global literature in earth sciences, ecology, geography and marine sciences

GreenFILE
GreenFILE
offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.  

Social Sciences in Forestry
Subjects include legislation, policy, planning, management, economic development, etc., applied to general forestry, forest management, forest industry, forest goods and services.

TREECD
Ecology and management of forests

U.S. EPA

Water Resources Abstracts
Covers development, management and research of water resources.

  1. Try using some reference sources such as:

    Oxford Reference Online 
    UW restricted


    Gale Virtual Reference 
    UW restricted


    Blackwell's Concise Encyclopedia of Environmental Management
    Book in Reference collection on first floor of  UWB Library.  Call Number: GE300 B54

The Encyclopedia of Ecology & Environmental Management
Book in Reference collection on first floor of  UWB Library. Call Number:   GE 300 E53

Environmental Law Handbook
 Book in Reference collection on first floor of  UWB Library. Call Number:  KF 3775 E473

Gale Environmental Sourcebook
 Book in Reference collection on first floor of  UWB Library. Call Number:  TD 169.6 G3
A guide to organizations, agencies and publications.

Great Events From History: Ecology and the Environment Series
 Book in Reference collection on first floor of  UWB Library. Call Number:  GE 150 G72
(5 volume set covering 1902 – 1994)

Rapid Guide to Hazardous Chemicals in the Environment
 Book in Reference collection on first floor of  UWB Library. Call Number: T 55.3 H3 P645

  1. A selection of Internet sites to try:       

    Environmental Web Resources
    http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/Environment/web.html
    Compiled by UW Libraries

    Electronic Journals on the Environment
    http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/Environment/dr/eljnl.html
    Some of these e-journals are UW restricted. The list was compiled by UW Libraries.

Green Business Directory
http://www.metrokc.gov/hazwaste/greenbiz/
Consumers' guide to environmentally sound business. Lists businesses and organizations in the Puget Sound region that are committed to protecting our environment.

Greenwire
The daily executive briefing on the environment published by the American Political Network. Coverage includes the Environmental Protection Agency and other federal and state agencies, as well as Congressional, domestic and foreign environmental news and activity.  
Full text available from Environment & Energy Publishing; UW restricted
Full text available from Factiva; UW Restricted

 

NCSE National Library for the Environment
http://www.cnie.org/nle/crs_main.html
Gives access to Congressional Research Services Reports related to the environment that are prepared for U.S. Congress. Searchable by topic, report title or keyword.

Environment and Natural Resources Division
http://www.usdoj.gov/enrd
Includes oversight of litigation concerning protection, use and development of U.S. natural resources and public lands, wildlife protection, Indian rights and claims, cleanup of  hazardous waste sites in the U.S., acquiring private property for federal use, and defending challenged government environmental programs and activities.

Bureau of Land Management
http://www.blm.gov
Administers
264 million acres of America's public lands, located mainly in 12 Western States, and helps preserve these lands for future generations.

Bureau of Reclamation
http://www.usbr.gov/main/index.html
Manages water resources west of the Mississippi River, including hydroelectric power generator and plants, storage dams and reservoirs.

Office of Environment, Safety and Health
http://www.eh.doe.gov
Advocates for excellence in programs to protect the environment and the health and safety of workers at the DOE facilities and the public.


 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu
URL: http://library.uwb.edu/guides/BusWeb/BusWebEnvironment.htm        
Last Updated 06/23/2008