General Sources (for background information)
Handbooks in
Economics -
UW restricted
Elsevier Science presents the full text of handbooks on economics. The topics of
the books include development economics, income distribution, international
economics, labor economics, macroeconomics, monetary economics, public
economics, regional and urban economics, and health economics
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History (5 vols.)
REFERENCE HC15 094
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics UW restricted
Handbook of United States Economic and
Financial Indicators
REFERENCE HC 106.8 047
Contains 284 indicators. Entries provide a brief description of each indicator,
an explanation of how it is derived or calculated, characterization of how it is
used, a table of sources that furnish values for the indicator,
indicates who publishes it, and gives a bibliography of works that give
more information about it.
EconLit
UW Restricted
Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's
economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collected volumes) compiled from
the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of
economic articles in journals and collective volumes.
Conference Board
Business Knowledge Research
UW Restricted
This is a searchable database of full-text research reports on some of the
latest issues in business and economics. Economics material includes U.S.
and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national,
and international economic conditions.
Source OECD UW Restricted
Covers economic and social issues for OECD member countries. For data,
select from left frame such as OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Economic
Outlook and choose a country.
Also Search
Newspapers and
Journals for articles related to economic issues in
UW Restricted Databases
Department of Labor
http://www.dol.gov
Bureau of International Labor Affairs
http://www.dol.gov/ilab/welcome.html
Employment Standards Administration
http://www.dol.gov/dol/esa
Wage and Hour Division
http://www.dol.gov/dol/esa/public/whd_org.htm
Monthly Labor Review
http://www.bls.gov/opub/mlr/mlrhome.htm
Has articles and monthly statistics section on employment and earnings. Gives less detail
but a longer range of years than Employment and Earnings.
Bureau of Labor & Statistics
http://www.bls.gov
Statistical information on employment, unemployment, prices and living conditions. Also
has an ftp site of historical data.
Access Washington
http://access.wa.gov
The official Washington State web page for information on starting a business in
the state, as well as in-state employment, government, education and recreation.
Workforce Explorer: Washington's Labor Market Information
http://www.workforceexplorer.com/
Salary.com
http://salary.com
Gives salary information for various job titles by zip code or state/metro area.
Also provides advice on negotiating for a compensation package, salary news,
plus links to government wage sites, salary surveys, and trade associations.
AFLCIO
http://www.aflcio.org/cgi-bin/aflcio.pl
CEO pay data for the companies in the Standard & Poor's Super 1,500 Index . There is
also a section on how to track down executive pay by using Proxy Statements with a link to
them.
FreeErisa.Com
http://www.freeerisa.com/
Pension and benefit information for U.S. employers. View or download copies of
employers most recent 5500 form as filed with U.S. Dept. of Labor.
Office of Small Business Programs
http://www.dol.gov/osbp/welcome.htm
Women's Bureau
http://www.dol.gov/wb/welcome.html
Conference
Board Business Knowledge Research UW restricted
This is a searchable database of full-text research reports on some of the
latest issues in business and economics. Economics material includes U.S.
and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional,
national, and international economic conditions.
CBS Market Watch
http://cbs.marketwatch.com/news/economy/
In addition to market information, there is an economy and politics area with
commentary and projections. Note: Registration required to access
archives.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred/
See their Publications for economic projections.
Economic Policy Institute
http://www.epinet.org/
EPI conducts original research on economic issues, makes policy
recommendations based on its findings, and disseminates its work to appropriate
audiences.
Washington State Office of the Forecast Council
http://www.erfc.wa.gov/
The Seattle Times
http://www.seattletimes.com/
Also available through Washington State
Newsstand
Search "Economic Forecast" in The Seattle Times.
Bureau of
Economic Analysis
U.S. Department of Commerce provides GDP, industry data,
international trade and investment data, regional estimates by state, state
personal income and regional multipliers. BEA's economic statistics give
an up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy and its position in the world economy.
Conference
Board Business Knowledge Research UW restricted
This is a searchable database of full-text research reports on some of the
latest issues in business and economics. Economics material includes U.S.
and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional,
national, and international economic conditions.
EconData.Net
www.econdata.net
A portal for state and local socioeconomic statistics. The data is derived from the Census
Bureau, Bureau of labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and other federal, sate,
local and private sources. Browse by data provider or by topic.
Economic Policy Institute
http://www.epinet.org/
Provides its research findings on living standards/labor markets, government and
the economy, globalization and trade, politics and public opinion, and
sustainable economics. Also, includes links to economic indicators, wage
and income trends, and unemployment insurance calculator.
Economic Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html
Provides links to economic indicators from U.S. government federal
agencies. The information is updated by each agency and is the latest
available. Includes, for example, GDP, personal savings rate, personal
consumption expenditures, disposable income, per capita income, household
income, unemployment rates, employment cost index, consumer price index,
producer price index, interest rates and US commodity imports and exports.
FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov
Gateway to federal statistics-producing agencies. Browse by statistical program
(demographic, economic, labor, health, crime, etc.) or view a directory of federal
agencies and the statistics they produce. There is an alphabetical index as well as
a search engine that allows searching a single agency or across all statistics-producing
agencies.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
http://www.stls.frb.org/fred/
Developed by St. Louis Federal Reserve District. Provides historical U.S. economic
and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators,
exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.
Leading Economic Indicators (LEI) and Related Composites
http://www.globalindicators.org/index.cfm
Files and tables for GNP, GDP, PPI, and leading, lagging, and coincident business cycle
indicators. Most series have backfiles to at least the 1940's. Series are indexes or given
in constant dollars. Also has news releases that give primary info on composite
leading index and its components.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
http://www.bea.doc.gov
Prepares estimates of national, international and regional aspects of the U.S. Economy.
Also provides access to their publication Survey of Current Business.
Economic Report of the President
http://www.access.gpo.gov/eop/index.html
In addition to an economic analysis on a wide range of domestic and international economic
policy issues with long-term and near-term growth projections, there are statistical
tables often covering 40 years or more relating to income, employment and production.
Categories include: National Income and Expenditures; Population, Employment, Wages
and Productivity; Production and Business Activity; Consumer and Producer Price Indexes;
Money, Stock, Credit and Finance (including Bond Yields & Interest Rates, NY Stock
Exchange Indexes, Dow Jones Industrial Average, S&P Index, Common Stock
Yields and
more); Government Finance; Corporate Profits and Finance; Agriculture; and International
Statistics.
Policy Papers covering the issues, legislation, policies, programs,
industry perspective and stats can be found in Lexis-Nexis.
These reports are issued by various government agencies, commissions,
committees, and research services. You may need to keep your search
strategy simple.
To access in Lexis-Nexis, select "Sources" tab above.
In "Find a Source" box, type "Policy Papers." Click "Go."
Select (check mark) "Policy Papers," and then Click on "Ok Continue."
You can then type key words to search within the policy papers.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
REFERENCE HA 202 U56 and web site with abridged version:
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/
Collection of statistics in table format for a wide range of economic indicators.
Survey of Current Business
http://www.bea.doc.gov/bea/pubs.htm
Monthly and quarterly cyclical indicators. Cover areas such as personal income,
industrial productivity, business sales and inventories, commodity prices, producer
prices, labor force, and earnings.
Tax History Museum
http://www.tax.org/museum/default.htm
By Tax Analysts, an online museum covering American tax history from 1660 to the
present--with documents, portraits of key figures, illustrations and, eventually, sound
clips of tax-related speeches for the last 100 years.
Treasury Bulletin
http://www.fms.treas.gov/bulletin/index.html
Federal fiscal operations includes federal debt, bonds, notes, market yield, and other
federal financial oblications. Provides major foreign currencies, along with a profile of
the domestic economy, including growth of GDP, federal deficit, and rate of personal
savings.
International
Economic Conditions
Conference Board
Business Knowledge Research UW restricted
This is a searchable database of full-text research reports on some of the
latest issues in business and economics. Economics material includes U.S.
and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national,
and international economic conditions.
Global Financial Data
http://www.globalfindata.com/
Collection of historical global financial data from the years 1264 to 2000. Several
free series, including Stock Markets since 1693, Interest rates since 1700,
Inflation Rates since 1264, Commodity Prices since 1257, Exchange Rates since 1800, Total
Returns (stocks, bonds & bills) since 1800, and Federal income Tax Rates since
1914.. Also has financial links from around the world.
International Database
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idbnew.html
Resource for demographics and socioeconomic statistics on 227 countries and dependencies.
Information is from the Census Brueau, United Nations, and other international statistical
agencies.
World Development Indicators
http://www.worldbank.org/data/countrydata/countrydata.html
Country profiles that offer country-by-country summaries of economic trends.
|
Guide
Developed by: |