|
Company
Research Guide |
| |
|
|
| |
|
External
links: |
Ratio
comparisons: Company/industry |
Pacific
NW Companies |
Management
Information: general sources |
| |
Annual
Reports (Corporate) -- Where to find them |
Mergent
Online UW restricted
Full Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC
SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR
SEARCH module.
Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
Select: Business tab above. Then select: SEC Filings from left frame.
From the "Select Sources" drop down menu, select the reports
wanted such as 10-K, 20F Annual Report.
Current
Annual Reports are usually available from Company web pages
Backfiles are available from Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted.
To access:
Select: Business tab above. Select: Company Profiles from left frame.
Then select sources wanted from drop down menu, e.g., Annual Reports-Corporate
1984-1995; or Annual Reports 1972-1984
Top
of Page
|
Associations |
Contact
trade associations for industry and company information.
They may provide the information you need or be able to refer you.
Trade
Associations:
Associations
Unlimited UW restricted
Contains information for approximately 23,000 U.S. national nonprofit
membership associations in all fields. Features full contact information,
description, SIC codes, meetings and publications information, and more.
Searchable by name, subject, keyword, location, SIC codes or SIC descriptions.
Associations
on the Net
The
Directory of Business Information Resources
(Book in Reference Collection on 1st Floor of Library. Call No: HD2425
D46)
Contains for 98 industries: associations, newsletters, magazines &
journals, trade show, directories & databases, web sites.
FirstResearch UW restricted
Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
Idealist
Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
http://www.idealist.org/
Union
of International Associations
International organizations selected from the Yearbook of International
Organizations
YahooOrganizations
http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Organizations
Trade
Shows:
bizTradeShows
A directory of trade fairs and business events provides coverage of
exhibitions, trade shows & expositions, conferences and seminars
for various industries worldwide.
EventsEye
Free Web Source dedicated to key Exhibitions & Trade Shows Worldwide.
This database features Trade Shows, Exhibitions, Conferences and Business
Events Worldwide
Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
To determine which companies manage trade shows:
Select:: Sources tab above. Then select: Find Sources tab above
Type "directories" in keyword search box
Select: US Business Directories from the list
Click "Ok Continue" button in upper right of screen
In Search Terms box, type: trade shows. You can also AND this with your
topic.
The
Directory of Business Information Resources
(Book in Reference Collection on 1st Floor of Library. Call No: HD2425
D46)
Contains for 98 industries: associations, newsletters, magazines &
journals, trade shows, directories & databases, web sites.
Top
of Page
|
Buyers
Guides |
| Need
to find a new product or a supplier for a product or a component? Need
to locate or search by trade names?
-Try
Buyers Guides on the Internet, but remember that they may be biased
since suppliers need to provide their information for the portals; some
portals require the supplier to pay for the entry, while some are free
and some solicit the listings.
-Use a web search engine to search for "buyers guide" and
your industry (e.g., energy).
-Look for special issues of a magazine in the subject area.
-Check trade association web sites to see what they offer.
-Kompass UW
restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies,
products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries.
-Thomas Register of American
Manufacturers
An online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in
North America where you can submit RFQs, place orders online, viewand
download Computer Aided Design (CAD) drawings, and view thousands of
online company catalogs and websites. Search by company, product or
brand name from over 72,000 product headings and over 170,000 company
listings.
-PetroPages.com Buyers Guide
An online buyers guide available free to buyers and engineers in the
energy and process industries. Searchable by product, supplier name,
or all of PetroPages. Suppliers can also be found via its hierarchical
5,000-product system
-Convenience
Store News Buyer's Guide
Browse by categories--from fuel dispensers to food services to consultants.
-See also Products
and Services--Lines of Business section of the Business Web Page.
Top
of Page |
Companies--Finding Specific
Types (e.g., oil pump companies) |
Reference
USA UW restricted
http://www.referenceusa.com
Search by SIC code or by type of business (produces SIC codes and descriptions
from which to select).
Lexis
Nexis UW restricted
Select:: Business tab above. Then select: Dossier Create a Company List
from left frame
Search by SIC or NAIC codes (links are provided to the codes).
Reuters
Investor (registration required)
http://www.investor.reuters.com/Home.aspx
Can search for companies by broad industry and sector.
Try
using a subject-specific database or industry almanac such as:
-Silicon
Investor
http://www.techstocks.com
Provides information on over 1,000 technology companies, including market
profiles and charts, 52 weeks of historical market data, some SEC filings,
financial overviews, recent company news, and broad industry groups.
-Plunkett
Research Online (On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
An industry center providing market research, trends and analysis, industry
stats, profiles of industry-leading companies (both public and private),
industry associations, and company contact export features. Industries
include Automobile, E-Commerce and Infotech, Energy, Engineering and
Research, Entertainment and Media, Finance and Investments, Food and
Beverage, Health Care, Biotech and Genetics, Retail, Airline, Hotel
and Travel, and Telecommunications. In addition, Job Seeking/Careers
information is given.
-Kompass
UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies,
products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries
Top
of Page |
Company Profile or History |
International
Directory of Company Histories (IDCH) UW restricted
This source provides information on historical development
of some of the worlds largest, most influential companies. Well
worth perusing. To access: Select Business -- then select any volume for IDCH and do a keyword search
in the "Quick Search" box. Check the box for "Within this publication."
Hoover's
Online UW restricted
Search for a company. Browse Company Record (left frame) to link to
history, overview, financials, etc.
Factiva
UW restricted
Select tab at top: Company/Markets
Select from top of screen: Company
Type in a company name to get a company snapshot.
Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
To access a Company Profile:
Select: Business tab
Select: Company Profiles (left frame)
To pull up a Company Snapshot:
Select Business tab
Select Dossier Create a Company List
Select Find a Company tab
Business Source Complete UW restricted
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management,
accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.
Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management
Review and other important journals and databases. Also contains Datamonitor company profiles with SWOT analysis for thousands of companies. (To access
Datamonitor Company Profiles: from "Document Type" drop down menu, select
"Company Report" or hoover your mouse over the"More" tab at top of screen and select "Company Profile"; To access Datamonitor Industry Profiles: from "Publication Type: drop down menu, select "Industry Profile").
Mergent
Online UW restricted
In addition to 15 years of financial data for U.S. and international
public companies, Mergent Online includes business profiles, histories,
lists of subsidiaries, company officers and directors. An archive section
provides U.S. and international public companies that were acquired,
went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996. Full
Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH
Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH
module.
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat
excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic
insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
Try
industry analyst reports such as
Thomson
research. [Investext] UW restricted
- To Search For Company:
Select:Content Profiles.
Then type in "Company Name" or "Ticker symbol" in
search box
Select: Company with a "Quote/Ticker"
symbol
- To Search For Industry:
Select: Full Search. Then Select: "text".
Type in industry in search box.
Can also Select: "SIC" or "NAICS". Then type in
code in search box
Try Advertising--Campaigns
resources for background information on an organization's marketing
strategy and more.
Was
the company recently acquired or did it acquire another business? Reports
filed to do so can be quite revealing. Trace
Ownership. Check SEC
Reports. such as 10-Ks and Registration Statements.
Use
the UW Libraries
Online Catalog to search for books about the company.
Search the company name as a Subject. You can limit to items at just
UWB.
You can also search the company as a keyword.
Top
of Page
|
Competitors |
Reference
USA UW restricted
http://www.referenceusa.com
This is a company and manufacturers directory for U.S. and (coming soon)
Canada. Search by SIC code for competitors. Also searchable by size of
business, industry group, location, executive title, headquarters, employee
size, sales volume, or stock exchange. Can be searched for companies that
meet specific criteria such as all biotech companies in Bothell.
Corporate
Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions
for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes
M&A activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria
such as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive
name or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country,
product/brand name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number
of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year
founded, ticker symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by
public, private or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries
or both.
Check
Company Profiles:
Hoover's UW
restricted
Provides access to company profiles for 14,000 companies, public and
private, worldwide.
Search for a company. Browse Company Record (left frame) to link to
competitors, etc.
Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
Competitors are often included in company profiles.
Select: Business tab at the top
Select: Company Profiles from right frame
Factiva
UW restricted
Select tab at top: Company/Markets
Select from top of screen: Company
Type in a company name to get a company snapshot.
The Peer Group ranking appears on the snapshot, as well as a competitors
link from Reuters.
Business
Source Complete UW restricted
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management,
accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.
Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management
Review and other important journals and databases.Also contains SWOT
analysis and company profiles for thousands of companies.
Standard &
Poor's NetAdvantage UW restricted
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat
excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic
insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
Check
Industry
Surveys which usually list the top companies in an industry.
Search
for journal
and newspaper
articles
Use search strategies such as: company name and competitors
Example: Starbucks and competitors
Top
of Page
|
Directories |
| Why
use them?
1.for basic information such as: company name, address, phone, line
of business, SIC code, number of employees, sales, credit rating, ownership,
date incorporated
2.to find out if it's a public or private company
3.to
determine competitors (classify by SIC
code or by type of business)
4.to
search geographically
5.to
obtain information on a private company.
Online Sources
Chambers
of Commerce Directory
Search for Chambers of Commerce in different states and cities to contact
for information on industries in their area.
http://www.clickcity.com/index2.htm
http://www.uschamber.org/Chambers
Corporate
Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
A corporate affiliations directory that provides insight into 174,000
parent companies, affiliates and divisions--U.S. public, U.S. private,
and international. Includes M&A activity from 1976 where available.
Corporate
Information
http://www.corporateinformation.com
Covers companies worldwide, including private companies. Gives a synopsis
on companies, including competitors and sales. (Note: Registration may
be required and some information is fee-based)
Kompass
UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies,
products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries.
National
Trade Data Bank Global Trade Directory
http://www.wand.com/ntdb/english/html/3_mc.asp
Detailed information on companies, products and services.
Reference
USA UW restricted
Also available: UW Libraries Gateway: Reference Tools/Directories.
Public and private companies and manufacturers directory for U.S. and
Canada. Search by type and size of business, by industry group and SIC
code, by location (state, MSA, city, county, area code, zip code), by
title of executive, by headquarters, branch or subsidiary, by employee
size or sales volume, by stock exchange or all public companies. Provides
address, phone, fax, number of employees, sales, credit rating, ticker
symbol, toll free number, SIC code, line of business and if public company.
Can be searched for companies that meet specific criteria such as all
biotech companies in Bothell.
Thomas
Register of American Manufacturers
http://www.thomasregister.com
A comprehensive online resource for companies, products, and brand names
manufactured in North America. Free registration required. Over 170,000
manufacturers with company and product information. Submit your Request
for Quote (RFQ) for custom manufactured parts and receive quotes online
from thousands of manufacturers. Connect with companies looking for
services you provide. View and download millions of Computer Aided Design
(CAD) drawings. View thousands of online company catalogs and websites.
Venture
Capital Finance Directory
http://www.vfinance.com/
Top
of Page
Print
Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Bond's
Franchise Guide
Call No: REFERENCE HF5429.235 U5 S66
Provides over 1,000 detailed franchisor profiles, including franchise
attorneys, consultants and service providers.
D&B
Reference Book of Corporate Managements
Call No: REFERENCE HG 4057 A22
A directory of America's leading public and private companies. Entries also contain brief biographical and work history of officers and directors of 12,000 companies whose revenues are among
the highest in the U.S.
Searchable by company, (vol. 1 & 2), as well as by location, SIC
code, officers and directors, college and university, and military affiliation
(vol 3).
The
Directory of Business Information Resources
Call No: REFERENCEHD2425 D46
Contains for 98 industries: associations, newsletters, magazines &
journals, trade show, directories & databases, web sites.
Directory
of Mass Merchandisers
Call No: REFERENCE HF5429 P76
A guide to fast-turn, high volume retailers. Included are profiles for
over 600 companies, an annual factbook from Retail Merchandiser, a listing
of top merchandisers , an overview of mass merchandising news, breakdowns
of companies and market areas by region, and more.
The
Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms
Call No: REFERENCE HG4751 F582
This directory Includes brief profiles and mission statements for 2,323
domestic and international venture capital & private equity firms.
The profiles provide useful statistics such as industry group preferences,
average investment, portfolio companies, investment criteria and key
executives. The directory contains five indexes: - College/University
(for venture capital executives) - Executive (listing by key personnel)
- Geographic (by state for domestic listings and by country for international
listings) -Industry Preference (industry segments and names of firms
invested in them) - Portfolio Companies (listing of companies that received
venture capital from a listed firm).
Guide
to Business-Related Organizations in Puget Sound
Call No: REFERENCE HF5065 W2 G835
Contents include Chambers of Commerce, Community Service Clubs, Economic
Development Councils, Ethnic Minority & Religious Groups, General
Business Associations, Industry-Specific Organizations, International
Business Organizations, Neighborhood Associations, Networking Forums,
University Alumni Associations, and Women's Organizations.
Washington
State International Trade Directory
Call No: REFERENCE HF 5065 W2 W37
Washington companies trading worldwide can be searched here. Gives Washingtons
top 5 exports and imports, and the $ of exports and imports. Searchable
by the following indexes: alphabetically by exporters and importers,
by product and by support services (tells what the company does), and
geographically (countries with which the Seattle area firms tradeexport
or import). Provided are addresses, phone numbers, sales, SIC codes,
key individuals, type of business, year established.
Top
of Page
|
Financial
Information |
Lexis
Nexis UW restricted
Select: Business tab above. Then select: SEC filings & Reports in
right frame.
From drop down source menu, select SEC reports such as 10K, 10Q, 8K and
Annual Report to Shareholders, etc.
OR
To locate other financial reports such as Disclosure or Worldscrope or
to find older Annual Reports:
Select Business from tab at top. Then select Company Profiles from right
frame.
Select source wanted from drop down menu
SEDAR
System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval. Used for public
securities filings with Canadian Securities Administration by public
Canadian companies and mutual funds. (equivalent to EDGAR for the U.S.)
Search
a companys web page for financial information.
Top
of Page
For
3-5 years of corporate financial information:
10-K
Annual Report filed with the SEC. Access from:
Lexis Nexis UW restricted
Select: Business tab above. Then select: SEC Filings
in left frame.
SEC Web Site
Edgarscan
Mergent
Online UW restricted
Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of financial data for U.S.
and international public companies. Full Annual Reports for several
years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC
filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH module. Other information
provided includes business profiles, histories, lists of subsidiaries,
company officers and directors. An archive section provides U.S. and
international public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated
or merged out of existence from 1996.
Mint
Global UW restricted
Mint global, also known as Orbis (which is the earlier interface), contains
information on over 35 million companies worldwide, including banks
and insurance companies, providing descriptive information, company
financials, news, market research, ownership, M&A data and more.
Hoover's
Online
Search for a company. From "Browse Company Record" in left
frame, select Financials and then Historical Financials
Disclosure
Reports or Worldscope International Company Profiles Lexis
Nexis UW restricted
Select: Business tab above.
Then select: Company Profiles from left frame.
Then select source wanted from drop down source menu
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat
excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic
insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
Top
of Page
Financial
Projections:
Yahoo
Finance
Search for a company and then select Analyst Estimates from the side
bar
Projected
Earnings/Revenues:
Search for Newswires
in Lexis-Nexis and Factiva UW restricted
Example
search: (forecast or projection) and (earnings or revenue)
Search
the company web page
Search
Analyst Reports
Thomson ResearchUW restricted
Yahoo Finance Search for a
company and then select Analyst Estimates from the side bar.
Search
for articles in magazines
and journals UW restricted
- Example
search: (forecast or projection) and (earnings or revenue)
Search
for articles in newspapers
- Example
search: (forecast or projection) and (earnings or revenue)
Top
of Page |
High
Tech Company Information |
Online Sources
InfoTech
Trends UW restricted
Market data from over 65 industry journals on peripherals, software,
storage, Internet, communications, etc. Covers revenue, shipment forecasts,
market share, usage, etc. Data is up to the most recent quarter, comes
in table format, and can be downloaded into Excel spreadsheets.
Silicon
Investor
http://www.techstocks.com
Provides information on over 1,000 technology companies, including market
profiles and charts, 52 weeks of historical market data, some SEC filings,
financial overviews, recent company news, and broad industry groups.
For
industry information and data on key players, search Analyst
Reports in databases such as Thomson Research, Plunkett, and S&P Net
Advantage.
Print
Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Advanced
Technology in the Pacific Northwest
Call No: REFERENCE HD 9696 A3 P33
Data on over 3,600 firms/divisions in the Silicon Forest.
CorpTech
(CD-ROM) Available in Foster Library on Seattle Campus. UW
restricted
Directory of over 45,000 companies that develop of manufacture high
technology products. Includes company profiles with contact information
and stock quotes. Searchable by over 30 criteria, including SIC code,
company, location, product, etc.
Top
of Page |
Initial
Public Offerings (IPOs) |
Hoover's
Online UW restricted
Select Companies tab and then select Find IPOs
Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
Select: Business tab; Select: SEC Filing
Then select: SEC Registration Statement from the dropdown menu.
Free
EDGAR (requires registration)
http://www.freeedgar.com
Yahoo Finance
http://biz.yahoo.com/reports/ipo.html
Top
of Page |
Mergers
& Acquisitions |
Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
Search: News. Then from the dropdown menu select: Wire Service Stories
Search
for Mergers and Acquisition reports in Conference
Board Business Knowledge Research UW restricted
Corporate
Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions
for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes
M&A activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria
such as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive
name or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country,
product/brand name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number
of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year
founded, ticker symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by
public, private or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries
or both.
Top
of Page
|
Minority-Owned
Businesses |
Central
Contractor Registration (CCR)
SBA, OMB, GSA and DOD Work Together to Integrate PRO-Net and CCR Database
and Simplify Contracting Process for Small Businesses. Company TIN number
(Taxpayer Identification number) is required.
Federal
Reserve
http://www.federalreserve.gov/releases/mob/
Publishes a list of minority-owned banks.
Directory
of Certified Minority, Women and Disadvantaged Business Enterprises
Book in Reference Collection on 1st floor of Library. Call No: HD 2346
U52 W385
Top
of Page
|
Nonprofit
Organizations |
GuideStar
http://www.guidestar.org/
A national database of nonprofit organizations.
The
Better Business Bureaus Philanthropic Advisory Service
http://www.give.org/reports/index.asp
This page lists the current BBB Wise Giving Alliance reports on charities
and other soliciting organizations. The list is regularly updated with
new charities added on a regular basis.
About.Com:
Nonprofit Charitable Organizations
http://nonprofit.about.com/index.htm
Provides links to articles and other web sites on Nonprofit Organizations.
Associations
Unlimited UW restricted
Contains information for approximately 23,000 U.S. national nonprofit
membership associations in all fields. Features full contact information,
description, SIC codes, meetings and publications information, and more.
Searchable by name, subject, keyword, location, SIC codes or SIC descriptions.
Idealist
Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
http://www.idealist.org/
Also
search newspapers, magazines and journals for articles on nonprofit
organizations
Top
of Page
|
Organization
Charts |
|
Online
Sources:
Search
the Online Catalog
by subject: organization charts
Search
for articles in business databases such as Business
Source Complete UW restricted
Example: organizational structure and IBM
Print
Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Organization
Chart Collection
Call No: REFERENCE HD2741 C647
A multiple volume set from The Conference Board, which includes organization
charts from about 500 leading corporations. The collection is continuously
updated and expanded.
Organization
Charts: Structures of 230 Businesses, Government Agencies, and Non-Profit
Organizations
Call No: REFERENCE HD 38 0738
Top
of Page
|
Ownership |
-
Parent
Company - Insider
Trading - Stock
Holdings
Parent
Companies and Subsidiaries (Hierarchy and Headquarters):
Corporate
Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions
for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes
M&A activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria
such as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive
name or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country,
product/brand name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number
of employees, sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year
founded, ticker symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by
public, private or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries
or both.
ReferenceUSA
UW restricted
When results are listed, click on up arrow to determine parent company,
or click on down arrow to see subsidiaries.
Use back arrow to return to where you were.
Hoover's
Online UW restricted
Provides subsidiaries. Search for a company. Then look under Browse
Company Record (left frame) to link to Subsidiaries/Affiliates, etc.
Link to the History and Overview for further information about the mergers
and acquisitions as they occurred in the company
Check
the company 10-K
Annual Reports filed with the Securities & Exchange Commission
(SEC).
Check
the company web site
Top
of Page
Insider
Trading:
InsiderTrader.com
http://www.insidertrader.com
Trades made by corporate executives and directors of companies and reported
on SEC Form 4s and Form 144s. Also gives top institutional holders.
Mergent
Online UW restricted
Mergent Online includes institutional and insider holdings, insider
trading and an archive section on U.S. and international public companies
that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence
from 1996. To access Insider Trading, search for a company and then select the "Research" tab.
Reuters
Investor
http://www.investor.reuters.com/Home.aspx
Provides top institutional ownership and insider trading, as well as
financial and stock market info., etc. Note: free but registration required.
Top
of Page
Stock
Ownership:
SEC
Filing See if these SEC forms were filed:
- SEC
Form 5, Annual Statement of Changes in Beneficial Ownership of Securities
Every director, officer or owner of more than 10% of a class of equity
securities must file with the Commission a statement of ownership regarding
such security. The initial filing is on Form 3 and changes are reported
on Form 4. The Annual Statement of beneficial ownership of securities
is on Form 5. The forms contain information on the reporting person's
relationship to the company and on purchases and sales of such equity
securities.
- SEC
Form 13D, a Williams Act Filing
This Schedule discloses beneficial ownership of certain registered equity
securities. Any person or group of persons who acquire a beneficial
ownership of more than 5% of a class of registered equity securities
of certain issuers must file a Schedule 13D reporting such acquisition
together with certain other information within ten days after such acquisition.
Proxy
Statements
See Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
- Select Business tab and then SEC Filings (left frame).
- From drop-down menu, select SEC Filings - Proxy Statements
Top
of Page |
Patents
& Trademarks |
Lexis-Nexis UW
restricted
Select: Legal tab; Select: Patents (left frame)
U.S.
Patent and Trade Mark Office
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
U.S. Patents and Trademarks since 1976. Includes international and ebusiness
links as well.
The
European Patent Office
http://www.epo.org
Search for European, World (WIPO), and Japanese patents.
The
Patent Information User Group
http://www.piug.org/
Listing of patent and intellectual property.
Patent
Databases on the internet
http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/swain/patent/patdbases.html
Metasite for patents. Some sites are free.
Top
of Page |
People
in the News--Finding Information on Community Leaders |
Try searching an electronic database such as:
Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
Select People tab. Then select a source from dropdown menu such as Biographies
Plus News.
Hoover's
has bios on some of the key officers and people in companies. UW
restricted
Either: 1) search for a company and then look under Browse Company Record
in left frame for People
OR 2) choose "People" from the drop down menu on main page
and type person's name in the search box.
Mergent
Online UW restricted
Provides brief bios of company officers.
To access: Search for a company. From the company profile that results,
select Executives tab.
EBSCO
Business Source Complete UW restricted
Search: CEO interview and <last name> to find Wall Street interviews.
Example: ceo interview and brown
OR
From "Document Type" drop down menu, select "interview".
In Keyword box, type a company or a name.
Thomson Research
UW restricted
Has Wall Street interviews with some CEO''s
Search by keyword: ceo interview and <last name>
Example: ceo interview and brown
Newspaper
articles UW restricted
UW
Libraries Online Catalog (for books or multimedia about someone).
Search by Subject. Type the lastname, firstname of the person being
searched.
or
Search by Keyword (the person may be entered as a chapter), e.g., bill
gates
10-K
SEC Reports and Proxy Statements contain some information on company
officials
Try searching Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted or Edgarscan
Reuters
Investor provides brief bios on executives (registration may be
required)
Print
Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Biographical
Dictionary of Management
Call No: REFERENCE HD30.15 B43 (2 volumes)
African-American
Business Leaders and Entrepreneurs
Call No: REFERENCE HC102.5 A2 H36
Corporate
Eponymy : A Biographical Dictionary of the Persons Behind the Names
of Major American, British, European, and Asian Businesses
Call No: REFERENCE HC29 R66 1992
Encyclopedia
of American Women in Business
From Colonial Times to the Present: two volumes
Call No: REFERENCE HD6054.4 U6 K753
Encyclopedia of African American Business
Call No: REFERENCE HD2358.5 U6 E53 (2 volumes)
The encyclopedia contains information on a variety of topics pertaining
to African American business developments and includes brief profiles
of well-known African American women and men business leaders who are
listed by name and by occupation. While this source provides a historical
perspective, it is restricted in size and coverage to two volumes, and
gives an overview of the black business community and black business
leaders in America from the first quarter of the eighteenth century
to the early twenty-first century.
Top
of Page |
Philanthropy
(Corporate Giving) |
ePhilanthropyFoundation.org
The ePhilanthropy Foundation seeks to foster the ethical use of the Internet
for philanthropic purposes. Includes national and global links to resources
on and interactive tools for fund raising.
Top
of Page
|
Philosophies
& Mission Statements (Corporate) |
Online Sources:
Check
Corporate
Annual Reports
MissionStatements.com
Provide access to a collection of about 700 mission statements from
companies, non-profits, and other organizations.
Print
Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
101
Mission Statements from Top Companies: Plus Guidelines for Writing Your
Own Mission Statement
Call No: REFERENCE HD30.285 A267
Corporate
Statements
Call No: REFERENCE HD 30.285 H37
The official missions, goals, principles and philosophies of over 900
companies
The
Mission Statement Book
Call No: REFERENCE HD 30.285 A27
301 corporate mission statements from some of America's top companies.
Check
the company web site
Check
the online catalog for books about the company or about the CEO (Search
as a subject)
Did the CEO write a book about the company or was he/she interviewed
by the press?
Top
of Page
|
Private
and Small Companies
(also applicable to large companies) |
Learning Note:
Since
private companies are usually not required to file reports with the
Securities and Exchange Commission, locating information about them
tends to be more difficult. Therefore, you may need to revise your expectations
and be more flexible in what you will be able to find. For example,
you might not find financial reports on private companies; instead,
you may need to accept a revenue range or estimate, company ranking
by revenue, or even inferred revenue based on information known or presumed.
While
information published on private companies may be conjecture, filings
with the federal or state government should be more reliable because
of government penalties for misreporting.
There
is usually less published about smaller companies than larger companies.
Ask
Questions:
1.Determine
what you really need to know. What questions do you need answers for?
2.Then
consider which sources are most likely to have the information you need
and how reliable the information will be (e.g., where did they get it
from, how was it derived, who published it? Is there an association,
government agency or think tank that focuses on the industry?).
3.What
do you already know about the company/industry (e.g., Does it have patents,
emit pollutants, make consumer products, is it in a regulated industry)?
Answers to these questions will help you decide where to look for information.
Below are some sources and strategies for locating information on either
small and/or private companies.
How
to Find Information About Private Companies
(Book in Reference Collection on 1st floor of Library. Call NO: HD 2771
H695)
Use
Directories
for basic information on a small or private company
Examples:
- ReferenceUSA UW
restricted
- Corporate
Affiliations (On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell
and UW Tacoma restricted
- D&B Reference Book of Corporate Managements. Focuses on U.S. leading public and private companies. (Book in our Reference collection on 1st floor of Library. Call no: HG4057 A22).
Privately-held companies may file some SEC
reports depending on their circumstances. For example, if they want
to raise equity, they would need to file Registration Statements (usually
S Forms) and sometimes 10-Q Reports.
Search
Lexis-Nexis for
latest news on acquisitions UW restricted
Select: News tab. Then select from drop down menu: Wires Service Stories
Did
it release any newswires? Lexis-Nexis
and Factiva
UW restricted
Trade
Journals report on small and private companies. For articles on the
company, search Electronic Databases:
Lexis-Nexis, EBSCO
Business Source Complete or Factiva.
UW restricted
Search
local newspapers in Washington
State Newsstand and Access
World News (Includes regional newspapers. Click on map for location)
UW restricted
Search
magazines
and journals for information. UW restricted
Hoover's
Online UW restricted
Provides information for some private companies: company factsheet,
latest news and commentary, their primary SIC code, competitors, and
links to information on companies in their primary and secondary industries.
Top
of Page
Check
Government Sources: Federal, State and Local:
The
federal government regulates and investigates various company activities.
Some of this data is available to the public. Examples:
- Occupational
Safety and Health Administration (e.g., square footage of a plant, number
of employees in the plant, types of machines used, etc., may be given
from an investigation)
- Environmental
Protection Agency (e.g., plant inspection reports, filings for permits)
- Consumer
Product Safety Commission (has files on some products, firms and recalls).
You may want to use the U.S.
Government Manual to locate agency contact information.
You
may want to contact the state's office of economic development, e.g.,
its "marketing office" which aims to keep existing companies
in the state happy and to persuade companies to locate in the state
(in Washington, it's the Dept. of Community, Trade and Economic Development
in Olympia 360-753-2200). They tend to be knowledgeable about companies
in their state and may be able to provide information such as construction
or expansion plans, major employment changes, operation or production
process; what information is public varies in different states. They
may also be able to suggest someone else to talk with inside or outside
the company.
Companies
must file various data in the state they are registered or incorporated,
as well as where they are headquartered and each state where they have
operations. Try the state's home page to find out what kind of information
to which they give access; they may give access to company filings or
industry information.
The
office of the Secretary of State is where companies usually register
and provide information about their operations such as articles of incorporation,
a form of annual report, corporate name changes, location of operations,
etc. Information available will vary in each state. For the state of
Washington: http://www.secstate.wa.gov
Look
for local government reports. Municipal and County governments keep
track of what companies do in their area. Examples are tax assessors,
pollution control boards, county clerk which has records of property
owned.
Top
of Page
Other
Search Strategies for Researching Small or Private Companies:
Does
the company have any trademarks or patents?
This is public information.
Consider
contacting special interest groups that relate to your industry such
as industry focused Political Action Committees (PACs) which promote
a specific industry, as well as watchdogs that monitor adversaries.
Has
the company made an Initial Public Offering (IPO)?
If so, you can find information on these companies.
Tax
returns are available to the public for non-profit organizations (Form
990). Contact the regional IRS office of the company's location.
Chambers
of Commerce Directory
Search for Chambers of Commerce in different states and cities to contact
for information on industries in their area.
http://www.clickcity.com/index2.htm
http://www.uschamber.org/Chambers
Trade
Associations can be a source of information on companies in their
industry.
Inc
magazine's annual list of America's fastest-growing private companies
gives summary information on latest winners.
http://www.inc.com/500/
Forbes
500 Top Private Companies
http://www.forbes.com/
Select the "lists" tab
Forbes
200 Best Small Companies
http://www.forbes.com/200best/
Select the "lists" tab.
Top
of Page |
Products
and Services--Lines of Business |
Hoover's UW
restricted
Search for a company. Then look under Browse Company Record in left frame
to select Product/Opeations.
Kompass
UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies,
products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries.
Thomas
Register of American Manufacturers
An online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in
North America where you can submit RFQs, place orders online, viewand
download Computer Aided Design (CAD) drawings, and view thousands of
online company catalogs and websites. Search by company, product or
brand name from over 72,000 product headings and over 170,000 company
listings.
Reference
USA UW restricted
http://www.referenceusa.com
Directory of Public and private companies and manufacturers for U.S.
and Canada. Searchable by company, SIC/NAIC codes, Yellow Pages subjects,
and industry. Can be limited by type and size of business (employee
size or sales volume), location (state, MSA, city, county, area code,
zip code), executive title, headquarters, branch or subsidiary, stock
exchange or all public companies. Provides address, phone, fax, number
of employees, sales, credit rating, ticker symbol, toll free number,
SIC code, line of business and if public company. Can also be searched
for companies that meet specific criteria such as all biotech companies
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat
excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic
insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets. Lines of
Business are included in the company Register (Select: Company
Profile. Select: Register in left frame).
SEC
Reports
Check the 10-K or 20-F (if a foreign company doing business in the U.S.),
or Registration Statement (if filed to raise capital).
Top
of Page |
Is
It a Public or Private Company? |
Corporate
Affiliations (On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell
and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions
for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes M&A
activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria such
as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive name
or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country, product/brand
name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number of employees,
sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year founded, ticker
symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by public, private
or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries or both.
Reference
USA UW restricted
http://www.referenceusa.com
Also available:from UW Libraries Gateway Select: Reference Tools. Then
select: Directories.
Public and private companies and manufacturers directory for U.S. and
Canada.
Top
of Page |
Company
Rankings |
Online
Sources
The
Northwest 100
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/flatpages/businesstechnology/northwest100database.html
Seattle Times listing of top public and private companies in Washington,
Oregon and Idaho. Includes rankings, profiles and comparisons.
Fortune
500 Companies
List of largest American public companies based on annual revenue. Give
background information on the companies and general analysis of corporate
performance.
- http://www.Fortune500s.net
- Also in Hoovers UW restricted
To Acces: From "Company Tab" select "Build a List." Then under "Specialty Criteria" set the "Rankings/Indexes" dropdown menu to "Fortune 500."
- Note: A list of the Fortune 500 companies can be obtained by searching
Fortune magazine in either Expanded Academic Index or Lexis-Nexis databases.
UW restricted
Forbes
500 Top Private Companies
Forbes list of the largest private companies. Searchable by category,
industry or state from 1996 forward. Provides background information
on the companies
- http://www.forbes.com/ (Select: Lists tab)
- Also in Hoovers UW restricted
To Acces: From "Company Tab" select "Build a List." Then under "Specialty Criteria" set the "Rankings/Indexes" dropdown menu to "Forbes Largest Private Companies."
Forbes
International 500 Companies
http://www.forbes.com/ (Select: Lists tab)
Forbes list of The largest companies based on revenues and based outside
the U.S.
Forbes
Best Big Companies
http://www.forbes.com/ (Select; Lists tab)
Forbes list of Best American Big Companies based on the best aggregate
scores for both long- and short-term financial returns, plus other performance
and valuation measures.
Print
Sources
(*Note: All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Puget
Sound Business Journal Book of Lists
Call No: REFERENCE HC 108 S77 P83
A compilation of weekly lists that appear in the Puget Sound Business
Journal. Included are top 100 Washington private companies, largest
Puget Sound area biotechnology firms, non-profit organizations in the
Puget Sound area ranked by revenue, fastest growing companies in Washington
state and more.
Link
to Rankings
and Lists for more links
Top
of Page |
Regulations |
Doing
Business in 2004: Understanding Regulation
Book in Reference Collection on 1st floor of Library. Call No: K3840 D64
Investigates the scrope and manner of regulations that enhance business
activity and those that constrain it. Provides quantitative indicators
on business regulations and their enforcement that can be compared across
more than 130 countries, and over time.
See
if the company filed any Registration Statements or 10-K Annual Reports
with the SEC (Search Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted or Edgarscan).
The company may reveal governmental regulation and legal uncertainty
in these filings.
Check
the company web site.
Check
Industry
Surveys (Analyst Reports) to see if they mention industry regulations.
Search Business
Source Complete by subject and your industry or company or product.
UW restricted
Use subjects such as: CFR, customs regulations, environmental regulations,
price regulations, import restrictions, environmental tax, legislation,
federal legislation, federal regulation, state regulation, state laws,
tax legislation, government mandates, regulation of financial institutions,
regulatory agencies, regulated industries, deregulation.
Search Lexis-Nexis. UW
restricted
Select: Legal tab above Then select source wanted from drop down menu
or from the left frame
- for articles from newspapers magazines and newsletters
- for actual legal cases--state and federal
- for codes and regulations--state, federal, European, and tax
- for patent research
OR
Look for Policy Papers.
Select: Source tab above. Then select Find Sources tab above.
Type Policy Paper in keyword search box and click on Find Sources
Search trade journals in Lexis
Nexis for regulatory information affecting an industry.
Congressional
Universe
Full text of bills from 1989, public laws from 1988, committee reports
from 1990, House and Senate documents from 1995, Congressional Record
from 1985, Federal Register from 1980, National Journal from 1977, and
other government information. Updated daily.
Thomas--U.S.
Congress on the Internet
Domestic legislative information. Search current congressional bills
by bill number, word or phrase. Also find out what's happening in congressional
committees, view roll-call votes to 1989, see up-to-date schedules of
proceedings in the House and Senate. Links to historical documents,
the House and Senate home pages, and other government departments.
Consider
which government agencies regulate the company, based on what the company
does and where it operates. Have there been news reports about investigations,
law suites, penalties, allegations for your target company? What government
agency would be interested in this reporting and liable to take action?
Where might the company need to file reports with federal, state, municipal,
county governments based on its activities?
USA Gov (FirstGov)
http://www.usa.gov/
Searches federal government web sites.
(Note: searches all federal government domains. Also allows searching
for both state and federal, all states, or selected states.)
Google Uncle Sam
http://www.google.com/unclesam
Searches U.S. Government and state government web pages.
(Note: The .gov and .mil domains covered by Google Uncle Sam cover most
information the federal government puts online, but not all. For example,
it does not cover the USDAs Forest Service .fed.us domain at http://www.fs.fed.us
or the Postal Service dotcom domain at http://www.usps.com
Link
to Government
and Law for more information and links
Top
of Page
|
SEC
Reports |
Where
to find SEC Reports:
Search Lexis-Nexis UW
restricted
Access under Business tab and then SEC Filings (in left frame).
Enter company name or ticker symbol
Select filing wanted from the "Select Sources" drop down menu
U.S.
Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
http://www.sec.gov
Search for SEC reports, stock exchanges, and other web links such as
market regulators, professional organizations, federal securities laws,
etc.
Edgarscan
http://edgarscan.pwcglobal.com/
From Price Waterhouse Coopers Technology Center. Search by company for
SEC reports or a list of some companies in the field. Generates background
information on those companies, including for their lines of business
and does a financial comparison of them. Can also search by industry
(SIC codes) to obtain a list of some companies in an industry and a
financial comparison of them.
Where
to find Proxy Statements:
Search Lexis-Nexis UW
restricted
Access under Business tab and then SEC Filings.
Enter company name or ticker symbol
Select "Proxy Statement" from "Select Sources" drop
down menu
Top
of Page
Some
Basic Information About SEC Filings:
- Descriptions of SEC forms can be found on the SEC web site http://www.sec.gov/edaux/forms.htm
- Usually,
only publicly traded companies must file SEC reports. However, under
some circumstances, private companies must file certain SEC reports.
- If
companies are regulated (e.g., banks, insurance companies, utilities--both
publicly held and private), they are exempt from filing reports with
the SEC. Instead, they must file reports with their principal regulatory
agency (e.g., FDIC, FRB, FHLBB, insurance commission, state auditor).
In which case, check sources such as Moody's, NTIS, Disclosure, or check
with the regulatory agency or the company itself for these reports.
You may also want to check with the Secretary of State, where companies
usually need to register and describe their company and its activities.
Their filings, depending on state requirements, may include articles
of incorporation, names of directors, an annual report of some kind,
info on corporate name changes and operating locations.
- Not
all SEC reports are filed by all companies.
- Check
with state securities offices. If a company only sells stock in one
state, it needs to file information with that securities office, but
not with the U.S. SEC.
- The
Annual Report to Shareholders is not required to be filed with the SEC,
but the 10-K must be filed.
- All
information in the Annual Report to Shareholders is not necessarily
in the 10-K.
- If
there is a parent company, the Annual Report to Shareholders may be
issued under the parent company name.
Top
of Page
Some
widely used SEC forms:
Form
10-K - Annual reports must be filed within 90 days after the end
of the company's fiscal year.
Form
10-Q - Quarterly reports must be filed for each of the first 3 quarters
of a company's fiscal year. Due within 45 days of the close of the quarter
Form
8-K - Current reports are used to report any material events or
corporate changes of importance to investors or security holders that
have not been reported. Gives more current information on some events
than 10-Ks or 10-Qs.
Williams
Act Filing Form - General statement of beneficial ownership (e.g.,
going private transaction, tender offer statement, solicitation/recommendation
statements)
Form
6-K - Report of foreign issue. This is the only information furnished
by foreign private issuers between annual reports. They are not required
to file Forms 10-Q or 8-K.
Registration
Statements such as S-4 - These forms are filed to register securities
prior to being offered to investors and to permit trading among investors.
20-F
- An integrated form used as registration of securities of foreign private
issuers or as their annual reports.
Proxy
Statements - Provide security holders information needed to vote
on issues to be
acted upon at security holders' meetings, either annual meetings or
special meetings.
Prospectus
- Issued to investors prior to sale of a security.
Top
of Page
What
kind of information can be found in 10-K Annual Reports?
-How
the company does business.
-Information on its products, markets, distribution channels, and business
alliances
-Segment reporting and degree of competition
- Research and development
- Patent ownership
- Subsidiaries and major properties owned
- Extent of foreign operations
- Raw material used & where it's from
- Seasonal sales variations
- Areas of vulnerability such as environmental safety problems, legal
proceedings, dependence on a few large customers
- Ownership and management of the company (may refer to other disclosure
reports)
- Exhibits such as government contracts, joint ventures, amendment to
corporate bylaws.
- Sales by major lines of business
-Financial reports (2-3 years of operating results, income statements,
balance sheets, cash flow)
- Advertising
expenses
- Company's
opinion of future performance
- Corporate
events
- Other
matters affecting company operations such as discontinued operations,
restructuring and other changes
Top
of Page
What
type of information can be found in Registration Statements (S Forms)?
- Risk factors such as operation risks, new business area risks, international
expansion risks, business combinations risks & strategic alliances,
dependence on key personnel, importation risks, economic cycles, debt
- Company
history
- Goal
and marketing strategy
- Advertising
and promotion
- Product
and services
- Financial
Reports (hint: if this is a private company raising equity, this may
be a rare find of financials)
- Management's
Analysis of financial condition and results of operation
- Operating
history, including accumulated deficit, anticipated losses
- Predictability
of future revenues
- Who
their competition is
- Who
their customers are
-Management
of potential growth
- Impact
of technological change or trends
- Their
reliance on suppliers and/or manufacturers and who they are
- Their
distribution channels
- Governmental
regulation and legal uncertainty
- Restrictions
on payment of dividends
- What
their success depends upon
- Trademarks
- Seasonality
and backlog
- Social
responsibility
- Employee
information
- Principal
stock holders
- Properties
owned/leased and their location and primary use
Top
of Page |
Size/Diversity |
Use
resources such as:
Company
Web Page
SEC
Reports
Market
Share
Company/Industry
Comparisons
Top
of Page |
Strengths
& Weaknesses |
Thomson Research
UW restricted
Reports and forecasts prepared by top analysts at international brokerages and investment banks
on U.S. and international companies
and industries. Nearly 4,000 new reports added each business day.
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat
excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic
insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
Forrester
UW restricted
Forrester is an independent research firm that analyzes the future of
technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers, and society
and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing, software,
networking, telecommunications, and the Internet. Access is provided
to some reports in this database.
Plunkett
Research Online (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
An industry center providing market research, trends and analysis, industry
stats, profiles of industry-leading companies (both public and private),
industry associations, and company contact export features.
SEC
Registration Statements, 10-Ks and Prospectuses. Some places where you
can find them:
Lexis Nexis (from
Business tab at top and then SEC Filings in left frame) UW
restricted
Edgarscan
Link to SEC
Reports for more information.
Search
local newspapers in Washington
State Newsstand and Access
World News (Includes regional newspapers. Click on map for location)
UW restricted
Search
magazines
and journals for information about the company.
UW restricted
Top
of Page |
Subsidiaries |
Corporate
Affiliations (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
Provides insight into 174,000 parent companies, affiliates and divisions
for U.S. public, U.S. private, and international companies. Includes M&A
activity from 1976 where available. Searchable by multiple criteria such
as company, parent company, subsidiary, personnel (i.e., executive name
or job title), responsibility, city, state, zip code, country, product/brand
name, outside service firm name or type, area code, number of employees,
sales, stock exchange, SIC code and SIC keyword, year founded, ticker
symbol, keyword.. Advanced searches can be limited by public, private
or international companies, as well as parent, subsidiaries or both.
SEC
Reports: 10-Ks (Annual Reports), 20-F (if foreign company doing
business in U.S.) , Registration Statements (if raising capital)
Note: Lexis-Nexis
provides easy searching for these reports from a drop down menu. UW
restricted
To access, select Business tab. Then select SEC Reports in left frame.
Then choose the type of report from the drop down menu and set for one
year or more.
Disclosure
Reports in Lexis-Nexis
UW restricted
Select: Business tab at top of page
Select: Company Profiles in left frame
From drop down source menu, select: Disclosure Online Database
Select at least one or two years to search
Reference
USA (Online Directory) UW restricted
Search by company
From results, the down arrows indicate subsidiaries. Click on them.
You can then link to records for each subsidiary.
From results, the up arrows indicate a parent company. Click on it.
You can then link to a record for the parent company.
Mergent
Online UW restricted
After searching for a company, click on Company Details tab and Subsidiaries
tab.
Hoover's
UW restricted
Search by company. Then look under Browse Company Record in left frame
for Subsidiaries/Affiliates
Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat
excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic
insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets. Includes subsidiaries
in Company Profile/Corporation Records (left frame).
Top
of Page
|
Suppliers
and Distribution Channels |
To help determine who provides specific products or services:
SEC
Reports
For the distribution channel and suppliers of a specific company (or
companies in a specific line of business), see the 10-K Annual Report
the company filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
Kompass
UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about companies,
products, executives' names, and trade and brand names in over 60 countries.
For example, you can search for some of the companies that provide a
specific service or product or who import or export in a specific area.
Thomas
Global Register
The Thomas Global Register (TGR) is a directory of 500,000 manufacturers
and distributors from 26 countries, classified by 10,500 products and
services categories. It is used to bring industrial buyers and sellers
together. Registration is required to get extended details on non-advertising
companies, but registration is free. Results display a companys
address, phone number, fax number, e-mail, and Internet address.
ThomasNet
- American manufacturers
Industrial Product/Service Search Search ThomasNet.com, the most
comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services,
CAD drawings, and more
Europages
A directory of 500,000 companies from 30 countries. Search by company
(and restrict by number of employees, turnover, or type of activity),
location or product . Entries give address, phone and line of business.
Includes links to company catalogs and company web sites.
Search
for articles in journal
and newspaper
databases such as UW restricted
Use
terms such as: suppliers, dealers, distributors, manufacturers agents
Example: suppliers and Microsoft
|