CITING ONLINE SOURCES USING APA FORMAT

CITING ONLINE SOURCES
USING APA FORMAT
 
5th Edition

Journal Articles from Online Databases Company Information from Databases
Articles from a Journal's Website Marketing Reports from Databases
Newspaper Articles and Newswires from Databases

Websites

e-books

Financial Reports from Databases Online Abstract
Industry/Analyst Reports from Databases Personal Communication

Journal Articles from Online Databases

Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. (Date). Article title. Periodical Title, volume(issue), pages.* Retrieved <Date>, from <Source> database. (other information needed to trace the article should be in parenthesis, such as specific File Name, item number--if applicable)

*Since some online articles do not indicate page numbers, you will not always be able to include them in your citation.

Examples with author:

Carter, W. (1998, August 10). Collective effort. Telephony, 235(6), 66-67. Retrieved January 8, 2001, from ABI/Inform Global database.

Hayes, M. (1998, December 21). Thin clients offer savings—advances promise lower ownership costs, but Microsoft prices remain high. Information Week. Retrieved January 8, 2001, from Lexis-Nexis database.

Intext citation: (Hayes, 1998)

Example with no author:

Mobile telephones: Wireless war. (2001, January 8). The Economist. Retrieved January 8, 2001, from Factiva database. (Retrieval Item: ECON99008000049)

Intext citation:  (Mobile telephones, 2001)

Top of Page


Articles from a Journal's website     

Gibson, L. D. (1998, Spring). Defining marketing problems: Don’t spin your wheels solving the wrong puzzle. Marketing Research, 10(1). Retrieved January 18, 2001, from http://www.ama.org/pubs/ 

Intext citation:  (Gibson, 1998)

Note:  The article above is from a journal accessible on the Web, not from an online database such as ABI/Inform.

Top of Page


Newspaper Articles and News Wires from Databases

Feldman, A. (1998, December 29). Hitting new heights Internet sales boosting Skymall. Daily News (New York), p. Business 25.  Retrieved January 29, 2001, from Lexis-Nexis database.

Note:  There may not be a page number.

Intext citation:  (Feldman, 1998)

Top of Page


e-books

Author. (Date). Book title. (Any other relevant information such as volume, page number). Place of publication: Publisher. Retrieved <Date>, from <E-book Provider/Platform>.

Examples of e-books from an e-book provider:

Kolb, R, (Ed.). (2008). Encyclopedia of business, ethics and society. Los Angeles: Sage Publications. Retrieved March 31, 2009, from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Budhwar, P. S. & Bhatnagar, J (Eds.). (2009). The changing face of people management in India. New York : Routledge. Retrieved March 31, 2009, from EBL E-book Library.

Examples of e-books on the free Web:

Godsmark, C. (n.d.). Starting and running a catering business. How To Books (online). Retrieved March 31, 2009, from http://www.howto.co.uk/business/catering-business/

Huxley, A. (1958, 2000 electronic edition). Brave new world revisited. New York: Rosetta Books. Electronic edition retrieved March 31, 2009, from http://www.wowio.com/users/product.asp?BookId=42

Example of Work Cited in Another Work:

Boxall, P. & Purcell, J. (2008). Strategy and human resource management. New York: Palgrave Macmillan. In Budhwar, P. S. & Bhatnagar, J. (Eds). (2009). The changing face of people managment in India. (p. 162). New York: Routledge. Retrieved March 31, 2009, from EBL E-book Library.

 

Financial Reports from Databases

Author. (Date). Document title. Retrieved <Date>, from <Source> (File Name and number--if available--and any other information needed to trace the report)

 Examples where the company is the author:

Microsoft Corporation. (2008). SEC Form 10-K for the Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2008. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from Hoovers database.

Texas Instruments. (2008). 2008 Annual Report to Shareholders. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from http://www.ti.com/corp/docs/investor/ar08/shareholders.htm

General Electric Co. (2008). SEC Form 10-Q for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2008. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from Lexis-Nexis Academic database.

Intext citation: (General Electric Co., 2008)

Example where the company is not the author:

Disclosure Incorporated. (2009). International Business Machines: Disclosure report. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from Lexis-Nexis database. (Disclosure Company Number: I510600000 )

Intext citation:  (Disclosure Incorporated, 2009)

Top of Page


Company Information from Databases

Hoover's, Inc. (2009). International Business Machines: Company record: Fact sheet. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from Hoover's database.

Datamonitor. (2009, March 18). Costco Wholesale Corporation: Company profile. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from Business Souce Complete database.

Intext citation:  (Hoover's, Inc., 2009)

Top of Page


Market Reports from Databases

Buhl, L. (2009, January). U.S. market for seafood, with a focus on fresh. Rockville, MD: Packaged Facts. Retrieved May 1, 2009 from Marketresearch.com.

Intext citation:  (Buhl, 2009)

Top of Page


Websites

Entire Web Site

Title of Page.  Retrieved <Date>, from <URL>

Example:

Federal Consumer Information Center. Retrieved September 23, 2000, from http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/

Specific Document on a Web Site

These citations will often follow a similar format to that for print with some additions and deletions.

Examples:

Federal Trade Commission. (2001, September 13). Consumer awareness at gasoline pumps urged [News Release].  Retrieved September 28, 2001, from http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2001/09/fyi0146.htm

Intext citation:  (Federal Trade Commission, 2001)

DiCarlo, L. (2000, September 22). Forbes 400 richest Americans. Forbes.comRetrieved September 23, 2000, from http://www.forbes.com/tool/toolbox/rich400/      

Intext citation: (DiCarlo, 2002)

Nike, Inc. (2002).  2002 annual report. Retrieved September 26, 2003, from Nike, Inc. web site http://www.nike.com/nikebiz/nikebiz.jhtml?page=17#

Intext citation:  (Nike, Inc., 2002)

Note: if there will be more then one reference to a company web page for different documents, identify the document either in the text of the paper or in the intext citation, e.g., (Nike, Inc., 2002 Annual Report).

Top of Page


Industry/Analyst Report from Database (with author)

Green, W. J. & Longson, A. (2009, April 19). Freight transportation. Freight pulse 16: Rail pricing resilient; Trucks to face more challenges. Morgon Stanley Industry View. Retrieved May 1, 2009, from Thomson Research database.

Intext citation:  (Green & Longson,  2009)

Top of Page


Online Abstract (with more than one author)

Note:  If you are unable to obtain the full article, instructors may allow use of information from an abstract; however, the citation must indicate the information came from an abstract.  Information from abstracts should not be used for material being published.

Mehra, A. & Floyd, S.W. (1998, July-August). Product market heterogeneity, resource imitability and strategic group formation. Journal of Management, 24(4), 511-512. Abstract retrieved August 17, 2000, from Expanded Academic ASAP database.

Intext Citation: (Mehra & Floyd, 1998)

Top of Page


Personal Communications (such as e-mail and interviews)

Data from personal communications  is not recoverable by the reader; therefore, personal communications are not included in references.  However, they must be cited in text. See pp. 214 of  the APA style manual (5th edition) for further information.

NOTE:  If you have questions, please
(1) check with the UWB Writing Center or
(2) consult the APA website for citing electronic sources:
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html   
(3) or consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (See  pages 268-281 on Electronic Media)




Guide developed by
Doreen Harwood

Business Librarian
University of Washington, Bothell and Cascadia Community College
E-mail comments to: doreenh@u.washington.edu

URL:   http://library.uwb.edu/guides/BusWeb/BusWebCiteOnlineAPA.htm
Updated: 05/01/2009