Bus 509 Marketing Management (Krishnamurthy)
Bus 509 Marketing Management (Krishnamurthy)

 

     A Marketing Process

  1. Quantitative Overview             

    1. Size of Market (dollars, units)

    2. Market_Trend (growing, stable or decreasing)

    3. Major Competitors    

    4. Market Share       

  1. Promotion
  1. Advertising
    (Media choice, Vehicle Choice)

  2. Advertising Spending       

   

  1. Target Audience

  1. Consumer Behavior

  2. Target audience

  1. Challenges & Barriers to Success

  1. Financial Information (Company)

Further Information:

Business Research Web page     

Business Databases

Industry Company Marketing Consumer Data 
Research Assistance:
Citing Sources     Ask us a Question Peer Tutoring
Off Campus Access Tutorial Marketing Plan Tutorial

         

  1. Quantitative Overview

  1. Size of Market (dollars, units)

  1. Market Trend (growing, stable or decreasing)

  1. Major Competitors

  1. Market Share

 

Top of Page

  1. Target Audience

  1. Consumer Behavior

  • What do you know about the people who will buy this product?  What are their needs? What influences them to buy?

    • Search Marketing sources such as

      • Editor & Publisher Market Guide
        (Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No. HF1510 E33)

        • Provides MSA, County & City Rankings
          (e.g., schooling, sales, income, cost of living, disposable income, etc)

        • Surveys of Daily Newspaper Cities, includes newspapers

        • Population, ages and ethnicity by MSA

        • Retail Sales by MSA.

           

      • SRDS The Lifestyle Market Analyst
        (Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No: HF5415.33 U6 L54)

        • Provides marketing profiles by geographic area

        • lifestyle profiles 

        • consumer segment profiles

        • lists consumer magazine classifications targeted to lifestyles.

           

      • The Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
        (Reference Book on 1st floor of library Call No:  HA 203 S66)
        Projections of key population and income variables: data on population, households,  families, income, race, age, and spending potential for various products.

         
      • Survey of Buying Power (In Sales & Marketing Management)
        On closed reserve.  Call No:  BOCLR HG229 .S87
        Also available online through Proquest: Survey of Buying Power  
        UW restricted

         
      • SimplyMap  UW restricted
        This Internet-based mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Users can select, sort and compare data across multiple geographic locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet. Data is provided by Easy Analytic Software, Inc. (EASI) and includes all 2000, current estimates, and 5 year forecast census data for all geographies: Census Block-Groups, Census Tracts, ZIP Codes, Cities, Counties, States, and the entire United States, as well as MRI Consumer data and LifeStage Clusters.  (Note: Users will be asked to create a personal workspace the first time they log-in to SimplyMap).
        Link to: SimplyMap Tutorials

       

    • For more sources see also

      Target Audience

Generations

Spending Patterns  See especially the New Strategist Publications

Polls & Surveys  See especially New Strategist Publications

TableBase (on campus access only) UW restricted
      (set Marketing Term drop down menu  to Consumer Behavior)

  • What media do they use?

  • TV Dimensions
    (Reference Book by Media Dynamics.  Call No. HE8700.8 T917  2005)
     Provides analyses of critical issues contemplated by buyers and sellers of television time.  Includes general dimensions, cable and other forms of e-media, audience information, program type appeals, TV reach and frequency patterns, viewer interest and attentiveness, commercial exposure and impact, how ads work, and intermedia comparisons.

  • Report on Television
    (Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No. HE8700.7 A8 N54)
    A report by Nielsen Research Media on how people use television.
    Provides audience estimates, general trends, TV ownership, hours of usage, network viewing, growth of cable, sports marketing, and viewing outside of households.

  • Magazine Dimensions
    (Reference Book by Media Dynamics. Call No. HF6105 U5 M23 2005)
     Covers trends in magazines published and ad revenues, magazine audiences, qualitative factors intermedia comparisons

  •  Editor & Publisher Market Guide
     (Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No. HF1510 E33)

    • MSA, County & City Rankings (e.g., schooling, sales, income, cost of living,   disposable income, etc)

    • Surveys of Daily Newspaper Cities, includes newspapers

    •  Population, ages and ethnicity by MSA  - Retail Sales by MSA.

  • SRDS The Lifestyle Market Analyst
    (Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No: HF5415.33 U6 L54)

    • Marketing profiles by geographic area, lifestyle profiles, consumer segment profiles

    • List of consumer magazines & direct mailing list classifications targeted to lifestyles.

  1. Target Audience(s) for Your Product

  • Search for Demographics from sources such as

  • SimplyMap  UW restricted
    This Internet-based mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and  reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
    Users can select, sort and compare data across multiple geographic locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet.
    Data is provided by Easy Analytic Software, Inc. (EASI) and includes all 2000, current estimates, and 5-year forecast census data for all geographies: Census Block-Groups, Census Tracts, ZIP Codes, Cities, Counties, States, and the entire United States.  (Note: Users will be asked to create a personal workspace the first time they log-in to SimplyMap).

    Link to: SimplyMap Tutorials

  • Survey of Buying Power and Media Markets (from Sales & Marketing Management)
    Kept in closed reserve behind Library circulation desk. Call No. HF5438 S252 2005
    Also available from Proquest: Survey of Buying Power & Media Markets 
    UW restricted

    • Demographics and sales rankings by Census Track Core Based Statistical Area (CBSA)

    • Population, effective buying income, retail sales, and buying power by state/CBS/ /County/major city

  • State Profiles (Reference book 1st floor of library.  Call No: HA203 S734)
    The population and economy of each U.S. state and an overview of the U.S. for comparative purposes.  Covers areas such as health, education, government finance, energy, travel, agriculture, gross domestic product, economic structure by industry (including leading industries), employment, population demographics, income and poverty status.

  • MarketResearch.com UW restricted 
    The database MarketResearch.com provides in depth market research reports for U.S. and global industries which are over 100 pages long each. Written and published in the U.S. by various market research firms.

  • Statistical Universe UW restricted
    Provides statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications since 1973, state and private sources since 1980, and about 2,000 documents from international organizations since 1983.  Keep the search broad. Example search: consumer spending and cable

  •  InfoTech Trends   UW restricted
     
    Provides market data on the information technology industry from over 65 industry journals

  • Examples of target market and marketing strategy:

    • Major Marketing Campaigns Annual (Reference Book 1st floor.  Call No. HF5837 M334)

    • Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (Reference Book Call No. HF5837 E53)

Top of Page

  1. Promotion

  1. Advertising (Media choice, Vehicle Choice, Creative)

  • TV Dimensions (Reference Book by Media Dynamics. Call No. HE8700.8 T917)       Providing numerous analyses of critical issues contemplated by buyers and sellers of television time.  Includes general dimensions, cable and other forms of e-media, audience information, program type appeals, TV reach and frequency patterns, viewer interest and attentiveness, commercial exposure and impact, how ads work, and intermedia comparisons.

  • Magazine Dimensions (Reference Book by Media Dynamics. Call No. HF6105 U5 M23)
    - Covers trends in magazines published and ad revenues 
    - magazine audiences   - qualitative factors  - intermedia comparisons

  • The...Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook
    (Reference Book on 1st floor of library. Call No. GV174 E58)
    Provides statistics and data for assessment of the media and advertising market. Sections typically include a market assessment and forecast, market leaders, market trends,  market distribution by advertising segment, integrated marketing and advertising, consumer demographics, and more.

  1. Advertising Spending

  • Company/Brands$   (Reference Book on 1st floor of library.  Call No. HF 5813 U6 C68)  Reports advertising expenditures in ten media: consumer magazines, Sunday magazines, newspapers, outdoor,  network television, spot television, syndicated television, cable TV networks, network radio and national spot radio. Data is supplied by leading national  advertisers and Mediawatch. Included are brands that spend $25,000 or more per year in the   ten media measured.

  • Advertising Age 
    A special fall issue of this magazine (Media & Marketing Special Report) lists the largest spenders by total expenditures and by media category. Their rankings supplement LNA data  with other sources (e.g., contacts with advertisers, SEC filings, etc.). They estimate spending on direct mail campaigns,  special promotions, and other categories not covered by LNA.

Search journal databases    UW restricted databases

Search newspaper databases    UW restricted databases

        Search Example: Advertising expenditures

 

Top of Page

  1. Challenges and Barriers to Success

 


 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-5442

URL:  http://library.uwb.edu/guides/Bus509Krishnamurthy08.html
Updated: 04/16/2008