|
Online Sources
Global EDGE
An outline of the business climate, political structure, history, and
statistical data for about 196 countries. It also includes regional and country
specific links in addition to a general overview of each geographic area , as
well as country rankings by risk ratings, press freedom index, and
corruption index. A Megasite for international business, trade information, and economic trends.
Most data is free but does require registration.
Doing Business
Project from World Bank
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across
178 countries.
(See also print source below)
Economist Intelligence
Unit (EIU) UW restricted
Provide up-to-date analysis on worldwide market trends and business strategies.
Assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions in almost 200
countries. Coverage includes Country Reports, Country Profiles, Viewswire (daily
analysis service), Country Commerce, eBusinessForum and more.
Europa World Year Book UW restricted
Provides recent history and major social, economic and political events of
individual countries. Includes statistics on external trade by country.
The Fraser
Institute
An independent organization with a goal to raise the level of understanding
about economic and social policy. Their Economic Freedom of the World
Annual Report contains Country Data Tables and reports on world economic
freedom, investment and growth (Link to Economic Freedom from left frame
of opening page).
IMD World
Competitiveness Online UW
restricted
The World Competitiveness Yearbook (WCY) analyzes and ranks the ability of
nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness
of enterprises. World Competitiveness Online provides access to the entire WCY
database including a 5-year time series. The IMD World Competitiveness
Yearbook measures 55 countries on the basis of 331 criteria.
InfoNation
This database allows viewing and comparing up-to-date statistical data
(overview, economy, environment, health, and technology) for the Member States
of the United Nations.
International financial statistics - UW restricted
"The IFS database contains approx. 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all International Monetary Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherland Antilles: major International Monetary Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables."
NationMaster
This centralized database allows comparison of countries by various statistical data compiled from sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Users can easily
generate maps and graphs.
Source
OECD UW restricted
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development's Online Library (for
European Union), which includes monographs and annual reports by theme;
periodicals; and statistics. Use drop down menus (e.g., OECD Factbook,
Statistics at a Glance, Statistical Annuals) OR select documents from left frame
(e.g., Main Economic Indicators, OECD Economic Outlook) .
World Bank World
Development Indicators (free web sites)
Economic indicators including data and statistics on various
developing countries and regions.
WDI List of
Time Series Indicators - Definitions
- WDI Online (World Development Indicators) UW restricted
World Bank provides general current and time series statistical data for
countries.
- GDF
Online (Global Development Finance) UW
restricted
World Bank provides current and time series debt and other financial data by
country.
World Economic
Forum
This international organization engages leaders in
partnerships to pursue economic and social activities that will improve the
world. They provide access to global competitive reports such as the
following:
- Global Competitiveness Report
(2007/08 and 2005/06 Books in Reference collection on 1st floor of Library. Call
No: HF1414 G563)
Global Competitiveness Report 2007-08
This study is one of the leading monitors of the competitive condition of
100 countries (includes competitiveness rankings, problematic factors for
business and much more). The report focuses on some of the key
factors that help determine economic growth and explain why some countries are
more successful than others in raising income levels and opportunities for
their respective populations in joining the upper ranks of international
competitiveness.
- Global Information Technology Report
This report is a benchmarking tool for determining
countries IT strengths and weaknesses. It is
an assessment of how prepared countries are to capture the benefits of
participating in a networked world.
- Women's Empowerment: Measuring the Global Gender Gap
This is a benchmarking tool to assess the size of the gender gap, ranking 58
countries by the level of advancement of their female population. Five
areas are focused on: economic participation, economic opportunity, political
empowerment, educational attainment and health and well-being.
- Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Report
The World Economic Forum index provides cross country analysis for Travel
and Tourism in 124 countries. Travel and tourism can impact national
prosperity and economic growth.
- The Arab World Competitiveness Report
Coverage includes13 Arab economies. Rankings are
presented in three country groups according to the stage of development to
enable benchmarking against peers in other parts of the world.
Government Sources:
U.S. Census Bureau
Contains a Business section, which includes a foreign trade division. U.S. Department of Labor
- Foreign Labor
Trends - This series produced by the US Dept of Labor provides
"information on labor institutions, practices, and recent key developments in
the selected countries reported. Each report provides valuable information in assessing
progress made by the reported country in complying with internationally
recognized worker rights required under bilateral or regional trade
agreements."
- Foreign Labor
Statistics - International comparisons of hourly compensation costs;
productivity and unit labor costs; labor force, employment and unemployment
rates; and consumer prices for selected countries. The comparisons relate primarily to the major
industrial countries, but other countries are included in certain measures.
U.S.
Department of State
- Country Background
Notes
Gives brief economic and political updates for countries worldwide.
- World
Factbook - CIA Country Profiles
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) gives economic, political, and demographic
information on all countries. Includes poverty level, household income or
consumption level by percentage, inflation rate, employment rate, GDP purchasing
power parity (e.g., Disposable
Income), etc.
Top Of Page
Print Sources:
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
African Telecommunication/ICT Indicators 2008: At a
Crossroads
Call No: REFERENCE HE8461 A37
Asia-Pacific Telcommunication/ICT Indicators:
Broadband in Asia-Pacific: Too Much, Too Little?
Call No: REFERENCE
HE89341 A85
Doing Business:
Call No: REFERENCE K563 B87
D65
(Latest 2 editions in Reference; Earlier edition in Bothell/CCC
Stacks)
Annual report from World Bank comparing regulation in 178 world
economies. Quantitative indicators are provided for 10 stages of a
business's life: starting a business, dealing with licenses, employing
workers, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors,
paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and closing a
business.
The Economist magazine contains economic, financial
and emerging-market indicators for some countries. Included are consumer prices,
wages, retail sales, unemployment, etc. Financial and
economic indicators are at the back of the publication.
(Available online from EBSCO's Master File Complete 1990-present; Expanded
Academic Index 1988-present; and Lexis-Nexis 1975-present; UW restricted
databases Also in Hard copy in
the library--with latest edition on 1st floor and prior issues with periodicals on 3rd
floor; and on microfilm from1985-2002).
Measuring the Information Society 2007
Call No: REFERENCE HE7700
I476 2007
International Telecommunications Union Opportunity Index and World
Telecommunication/ICT Indicators. Country tables are provided
toward the back of the book.
Succeeding Like Success: The Affluent Consumers of
Asia
Call No: REFERENCE HF
5415.33 A78 W664
Provides a combination of demographics, history, and economics with
projections to 2015 that address the purchasing power of affluent Asian
consumers in 12 key Asian/Pacific markets.
2008 World Industry & Market Outlook
Call No: REFERENCE HC10 W69 2008
Demographic data for over 120 major global industries. Provides current
estimates of the size of the largest manufacturing, retail, wholesale and
services industries in the world.
World Consumer Lifestyles Databook
Call No: REFERENCE HF5415.32 W67
Yearbook of Statistics: Telecommunication
Services
Call No: REFERENCE HE7601
I532)
This Chronological Time Series 1995-2004 is provided by the
International Telecommunications Union. Data are presented by country.
A list of countries, definitions, abbreviations and acronyms are given
at the beginning of the book.
Top Of Page |
|
Online Sources:
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Provides information, research, technology, policies and
programs for security of the food system, health of the environment and
innovation for growth; however, some reports require registration and some
information is related to Canada. Includes links to market reports
organized by product or country, trade statistics, export requirements, trade
events, products & suppliers, Canadian fish & seafood market information.
Business Source Complete UW restricted
Under "Publication Type" select "Industry Profile" from drop
down menu.
Climate:
- Atmospheric Sciences
The University of Washington offers links to recommended resources and research databases for atmospheric sciences.
- ClimateZONE.com
Provides average temperature, rainfall and snowfall information available from climate stations in various countries.
- Earthtrends
This site is maintained by the World Resources Institute and focuses on environmental, social, and economic trends shaping the world. Provides country profiles with environmental information, including climate and atmosphere,CO2 emissions and much more.
- Europa World Year Book UW restricted
Provides recent history and major social, economic and political events of
individual countries. Includes statistics on external trade by country. Climate can be found by country under "Geography."
- World Climate.com
Provides average rainfall and average minimum and maximum monthly temperatures for cities worldwide. Climate data are historical weather averages, showing what the weather was typically like each month, averaged over a range of years.
The Economist Magazine
http://www.economist.com/countries
Provides country profiles with factsheets, political and
economic data, forecasts, recent news and more.
The Electronic Embassy
http://www.embassy.org
Links to foreign embassies of Washington, D. C., with web pages for each
country.
The Federation of International Trade
Associations
Search for country profiles, which include information on market access (import
regulations, customs duties, etc.), transportation system, economic indicators
(including trade by partner countries), country risks, registration &
licensing, taxes & accounting, labor market, media, and more. There
are also links for trade shows and trade leads.
Gartner UW restricted
Gartner, Inc. (NYSE: IT) is the world’s leading information technology research
and advisory company. Gartner analysts and consultants are known to provide the
most comprehensive collection of analysis and advice to the global IT industry.
Governments on
the Web
A source for governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments,
ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting
corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc.
Link to: Human Rights Resources
Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
Research reports written by top analysts at over 1,000 leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms worldwide.
International Monetary Fund
(IMF)
The IMF is an organization of 185 countries, working to foster global monetary
cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote
high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty.
- Their World
Economic Outlook gives statistical data on the world’s economy and
narrative analysis and projections.
- They also provide:
International
Telecommunications Union (ITU)
The ITU is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, and is an
international organization within the United
Nations System where governments and the private sector coordinate global
telecom networks and services. A small selection of statistics here
are free; whereas, some can be found in World Banks World Development
Indicators.
Kompass UW restricted
A searchable international directory containing information about
companies, products, and trade and brand names in over 60
countries
MarketResearch.com UW restricted
The database MarketResearch.com provides in depth market research reports for U.S. and global industries
which are over 100 pages long each. Written and published in the U.S. by
various market research firms, the reports provide quantitative and
qualitative focus and analysis on leading manufacturers, retailers,
distributors, and marketers. Information included are executive summaries,
industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product
innovation, buyer behavior, market share, and market forecasts.
Mint Global (Orbis) UW restricted
Mint global contains
information on companies worldwide, including banks and insurance
companies, providing descriptive information, company financials, news,
market research, industry profiles from Datamonitor, scanned reports,
ownership, M&A data and more.
TableBase (Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW
Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
TableBase specializes in tabular data on companies, industries, products and
demographics. It is international in scope, covers over 90 industries and
provides links to tables and articles from which the tables were derived.
Link to Patents and Trademarks
Link to more resources: Countries of the World and Country Resources by Subject
International Organizations:
Earth Trends
Earth Trends, an environmental information portal, is provided by The
World Resources Institute (WRI). The focus is environmental, social and economic
trends shaping our world. Earth Trends gathers data from the world's
leading statistical agencies, along with WRI-generated maps and analyses, into a
single database. To facilitate the comparison of data from different sources,
Earth Trends supplements its content with detailed metadata that reports on
research methodologies and evaluates the information's reliability. The
information is made available to the public at no charge.
International Labour
Organization
The International Labour Organization is the UN specialized
agency which seeks the promotion of social justice and internationally
recognized human and labour rights. Provides reports on labour markets and
trends, including child labor, feminization of poverty, social protection, and
more.
UNESCO
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. See
especially "Themes" and "Worldwide" regions (in the left frame) for further
information and statistics.
United Nations
Oversees world peace and security, economic and social development, human
rights, humanitarian affairs and international law.
World Health
Organization
Provides health indicators, population estimates, travel health information,
health expenditures, legislation, etc., by country.
World Tourism
Organization
For statistics, see Facts & Figures section.
Print Sources:
(*Note:
All Books in Reference Collection are on the 1st Floor of Library)
Big in Asia: 30 Strategies for Business Success
Call No: REFERENC HD30.28 B322
Helpful for investing or trading in Asia, the book includes 30 strategies
such as women in the workplace in Asia, building brands in Asia,
outsourcing business processes, sending the right people, crossing the
cultural divide, etc. There are also tables, including one on Comparing Asia: Who Ranks Where, which shows Disposable Income (GDP
per capita on PPP basis), Corruption Rankings, Aging Population and Adult
Literacy.
Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Call No: REFERENC HF5439 M267 G66
Forecasts and economic analysis of 13 industry segments prepared by
PriceWaterhouse Coopers.
Handbook of Markets and Economies: East Asia,
Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand
Call No: REFERENC HF5415.33 A78 H36
Focuses on 8 systems: natural environment and geography, political,
economic, social, knowledge, education, executive, and marketing.
Top Of Page |
| |
Tariff Barriers
- Economist Intelligence
Unit (EIU) UW restricted
Provides up-to-date analysis on worldwide market trends and business strategies
through several reports. Viewswire, a daily country analysis
service, highlights up to 250 key economic, political
and market developments around the world and provides concise analytical
briefings on the implications for business, including international
trade, tax and tariff updates.
- Export.gov
http://www.export.gov/
Maintained by International Trade Administration. Provides web links to trade
assistance, contacts lists (trade partners), exporting guides, tariffs and
taxes, NAFTA rules, trade statistics, foreign currency rates, news and more.
Link to Market
Research for export basics, trade statistics, trade agreements and more.
Link to Pricing Quotes & Negotiations for tariffs, taxes and sales terms.
- Note: This link will help
student teams identify the tariff rates for their respective products for
the BUS 480 and BUS 429 Class Projects:
Harmonized System (HS) Numbers, typically 6-10 digits long, are used
to classify products for customs purposes. By international agreement, most
countries recognize the same first 6 "harmonized" digits. To get a duty rate
one needs to have the complete product number used by the importing country.
However, since this is sometimes difficult, companies can use the Schedule B
number to approximate. Schedule B Numbers are used to classify exported
products in the United States and are based on the international HS system.
The numbers will be the same up to the first 6 digits as the importing
country's classification code, after which they will likely be very close or
the same.
Source: export.gov
http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/tic/tariff/hs_numbers.htm)
The Census Bureau’s Schedule B has a number of
databases that can also be used to find the HS code:
http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/schedules/b/index.html
By entering a generic description of a product in the search engine, (E.g.
“artificial flowers”) you will be able to find the 6 digit code (which is
670290). This code can then be used to find the tariff rates in other
countries. Sometimes a simple Google search using the importing country name
and the HS code will help find it.
- World Trade Organization (WTO)
Link to Goods Schedules for WTO general
rules that apply to all WTO members. The specific commitments are listed in
documents called “schedules of concessions”. To see each country's schedules, go
to the list in the right-hand frame.
Non-Tariff Barriers and Market Regulation
World Bank
For Doing Business:
Use "View by" to Select a Topic and an Economy from drop down menus
Also use "Rankings" tab above.
- Doing
Business - Exploring Economies (From "View
by" select a country from drop down menu) - This
section gives a snapshot of each country's business climate by identifying
specific regulations and policies that encourage or discourage investment,
productivity, and growth.
- Doing Business - Comparing
Business Regulations - Download Doing Business
Reports. This database provides
measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The
indicators, across 175 economies, show the regulatory costs of business
and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain
investment, productivity, and growth.
- Doing Business -
Exploring Topics (from "View by" Select a Topic from drop down menu) - Topics include
starting a business, licenses, employing workers, registering property,
getting credit, protecting investors, paying taxes, trading
across borders, enforcing contracts, & closing a business.
Capital Hospitality Index Capital Hospitality Index with interactive map guide.
Forbes provides links to a global investment climate map, index and commentary.
HLB International
HLB is a world-wide organization of accounting firms and business advisors.
Select Publications tab at top of page, then select Doing Business In and then select a country to pull up information about doing business in
a particular country.
U.S. Trade Compliance Center
The TCC provides access to
commercial and economic information to help U.S. exporters understand and
evaluate opportunities created by trade agreements the United States has
negotiated. The WTO Trade Policy Review Summaries are fully searchable market
access reports with information on foreign trade policies and regulations. Links
are also provided to the National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade
Barriers and to ITA’s Country Market Research Library, as well as to information
on Global Procurement Opportunities.
SourceOECD UW restricted
OECD About
OECD Member Countries
OECD Economic Surveys UW restricted
The Heritage Foundation - Policy Research &
Analysis
The Index of
Economic Freedom - uses a systematic measurement of economic freedom
in countries throughout the world to study and grade various countries by
factors that most influence a setting of economic growth. The Index
measures 161 countries against a list of 50 independent variables divided into
10 broad factors of economic freedom. The higher the score on a
factor (e.g., market regulation), the greater the level of government
interference in the economy and the less economic freedom a country enjoys. |
|
Here is a selective list of English
Language Global Newspapers that can be
searched for news articles, columns and editorials.
- Some may also be
in Lexis-Nexis UW restricted (To
locate in Lexis-Nexis: Select Sources tab above; Select Find Sources tab
above. Type in source. Select the source and click on "Ok
Continue" button above)
Library
Press Display UW
restricted
Online access to over 200 newspapers form more than 55 countries, displayed in
their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
ISI Russian news and finance search engine - UW restricted
Provides keyword searching in English or Russian of all full-text news and
economic sources marketed by Internet Securities Inc., including
Kommersant Daily, Izvestiia, Nezavisimaia gazeta, Moscow Times, Moscow
News and dozens of others
Lexis-Nexis UW restricted
Full text database of newspapers, magazines, trade journals, legal
documents, company financial information and newswires.
- Country Profiles from CIA World Factbook (1. Select: Business tab above. 2.Select Country Profiles from
left frame)
- World News (To
access: 1. Select News tab above, 2. Select a source from
drop down Source menu)
World News
Connection UW restricted
The material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches,
television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and
books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental,
scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events.
For more Newspapers UW restricted |