Bus 476 New Technology and Future Markets (Gold)

A Guide for Researching Disruptive Technology

A Selection of Resources
Books

Business Databases
- Articles 
- Analyst Reports 
- Statistics  
- Global Marketing Reports

Competitors

Industry Research Guide

Company Profiles
For more resources: Business Research Guides
For More databases: Business Databases
Research Help

Citing Sources

Research Assistance Peer Tutoring

 

Books

Search the catalog by terms such as:

  • disruptive technolog*

  • history and innovation

  • <your industry>   - automotive industry  - telecommunications industry 
                                 - computer industry  - sound recording industry 
                                 - drug industry  -  music trade  - recycling industry

  • <your product or service>  - hybrid electric cars  - social networking  - gps
                                                  - computer games  - virtual reality  - nanotechnology
     

  • <your company>   - Napster   - Wal-Mart   - Toyota 

Also search Summit
Summit is a library catalog combining information from Pacific NW academic libraries into one database.
Delivery in about 2-5 work days.


Examples of books in our collection:

  • Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
    REFERENCE HF5439 M267 G66
    Forecasts and economic analysis of 14 entertainment and media industry segments prepared by PriceWaterhouse Coopers.
  • The...Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook
    REFERENCE GV174 E58
    Provides statistics and data for assessment of the media and advertising market. Sections typically include a market assessment and forecast, market leaders, market trends, market distribution by advertising segment,  integrated marketing and advertising, consumer demographics, and much more.

Top of Page

 

 

Databases

Finding Articles

  • Journal Articles

All Proquest Business Databases UW restricted

Lexis-Nexis UW restricted

Factiva  UW restricted

Business Source Complete (Ebsco Host extended trial)  UW restricted

 

  • Newspaper Articles

Proquest Newspapers UW restricted

Newsbank InfoWeb  UW restricted
Global NewsBank, a fulltext news database drawing from a variety of English language news sources around the world.

Lexis-Nexis UW restricted

Factiva  UW restricted

Can't Find Full Text?   Search the catalog by journal title to locate our holdings.

For More Business Databases

Top of Page


Analyst Reports for Company and Industry Analysis

Business Source Complete  UW restricted
To access industry reports:
Under "Publication Type" select "Industry Profile" from drop down menu.

Forrester  UW restricted
Forrester is an independent research firm that analyzes the future of technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers, and society and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet.

Gartner UW restricted
Gartner, Inc. (NYSE: IT) is the world’s leading information technology research and advisory company. Gartner analysts and consultants are known to provide the most comprehensive collection of analysis and advice to the global IT industry.


Hoovers  UW restricted
Provides access to company profiles for about 14,000 worldwide public and private companies, as well as to financial information, news and industry profiles. 

Investext  UW restricted
Reports and forecasts prepared by international brokers, investment banks, and trade associations on over 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 83 industries. Also contains Wall Street Transcripts of interviews with market leaders.


Plunkett (on campus access only) UW restricted
An industry center providing market research, trends and analysis, industry stats, profiles of industry-leading companies (both public and private), and industry associations. 

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage 
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more.  Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.

Encyclopedia of American Industries (Select Business - View Publications) e-book is UW restricted

Sports Business Research Network / SBRnet  UW restricted
Market research and industry news covering all aspects of the sporting goods industry including: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.

To access:   International Directory of Company Histories  and  Encyclopedia of Global Industries
 1) select Business.  2)  select any volume for International Directory of Company Histories or any volume of Encyclopedia of Global Industries. 3) do a keyword search in the "Quick Search" box

For More Industry Information

Top of Page


Statistics

 InfoTech Trends  UW restricted

 
TableBase  (on campus only)  UW restricted

Statistical Universe  UW restricted

SimplyMap  UW restricted
This Internet-based mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Users can select, sort and compare data across multiple geographic locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet. Note: Users will be asked to create a personal workspace the first time they log-in to SimplyMap).

Link to: SimplyMap Tutorials

For More Statistical Information      Consumer Data

Top of Page


Global Marketing Reports 

MarketResearch.com UW restricted 
The MarketResearch.com database provides in-depth market research reports for U.S. and global industries which are over 100 pages long each. Written and published in the U.S. by various market research firms, the reports provide quantitative and qualitative focus and analysis on leading manufacturers, retailers, distributors, and marketers. Information included are executive summaries, industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovation, buyer behavior, market share, and market forecasts.

Top of Page

 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-5442

 

Home Page Link