Bus 320 Introduction to Marketing Management
Rodsett

A Guide to the Marketing Process

Marketing Plan Resources
Books

Market Share 

Competitors

Trade Associations

Size/Diversity Company Profiles
Business Databases
- Articles 
- Analyst Reports 
- Statistics  
- Global Marketing Reports
Advertising Sources
-
Campaigns
-
Spending
-
Markets
-
Other
Consumer Behavior
- By Generations
- By Spending Patterns
- Polls & Surveys
 
For more resources: Business Research Guides
For More databases: Business Databases
Marketing Plan Tutorial
Research Help

Citing Sources

Research Assistance Peer Tutoring
Off Campus Access Tutorial Research Award

 

Books

 

Search the catalog by terms such as:

Consumer behavior - teenage consumers - market strategy - marketing research - shopping - young consumers - target marketing - market segmentation - brand name products - new products marketing - high technology industries marketing  - women consumers -

By topics such as:
fast food and marketing  - fast food restaurants  - food marketing - food industry
financial services and marketing - financial services industry
fashion and marketing  - nonprofit and marketing
Hispanic and consumers - Hispanic and marketing

baby boomers and marketing - women and marketing - older people and marketing


Examples of books in our collection:

  • Getting Wiser to Teens
    REFERENCE HF5415.32 Z65
    Insights into marketing to teenagers. Some areas covered include teen attitudes, types, trends and music, social concerns, friends, lifestyle, brands and media.  There is a separate chapter on marketing and advertising to teens.
  • The Kids Market: Myths and Realities
    REFERENCE HF 5415.33 U6
    Children are characterized here as three markets: current market spending of their money on their wants and needs, an influence market spending their parent's money on their own wants and needs, and a future market for all goods and services. Shows how children grow into these markets, discusses types of stores and products that contribute toward children becoming consumers, details children's reactions to marketing, examines marketing research efforts among children as consumers--showing how some work better than others--and talks about children as a global market.
  • Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
    REFERENCE HF 5837 E53
    Contains 500 important marketing campaigns for products and services. Entries are alphabetical by company and provide an overview and a history of the campaign, target market, major competitors and (if known) market share, marketing strategy and outcome.
  • Major Marketing Campaigns Annual 
    REFERENCE HF 5837 M34
    Profiles 100 of the most notable advertising and marketing initiatives of 1997. Entries include overview of brand history, competition, marketing strategy and outcome. Campaigns cover a variety of marketing strategies such as radio and television advertising, branding, and direct mail. Search in general index by company, product, advertising agencies and people. There is also a subject index.
  • Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
    REFERENCE HF5439 M267 G66
    Forecasts and economic analysis of 13 industry segments prepared by PriceWaterhouse Coopers.
  • The...Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook
    REFERENCE GV174 E58
    Provides statistics and data for assessment of the media and advertising market. Sections typically include a market assessment and forecast, market leaders, market trends, market distribution by advertising segment,  integrated marketing and advertising, consumer demographics, and much more.
  • Lifestyle Market Analyst
    REFERENCE HF 5415.33 U6 L54
    Contains lifestyle and demographic data to locate customers, identify markets, and determine how to sell products. Searchable by market, lifestyle, and consumer demographic segment.
  • The Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
    REFERENCE HA 203 S66
    Projections of key population and income variables: data on population, households, families, income, race, age, and spending potential for various products.

  • Market Share Reporter
    REFERENCE HF 5410 M35
    An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services. Gives sources from where information is derived.

 

Top of Page

 

Databases

Finding Articles

All Proquest Business Databases UW restricted

Lexis-Nexis UW restricted

Factiva  UW restricted

Business Source Complete (Ebsco Host extended trial)  UW restricted

For More Business Databases

Can't Find Full Text?   Search the catalog by journal title to locate our holdings.

Top of Page


Analyst Reports for Company and Industry Analysis

Forrester  UW restricted

Hoovers  UW restricted

Investext  UW restricted

Plunkett (on campus access only) UW restricted

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage 
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat excel analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more.  Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.

Encyclopedia of American Industries (Select Business - View Publications) UW restricted

Business Source Complete (Ebsco Host extended trial)  UW restricted

For More Industry Information

Top of Page


Statistics

 InfoTech Trends  UW restricted

 
TableBase  (on campus only)  UW restricted

Statistical Universe  UW restricted

SimplyMap  UW restricted
This Internet-based mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Users can select, sort and compare data across multiple geographic locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet. Note: Users will be asked to create a personal workspace the first time they log-in to SimplyMap).

Link to: SimplyMap Tutorials

Simmons Choices III National Consumer Study for 2002  UW restricted
CD-ROM Available from computers in our Campus Library Information Commons.
Consumer data. 2002 National Consumer Survey gathered information on lifestyles, media habits, and product/brand preferences of American families from 20,000 U.S. households: what they eat, what they read and watch, the sports they play, the products they buy, and how they feel about consumer decisions they make.

  •  Beginner's Guide available here.  Try walking through the example in the guide first.
  • Using Simmons Choices III:   From the University of Tennessee is this guide to using Simmons Choices III database
  • Simmons Choices II Tutorial   From the Foster Business Library, this tutorial explains how to use Simmons Choices II
  • For more complex searches, ask at the reference desk for the Simmons Choices 3 User Manual (Public Work Station Computer Manuals HC110 C6 C47 2002).  

For More Statistical Information

For Consumer Data

Top of Page


Global Marketing Reports 

MarketResearch.com UW restricted 
The MarketResearch.com database provides in-depth market research reports for U.S. and global industries which are over 100 pages long each. Written and published in the U.S. by various market research firms, the reports provide quantitative and qualitative focus and analysis on leading manufacturers, retailers, distributors, and marketers. Information included are executive summaries, industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovation, buyer behavior, market share, and market forecasts.

Top of Page

 

Guide Developed by:
Doreen Harwood
Business Librarian
email: dharwood@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-5442

 

Home Page Link