Bus 305 Managerial Communication (McGuire)

 

General Resources

Guidelines for References

Ethics  (Finding Information on)
- Journal Articles  - Newspaper Articles
- Books  - Other Online Sources

 Computer Lab Project

Timeline

Company Profiles

Other Projects

Business-Related Databases    

For more resources, link to: Business Research Guides

 

 

I.  General Resources

  • Further Information about connecting to UW Restricted resources from off campus.

    • Connect to UW Restricted resources from off campus with UW NetID.

    • Use "Off Campus Access" link at top of Library pages, including this one.

    • (Note: you must be on campus to access TableBase, Plunkett, and Corporate Affiliations)

Top of Page

II. Guidelines for References
  1. APA style format for citing sources

  2. Annotated Bibliography -- Some Guidelines 

  3. Quoting and Paraphrasing guidelines

  4. Academic Integrity and Plagiarism

  5. Include a variety of resources

  6. Evaluate information used

  7. Determine source type:

  • analyst report

  • financial report

  • marketing report

  • company profile

  • company web page

  • other sources--what are they?

 

III. Finding Information on Ethics:

Brainstorm terms to use for searches.

Examples for business:
- business ethics    - ethics and business education    - professional ethics    -ethics and values

Examples for students: 
- ethics and students    - ethics and college students    - students and business ethics

 

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Search for journal articles in databases such as   UW restricted databases

For more databases, go to:   Business Databases section of the Business Research Guide.

 

NEWSPAPER ARTICLES

Search for newspaper articles in databases such as   
- Proquest Newspapers   - Newsbank  - Lexis-Nexis (News)  - Factiva 
UW restricted databases

Go directly to a newspaper website to search such as

*Note: Our library provides access to full text newspapers, including for local newspapers such as The Seattle Times, The Seattle Post Intelligencer, The HeraldPuget Sound Business Journal.

 

BOOKS

Search the Library Catalog for books, including e-Books such as through NetLibrary (e-books are UW restricted)

 

OTHER ONLINE SOURCES

Online Reference Tools UW restricted database

Business Ethics Research Guide

Top of Page

 
IV.  Company Profiles
  • Hoover's OnlineUW restricted
    To access company profiles: first search for a company.  Then look in left frame under Browse Company Record for links to the company history, overview, financials, etc.
     

  • Factiva  UW restricted
    Select tab at top of screen:  Company/Markets
    Select from tab at top of screen:  Company
    Type in a company name to get a company snapshot.

  • Lexis-Nexis 
    Select: Business tab at top
    Select: Company Profiles (in right frame)

  • Business Source Complete (Ebsco Host extended trial)  UW restricted
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text articles from Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals and databases. Also contains SWOT analysis and company profiles for thousands of companies.  To access company profiles, select the Company Profiles tab at the top of the screen.  Then type in a company name in the "Browse for" box.

  • Mergent Online UW restricted
    In addition to 15 years of financial data for U.S. and international public companies, Mergent Online includes business profiles, histories, lists of subsidiaries, company officers and directors. An archive section provides U.S. and international public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996. Full Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH module.
    To access Company Profiles:  First search for a company and bring up the record.  Then choose from the green sub-tabs under Company Details (e.g., history, highlights, subsidiaries, etc.  There is also a grey tab for Company Financials).

  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage 
    Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles, including Compustat Excel Analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more.  Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
    To access Company Profiles, select Companies tab at top of screen.  Search for a Company Profile from dropdown menus and keyword search box. Then look in left frame for links to profile components such as competitors, financials, etc.

Top of Page

 

 

 

PROJECTS

A Selection of Links about Wikipedia:

 

Computer Lab Project:

  1. Work in small groups for the next 25-30 minutes.

  2. Each group will begin researching ethics (business- or student-related). 

  3. Find information on ethics from one source  (e.g., journal article, newspaper article, online reference tool, web site).

  4. Describe the source (what type of source, how you found the information) and evaluate the information found using criteria from Evaluating Sources.      

  5. Here are some Strengths and Weaknesses of web sites to also consider:
    http://www.bothell.washington.edu/library/guides/searchengines2.htm#What's Good About the Web (Strengths)

  6. Your team will have about five minutes to describe your source, the information you found, and why you would or would not use this source again.  

  7. Be prepared for questions/comments.

Other Projects

Assignment for April 22nd

Assignment for April 24th

Top of Page

 

 

 Timeline

 


Top of Page Contents Page

Campus Library

 

Contact:
Doreen Harwood, Business Librarian
E-mail: doreenh@u.washington.edu

URL:  http://library.uwb.edu/guides/Bus305McGuireSpring07.html
Last Updated:  04/17/2008

For research assistance, you can also
 Ask Us a Question