Campus Library Web site
Online Catalog--provides access to holdings from UWB/CCC, UWS, UWT and Summit (Pacific Northwest academic libraries)
Searching Databases--what they contain and how to search them
Guides for Searching the Web
Information about connecting from Off Campus
- Connect to UW Restricted resources from off campus with UW NetID.
- Use "Off Campus Access" link at top of Library pages, including this one.
- (Note: you must be on campus to access TableBase, Plunkett, and Corporate Affiliations)
Top of Page |
APA style format for citing sources
Quoting and Paraphrasing guidelines
Academic Integrity and Plagiarism
Evaluate information used
Include a variety of resources
Determine source type:
Examples of articles:
|
Examples of other sources:
- financial report
- marketing report
- company profile
- company web page
- other sources--indicate what they are
|
|
Brainstorm terms to use for searches.
Examples for business:
- business ethics - ethics and business education - professional ethics -ethics and values
Examples for students:
- ethics and students - ethics and college students - students and business ethics
JOURNAL ARTICLES
Search for journal articles in databases such as
- Business Source Complete - Lexis-Nexis - Factiva UW restricted databases
For more databases, go to: Business Databases section of the Business Research Guide.
NEWSPAPER ARTICLES
Search for newspaper articles UW restricted databases
Go directly to a newspaper website to search such as:
- The Seattle Times* - The Seattle Post Intelligencer* - The Herald*
- Snohomish County Business Journal - Puget Sound Business Journal*
*Note: Our library provides access to full text newspapers, including for local newspapers such as The Seattle Times, The Seattle Post Intelligencer, The Herald, Puget Sound Business Journal.
BOOKS
Search the Library Catalog for books, including e-Books (e-books are UW restricted)
OTHER ONLINE SOURCES
Online Reference Tools UW restricted database
Business Ethics Research Guide
Top
of Page |
Hoover's Online. UW restricted
To access company profiles: first search for a company. Then look in left frame under Browse Company Record for links to the company history, overview, financials, etc.
Factiva UW restricted
Select tab at top of screen: Company/Markets
Select from tab at top of screen: Company
Type in a company name to get a company snapshot.
Lexis-Nexis
Select: Business tab at top
Select: Company Profiles (in right frame)
Business Source Complete UW restricted
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text articles from Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals and databases. Also contains SWOT analysis and company profiles for thousands of companies.
To access company profiles: From "Document Type" drop down menu, select "Company Report". Then type a company name in the keyword box above.
Mergent Online UW restricted
In addition to 15 years of financial data for U.S. and international public companies, Mergent Online includes business profiles, histories, lists of subsidiaries, company officers and directors. An archive section provides U.S. and international public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996. Full Annual Reports for several years are integrated within the BASIC SEARCH Module and Company SEC filings are available through the EDGAR SEARCH module.
To access Company Profiles: First search for a company and bring up the record. Then choose from the green sub-tabs under Company Details (e.g., history, highlights, subsidiaries, etc. There is also a grey tab for Company Financials).
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles, including Compustat Excel Analytics; as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
To access Company Profiles, select Companies tab at top of screen. Search for a Company Profile from dropdown menus and keyword search box. Then look in left frame for links to profile components such as competitors, financials, etc.
Top
of Page |
A Selection of Links about Wikipedia:
Computer Lab Project:
1) Work in small groups for the next 25-30 minutes.
2 )Each group will begin researching ethics (business- or student-related).
3) Find information on ethics from one source (e.g., journal article, newspaper article, online reference tool, web site).
4) Describe the source (what type of source, how you found the information) and evaluate the information found using criteria from Evaluating Sources.
5) Here are some Strengths and Weaknesses of web sites to also consider: http://www.bothell.washington.edu/library/guides/searchengines2.htm#What's Good About the Web (Strengths)
6) Your team will have about five minutes to describe your source, the information you found, and why you would or would not use this source again.
7) Be prepared for questions/comments.
Other Projects
Assignment for October 16th
Each person write an evaluative annotated reference for the source you found and reported on in class today, using APA style for the citation. Guidelines for References - See Annotated Bibliography for some guidelines
Assignment for October 21st
Each person research and report on two databases for company profiles or articles -- see class syllabus for details.
Top
of Page |