|
External Links:
For more resources:
Business Research Guides
See especially Company & Industry sections
For More
Business Databases
Also Link to:
|
A Selection of Resources for Company Analysis |
| |
|
| Analyst Reports (for company and industry analysis and forecasts) |
| |
- Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
To search by company: Click on Content Profile tab.
Type a company name in search
box or change radio dial to search by ticker symbol.
From
results page, select "Complete Reports List."
To search by
industry: Click on Full Search tab.
Type an industry in the Industry search box or change radio dial to
search by SIC or NAIC codes.
- Standard
& Poor's NetAdvantage UW restricted
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat excel
analytics;
as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more.
Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
Top of Page
|
| Books
and Interviews |
| |
- Are there books on your company in the UW
Libraries?
(Search the UW Catalog by Subject and Keyword)
- What about books on or by the CEO of the company?
(Search UW Catalog by Author for books written by the CEO;
Search by Subject for books about the CEO)
- Is there an interview on the CEO that provides
further information on the company?
- Can you locate an interview in Business Source
Complete ? UW restricted
(From "Document Type dropdown menu, select "Interview".
Searchable by name or company.)
- Consider arranging a personal interview
with someone inside the company
Top of Page |
| Company Comparisons (Link here for more
resources) |
| |
- Hoovers Online UW
restricted
Provides a comparison with top competitors, the industry and the
market.
For a comparison with top competitors:
Search for a company. Then, under Browse a Company in left
frame, select Financials and then Competitive Landscape
For a comparison with the industry and the market:
Search for a company. Then, under Browse a Company in left frame,
select Financials and then Competitive Comparison
- Lexis-Nexis UW restricted
Lexis-Nexis will compare balance sheet, income statement, and ratio information of up to five
companies listed on one of the US stock exchanges
To access, select the Business tab
Select in right frame: Dossier Compare Companies
- Standard & Poor's
NetAdvantage UW restricted
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles with Compustat excel analytics (includes ratios);
as well as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and
more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets. To access company
comparative data:
- Select Industries tab. Then choose an Industry Survey from drop down
menu.
From left frame, select Comparative Company Analysis.
Note choices from spread sheet bottom tabs (net income, ratios, etc).
or
- Select Companies tab. Then from dropdown
publication menu, select Compustat Excel Analytics.
Select the report you want from the drop down menu. Analytics are
provided for one company at a time but data may be downloaded to Excel.
Top of Page |
| Company Profiles/Background Information: (Link here for more resources) |
| |
- Hoovers UW restricted
Provides
access to company profiles for 14,000 companies, public and private,
worldwide.
Search for a company. Browse Company Record (left frame) to link to
competitors, etc., for a Company Profile which provides a
company overview, history, financials, etc.
- Mergent Online UW restricted
Mergent Online provides access to 15 years of financial data for U.S. and international
public companies. Other information provided includes business profiles, histories,
lists of subsidiaries, company officers and directors.
- Business Source Complete UW
restricted
Covers all disciplines of business, including markeiting, management,
accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.
Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, and other important
journals and databases. Also contains Company Profiles and SWOT analysis
for thousands of companies. (To Access Company Profiles: From "Document
Type" dropdown menu, select "Company Report")
- Standard & Poor's
NetAdvantage UW restricted
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles; as well as stock,
bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more. Exportable to Excel
spreadsheets.
To access company profiles, select Companies tab at top of page.
Search for a Company Profile from dropdown menus and keyword search box.
Then look in left frame for links to profile components such as competitors,
financials, etc.
- International Directory of Company Histories
Provides information on historical development of some of
the world's largest, most influential companies.
-
Available online: International Directory of Company Histories (select Business. Then select any volume for International Directory
of Company Histories, check the box for "Search this publication," and
type a company name in the "Quick
Search" box. The default searches across all volumes)
Top of Page |
| Competitors (link here for more competitor
resources) |
| |
- Reference USA UW restricted
This is a company and manufacturers directory for U.S. and Canada.
Search by SIC code for competitors. Also searchable by size of business,
industry group,
location, executive title, headquarters, employee size, sales
volume, or stock exchange.
Can be searched for companies that meet specific criteria such as biotech
companies in Bothell
- Hoovers UW restricted
Provides access to company profiles for 14,000 companies, public
and private, worldwide.
Search for a company. Browse Company Record (left frame) to link to
competitors, etc.
- Business Source
Complete UW
restricted
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management,
accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and
economics. Contains full text articles from Harvard Business
Review, and other important business journals. .
For competitors, see especially SWOT analysis and company profiles for
thousands of companies.
- Standard &
Poor's NetAdvantage UW restricted
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles; as well
as stock, bond and
mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more. Exportable to
Excel spreadsheets.
To access company profiles, select Companies tab at top of
page.
Search for a Company Profile from dropdown menus and keyword search
box.
Then look in left frame for links to profile components such as
competitors.
Top of Page |
| Environment |
| |
Link
to Company Information for more resources
Books and Interviews
Note: obtaining a
personal interview with someone inside the company
may be the only way some information is made available.
-
External Situation
-
Search for
Industry and Company Analyst Reports
Thomson Research (Investext) UW restricted
Reports and
forecasts prepared by international brokers, investment banks, and
trade associations on over 11,000 U.S. and international companies
and 83 industries. Also contains Wall Street Transcripts of
interviews with corporate leaders
Plunkett Research Online UW restricted
(Web-Based but On Campus Access Only) UW Bothell and UW Tacoma restricted
An industry center providing market research, trends
and analysis, industry stats, profiles of industry-leading companies
(both public and private), industry associations, and company
contact export features.
Standard &
Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles; as well
as stock, bond and mutual fund reports, economic insight, and
more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
To access company profiles, select Companies tab at top of
page.
Search for a Company Profile from dropdown menus and keyword search
box.
Then look in left frame for links to profile components such as
competitors, financials, etc.
Link to more Industry Reports
Forrester UW restricted
Forrester is an independent
research firm that analyzes the future of technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers, and society and analyzes
such technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking,
telecommunications, and the Internet. Access is provided to some
reports in this database.
-
Search for journal
articles in business databases UW restricted databases
Business Source Complete Lexis-Nexis, Factiva
-
Search for newspaper articles UW restricted databases
-
Contact Trade Associations
Top of Page |
| Financial Reports: |
| |
SEC Filings from Lexis-Nexis or Edgarscan
Information About SEC Reports
Three-five years of financial information
Corporate Annual Reports to Shareholders
Top of Page
|
| Management
Strategy |
|
- Search
for journal and newspaper articles in periodical databases UW
restricted
- Search Analyst Reports UW
restricted
- Search Company Profiles UW
restricted
- Search for books about the company or CEO
- Interview/Visit
the Company
Top of Page |
Business Databases
(Link here for more databases.) (UW
Restricted databases) |
|
Top of Page
|
| Additional Resources: |
|
- Citing and
Evaluating sources
- Annotated Bibliographies
- Quoting & Paraphrasing
- Academic
Integrity
- Distinguishing resource type
|