A Selection of Resources for Company Analysis
For more resources: Business Research Guides
For more business databases: Business-Related Databases
Business Databases (Link here for more databases.) (UW Restricted databases)
- To Locate general business press and trade articles
- search All Proquest Business Databases Lexis-Nexis Factiva Ebsco Business Source Complete
- To locate newspaper articles
- search Proquest Newspapers Newsbank Lexis-Nexis Factiva
- To locate newswires
- search Lexis-Nexis and Factiva
- To locate tabular data (statistics) on your company or industry, try
InfoTechTrends or TableBase (TableBase is accessible only on campus)
Note: statistics are also available in journal and newspaper articlesFinancial Reports: SEC Filings from Lexis-Nexis or Edgarscan
Corporate Annual Reports to Shareholders
Company Profiles/Background Information: (Link here for more resources)
- Hoovers UW restricted
Provides access to company profiles for about 14,000 worldwide public and private companies, as well as to financial information, news and industry profiles. Company Profiles provide a company overview, history, financials, etc.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco Host extended trial to 6/30/07) UW restricted
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance,international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals and databases. Also contains company profiles for thousands of companies.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles; as well as stock, bond and
mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
To access company profiles, select Companies tab at top of database page.
Search for a Company Profile from dropdown menus and keyword search box.
Then look in left frame for links to profile components such as competitors, financials, etc.
- International Directory of Company Histories
(Book source in reference collection on 1st floor of Library. Call No: HD 2721 I57 )
Multiple volume set with information on historical development of some of the world's
largest, most influential companies. Last volume has index to companies and persons.
Volumes 59-82 are searchable and available online: International Directory of Company Histories (select Business. Then select any volume for International Directory of Company Histories and do a keyword search in the "Quick Search" box)
Prior volumes and volumes 83 forward are in book format in the Reference Collection on 1st floor of libary. Call No: HD 2721 I57.
(Note: when using the books, the last print volume has an index to companies and persons)
- See also Analyst Reports for company/industry analysis
Books and Interviews
- Are there books on your company in the UW Libraries?
(Search the UW Catalog by Subject and Keyword)
- What about books on or by the CEO of the company?
(Search UW Catalog by Author for books written by the CEO;
Search by Subject or Keyword for books about the CEO)
- Is there an interview on the CEO that provides further information on the company?
- Can you locate an interview in Investext ?
(in keyword search box type "CEO interview AND <last name of CEO>")
- Can you locate information on the CEO from ProQuest Databases ?
(From opening search page select Advanced tab. Then, from drop down menu, select: person)
- See also Business Databases for journal and newspaper interview features
- Consider arranging a personal interview with someone inside the company
Competitors (link here for more competitor resources)
- Hoovers UW restricted
Provides access to company profiles for 14,000 companies, public and private, worldwide.
To access company profiles: Search for a company. Browse Company Record (left frame) to link to competitors, etc.
- Business Source Complete (Ebsco Host extended trial to 6/30/07) UW restricted
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text articles from Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and others.
For competitors, see especially company profiles tab at top of database screen
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides global industry reports; in depth company profiles; as well as stock, bond and
mutual fund reports, economic insight, and more. Exportable to Excel spreadsheets.
To access company profiles, select Companies tab at top of database page.
Search for a Company Profile from dropdown menus and keyword search box.
Then look in left frame for links to profile components such as competitors.Management Strategy
- Search for journal and newspaper articles in periodical databases UW restricted
- Search Analyst Reports UW restricted
- Search Company UW restricted
- Search for books about the company or CEO
- Interview/Visit the Company
Additional Resources: - Business Ethics Research Guide
Also Link to:
- Advertising Campaigns
- Regulations
- Organization Charts
- Corporate Mission Statements/Philosophies
- Ownership (M&A)
- Products & Services (lines of business)
- Size/Diversity
- Strengths & Weaknesses
Top of Page
|
Guide
Developed by:
URL:
http://library.uwb.edu/guides/Bus201Resources.html
|