College 101: Research
Guide
Instructor: Donna Bolima
Librarian Contact Information:
Venta Silins
Reference and Instruction Librarian
425-352-5241
vsilins@uwb.edu
I also am available to answer questions via instant messaging: ventas on AIM or venta.silins on Google Talk (gmail).
|
Getting
Started - This page goes over some of the basics of using the library
including how to access UW Restricted
databases from home. |
|
| Assessing Your Sources - This page provides some tips on evaluating the information that you find in your searches. |
|
| Search Tips - This page covers some of the basics of searching online and how you can translate your research interest into searches that are "database friendly." |
|
This web site provides various library resources to help you research Ralph Ellison and Invisible Man.
HOW TO GET STARTED USING THE CAMPUS LIBRARY
Before you check out books (or use many other Library services) make sure that your library account is activated. Visit the Information Commons Desk on the first floor of the Campus Library, present your CCC student ID and ask a staff member to activate your library card. This must be done in person at the Library.
Create a UW NetID. Your UW NetID allows you to access the UW Libraries Databases, request materials from other libraries and access electronic reserves.
Visit the Library Lingo web page.
Become familiar with the organization of the UWB/CCC Campus Library including its use of the Library of Congress Call Number system.
Use the UW Libraries Catalog to find books on your topic.
Use the Reference Collection (including Online Reference Tools) to find appropriate encyclopedias to give you background information or overviews on your topic.
There are many UW Libraries databases that
will help you find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. You will need a UW
NetID to access these databases from home or anywhere off campus. To access the
databases go to
Databases A-Z: articles & more. On the upper right hand side of the page
click on off campus access (log in). You
will need to provide your UW NetID user name and password. Then you can use the
alphabetical list to find the database you would like to search. Good choices
for your research project include Expanded Academic Index, ProQuest Databases,
JSTOR or Project Muse. More information about these databases is provided below.
If you have any trouble accessing the databases please contact me or ASK US A QUESTION. There is
also an
audio version
of this information.
ORGANIZATION OF THE LIBRARY:
UWB/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY MATERIALS CAN BE FOUND ON THE FOLLOWING FLOORS:
***UWB/CCC Reference Books: First floor; north end of the Library (the side nearest to Cascadia).
***UWB/CCC Topics: First floor; the smaller shelves across from the Reference shelves.
***UWB/CCC Periodicals: Third floor of the Library; south of the library.
***UWB/CCC Microfilm: First floor of the Library behind the restrooms.
***UWB/CCC Reserves: First floor of the Library to the left of the stairs.
***UWB/CCC Media Center: Second floor of the Library.
***UWB/CCC ESL:   Third floor of the Library.
***UWB/CCC Rec Reading: First floor of the Library.
***UWB/CCC Stacks: Third Floor of the Library.
RESOURCES:
UW LIBRARIES CATALOG
KEYWORD SEARCH:
Go to the UW Libraries Catalog. Using the terms invisible man or Ralph Ellison do a KEYWORD search to find books in the general stacks. Remember to change the location to UWB/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY and be sure you are searching KEYWORDS. When you have found a book that looks interesting, find it in the library. Remember TOPICS are on the first floor and GENERAL STACKS are on the third floor.
If you find a book that looks useful, find it in the library.
RESOURCES: DATABASES
DATABASES: Notice that all the databases are UW restricted. You must be on campus to use the databases or you must log in using your UW NetID from a remote location. If you are off campus, scroll to the upper right hand side of this page and click on off campus access (log in). You will need to provide your UW NetID user name and password. Please contact the library if you are having problems accessing these databases from home or another remote location.
Expanded Academic ASAP
- UW restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500
scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study
in the humanities, including literary studies.
Academic
Search Complete - UW
restricted
This database provide scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine,
humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
JSTOR
-
UW restricted
Contains the full text of articles from scholarly
journals, some going back to the 1800s. Covers Literature, History,
African-American Studies, Asian Studies and more.
Project Muse - UW restricted
Project Muse is a subject searchable database of scholarly
journals published by university presses. Like JSTOR, it will retrieve full text
articles only. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and
performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, and much more.
Go to Databases A-Z: articles & more.
Please contact me if you have any questions!
Venta Silins
Reference and Instruction Librarian
425-352-5241
vsilins@uwb.edu