BIS 490D Exotics at Home: Americans Studying Americans
Library Contact
Katie Whitson, 425-352-5341 ; kwhitson@uwb.edu
Primary Source - Definitions
[From: VanFossen, P.J. and J.M. Shiveley. Using Internet Primary Sources to
Teach Critical Thinking Skills in Government, Economics, and Contemporary World
Issues, Greenwood Press, Westport, Connecticut, 2001]
"...documentary records or materials that have survived from a particular historical era;
that are contemporary or nearly contemporary with the period being studied."
[From: Library of Congress. "Lesson One. The Historians' Sources."
Accessed at http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/lessons/psources/
source.html]
"Primary sources are actual records that have survived from the past,
such as letters, photographs, (or) articles of clothing."
[From: UCLA Institute on Primary Source: What is a Primary Source?
http://ipr.ues.gseis.ucla.edu/info/definition.html]
"Primary resources provide firsthand evidence of historical events. They are generally
unpublished materials such as manuscripts, photographs, maps, artifacts, audio and
video records, oral histories, postcards, and posters. In some instances, published
materials can also be viewed as primary materials for the period in which they were
written. In contrast, secondary materials such as textbooks, synthesize and interpret
primary materials."
To search for websites for Primary Sources using the online catalog, try doing a Keyword search for primary sources
and choose location electronic resources
Expanded Academic Index
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest
periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and
science and technology.
Proquest Databases
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social
science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers
and periodicals sections.
Anthropological Literature
Anthropological literature describes articles and essays on anthropology and
archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and
religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological literature indexes
articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European
languages from the 19th century to the present. Anthropological literature
includes more than 426,000 records.
Sociological Abstracts
Contains abstracts of serial literature in sociology and related disciplines
from approximately 2,500 journals.
JSTOR
A subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text
backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's
Historical Newspapers Online
Contains three historical newspaper citation indexes: Palmer's Index to the
Times of London 1790-1905; Official Index to the Times of London 1906-1980; and
the Historical Index to the New York Times 1863-1905 and 1913-Sept 1922. This
library does not provide access to the Palmer's Full Text Online