|
Finding
books
|
| |
- UW
Libraries Catalog - Contains over 6 million titles held by more
than 20 branches of the UW Libraries. Requested items arrive in 2-5
business days.
Update: As of 12-2006 you no longer use your library PIN to request
books - instead you'll be prompted to enter your UW NetID
- Summit
Catalog - A library catalog of regional universities and colleges.
Search over 22 million books, sound recordings, films, video tapes,
and more. Items take about 3-5 business days to arrive
|
| Finding
articles |
| |
- Interdisciplinary
Databases
- News/Media
Databases
- More
subject guides , including: U.S.
History, Ethnic
Studies, Film
Studies, Music,
Art,
Media
Studies, Education,
and All
Research Databases
- Reading tips:
Reading
Scholarly Articles
and Reading
an academic article
- Ulrich's
Periodical Directory UW
restricted
Use this to see if
a journal as a whole is considered scholarly, and if it's peer reviewed/refereed.
Remember that not all articles in a scholarly journal
are themselves scholarly - you'll also find book reviews, editorials,
reviews of the literature, etc.
- Requesting
articles order form - this is a free service!
- Subject Encyclopedias
Online: Gale
Virtual Reference and Oxford
Reference Online
UW
restricted
- Search
Tips handout from class, January 22
|
| Children's
Literature Group |
| |
In
addtion to the databases listed above, try:
- Guide
to research on children's and young adult literature (UW Libraries)
- Children's
Literature Research Guide (UW Bothell Library)
- ERIC
UW
restricted
ERIC is a national education database sponsored by
the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and
Improvement (OERI). Presently the largest education database in the
world, ERIC contains over one million citations covering research documents,
journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations,
and curricular materials in the field of education.
- Consider checking
the search boxes for 'peer reviewed' and/or 'journal articles' to
focus your search results. ERIC also includes lots of "unpublished"
materials such as curriculum materials and school district reports.
- Education
Fulltext UW restricted
Journal articles in the field of education; despite its name, the database
is not entirely fulltext
Sample
Keywords and search tips
- children's literature,
picture books, children's stories, children's books, adolescent literature,
fairy tales, nursery rhymes, civil rights, racial discrimination, stereotypes.
- Think of specific
contexts or examples to help focus your searches: Rosa Parks, Martin
Luther King, American Indians/Native Americans, etc.
- In JSTOR limit
to the education journals in advanced search
- More
education resources
- University
of Calgary's "Children's Literature Web Guide
Finding
Children's Books
- In the Library
Catalog in the Advanced Search screen use juvenile literature
or juvenile fiction to find children's books that are in our
collection or another UW Library
- More
search tips
|
| Art
Group |
| |
In
addtion to the databases listed above, try:
- Art
Databases
- Background
information - look for names of artists or movements
Sample
keywords
- Harlem Renaissance,
Jacob Lawrence, Romare Bearden, Elizabeth Catlett, Meta Warrick Fuller,
James VanDerZee, Faith Ringgold, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Carrie Mae Weems,
...
Finding
Images
|
| Television
Group |
| |
In
addtion to the databases listed above, try:
Sample
keywords
- race, racial stereotypes,
racial relations, ethnic images
- Think of specific
contexts or examples to help focus your searches, for example - The
Cosby show, In Living Color, The George Lopez Show, American Family
(PBS), etc.
Finding
TV shows
- Use the Library
Catalog to find TV shows
- From the Catalog's
main menu select Advanced Keyword
- Click on the
drop-down menu for Publication Type and select Videos,
Slides, Media
- Search by keywords,
for specific programs
- Search by type
of program, such as: (if your search results are too broad try these
as LC subject or genre searches)
- historical
television programs
- television
comedies
- television
programs
- television
advertising
- television
mini series
- See also the Summit
Catalog - A combined library catalog for academic libraries in Washington
and Oregon. Search and request items unavailable at UW
- More
TV links
- Google
Video Search
|
| Music
Group |
| |
In
addtion to the databases listed above, try:
- RILM
Abstracts of Music Literature UW
restricted
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, conference proceedings,
bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies,
critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and
videos, reviews, etc. Coverage is currently 1967 to present
- Music
Index UW restricted
Indexes over 640
international music periodicals from 1978 to the present
- More
music resources - includes links to streaming music sites
- African
American Song contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues,
gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
- Hip
Hop class research guide
- Background
|
| Film
Group |
| |
In
addtion to the databases listed above, try:
Finding
Films
- Use the Library
Catalog to find TV shows
- From the Catalog's
main menu select Advanced Keyword
- Click on the
drop-down menu for Publication Type and select Videos,
Slides, Media
- Search by keywords,
for specific films
- Search by type
of film, such as: (if your search results are too broad try these
as LC subject or genre searches)
- historical
television programs
- television
comedies
- television
programs
- television
advertising
- television
mini series
- See also the Summit
Catalog - A combined library catalog for academic libraries in Washington
and Oregon. Search and request items unavailable at UW
- Finding
Historical U.S. films online (includes documentaries and educational
films)
- More
tips for finding films
|