BIS 364 Public Memory and Dissent in American Culture
Research Guide

Table of Contents

Media & Blogs -- Current News -- Scholary sources --- Primary sources --- Sample searches --- Help & Quick Info

Read about how to access UW Restricted databases
or click on the off-campus access link at the top of the page and enter your UW NetID

Workshop April 20, 2006

Part I: Historical Context - U.S. History Subject Encyclopedias

Quick Tips -

Dictionary of American history (Gale) - UW Restricted
E174 .D52 2003 v.1-10 Ref Stacks

Oxford Companion to United States History UW Restricted

Dictionary of World History and Dictionary of Contemporary World History (Oxford) UW Restricted

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (Gale) UW Restricted

Americans at War (Gale)- UW Restricted

Encyclopedia of U.S. economic history (Gale) - UW Restricted
HC 102 G35 1999 Ref Stacks

Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America, UW Restricted

Oxford Companion to American Military History UW Restricted

American National Biography UW Restricted

U.S. Statistical Abstracts, from 1878+ - this is a great source for historical statistics!

Encyclopedia of World War II
D740 E516 2005 v. 1-5 Ref Stacks

GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES

Greenwood Library of American War Reporting: a wonderful selection of primary sources from magazines and newspapers, including Time, Life, Christian Science Monitor, the Associated Press (AP), and more
D5 .G84 2005 v.1-8 Ref Stacks

Facts.com - (Facts on File World News Digest) UWB/CCC Campus Access Only
Summaries of top news stories. Coverage is from 1940+

Gale Virtual Reference Library - UW restricted
A large collection of reference books - interdisciplinary

Oxford Reference Books online UW Restricted
Browse the title list
Keyword search all or selected titles

More subject encyclopedias (most will be in the Library's Ref Stacks on the 1st floor)

 

Part II: Searching

Searching the Historical New York Times, 1851-2001 UW restricted

Step 1: Select Advanced Search

Step 2: Enter your keywords in the first search box. Use the * to search for word variants (soldier*) ; Use AND, OR, NOT, W/n, W/para to connect your search terms. [Para = paragraph] For example:

pearl harbor w/3 japan* - this will search for pearl harbor within 3 words of japan, japanese, japans

Step 3: Click on the drop down menu for the second search box and change this from Citation and Document Text to Document Type

Step 4: Browse the document types - experiment with: article, front page, editorial article or editorial cartoon

Step 5: Limit by date

Step 6: Select several articles that look promising and skim them -

  • How does the source support and/or complicate what you've learned from your secondary materials?
  • What is the historical context in which the source was written and read? Who was the intended audience? How might the source have been interpreted when it first appeared, why might it be read differently today?
  • Are there other contemporary sources to compare against this one? Do all of your sources tell the same story? If not, why might this be?

World War II Oral History Interview
An Interview with Samuel E. Blum, from the Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II
You can also do keyword searches for other oral history interviews

 

Media: Documentary Archives and Blogs

American RadioWorks Documentaries

Vanderbilt Television News Archive

Internet Archive

AlterNet

More online media resources: an excellent resource from our Media Studies Librarian!

Finding films: search tips and specialized databases

Blogdex.net

Blogsearch (google)

Cyberjournalist

 

Current News Databases

Alt-Press Watch UW restricted - Full text alternative and independent press sources.

Ethnic Newswatch UW restricted - Full text ethnic, minority and native publications.

Lexis-Nexis UW restricted - U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and more.

Proquest Newspapers UW restricted - U.S. newspapers, including Washington State papers.

Newspapers: Finding News Articles - A wide variety of ethnic, regional, and international news sources, both current and historical, are available from this site.

More news and media studies resources...

Scholarly Books & Articles

UW Libraries Catalog - Find books and films in any of the UW libraries. Use your library account number (the barcode on the back of your student ID card) and library PIN number to request books from other libraries. This is a free service.

Summit Catalog - A combined library catalog for academic libraries in Washington and Oregon. Search and request items unavailable at UW.

Humanities, Social Science & Multidisciplinary Databases

These are good starting points for research in American History:

America: History & Life UW restricted - history of the United States & Canada, prehistory to present

JSTOR search UW restricted - Retrieves full-text scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles from the last 3-5 years for most journals.

Project Muse Search UW restricted - Multidisciplinary

More databases and subject guides:

U.S. History Subject Guide

Expanded Academic Index UW restricted - Multidisciplinary, general database

Research Library (Proquest) UW restricted - Multidisciplinary, general database

Additional Subject Guides - browse by subject (political science, communications, etc.)

Databases A-Z - the complete list of databases available through the UW Libraries

If you want to see if we have the full text of a journal in our collections, and the database you're searching doesn't have a link to "Check UW Holdings", try this:
  • From the Library homepage select Catalog: books and more
  • Click on Journal searches
  • Select Title
  • Enter the title of the magazine or journal
  • At this point you may need to look through several entries – be patient – start at the top and work your way down the list.
  • Is the journal available online? From another UW Library? If it's not available online, and you can wait 2-5 days, use our Order Articles service to request copies of articles from other UW Libraries. This is a free service!

As you read your scholarly sources keep these questions in mind:

 

Primary Sources in American History

Primary sources are materials contemporary with the topic or question you are researching.   Examples include eyewitness accounts, decrees, letters and diaries, newspapers and magazines, speeches, autobiographies, works of art, films, photographs, cartoons, illustrations, government documents, recordings, and oral sources such as interviews.

As you read your sources keep these questions in mind:

If your topic is historical, try these links!

Primary Source Research Guide - Links to the major databases and websites in U.S. history, including U.S. government documents

Here are a few core databases and websites:

 

Sample Searches

Sample searches:

(soldier* or military or army) and World War 1939-1945

war and (news or media or reporting or journal*)

(terror* or war) and (psychological aspects or attitudes) and united states and history

The * symbol will search on word variations, for example: terror* will also search for terrrorist, terrorists, and terrorism

This truncation or wildcard symbol varies across databases - always check the help section to see what it is! It might be a ! or a ?

 

Help & Quick Tips

Getting Started - This page goes over some of the basics that won't be covered in class, including how to access UW Restricted databases from home. Please ask if you have any questions!

Research 101 (UWILL) - go through this online tutorial if you would like to review and update your research skills

Assessing Your Sources - This page provides some tips on evaluating the information that you find in your searches.

Books on Reserve for this class

Search Tips - This page covers some of the basics of searching online and how you can translate your research interest into searches that are "database friendly."

Articles on Reserve (ERes): the password is your UW NetID

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sarah Leadley
American Studies Librarian
425-352-5387
sleadley@uwb.edu
Office hours - by appointment, Library 310C

 

If I'm not available, we have many ways you can get help, in person, by phone, email or online chat.