BIS351 Washington's History and Heritage

Your Librarian: Sarah Leadley -- sleadley@uwb.edu -- 425-352-5387 -- Library 310D

Getting Started at the Library

Finding Historic Sites

Research Links

Workshop links:

Background Reading and Primary Sources
Finding Books & Articles

Books

  • UW Libraries Catalog - Contains over 6 million titles held by more than 20 branches of the UW Libraries. Requested items arrive in 2-5 business days.
  • Summit Catalog - A library catalog of regional universities and colleges. Search over 22 million books, sound recordings, films, video tapes, and more. Items take about 3-5 business days to arrive.
  • Books on Reserve for this class

Articles - the databases below should help you find popular and scholarly articles on your topic. Tips on how to find articles.

To access UW restricted databases from home or off-campus click on the "off-campus access" link at the top of this page and enter your UW NetID

  • History Databases: finding articles
    • America History & Life UW restricted - articles from scholarly journals in U.S. History. Includes some local history journals:
      • Columbia
      • Pacific Historical Review
      • Pacific Northwest Quarterly
      • Western Historical Quarterly
    • Pacific Northwest history journals available online
    • Complete list of history databases

      You can start by looking for scholarly articles that deal with your specific site or concept, but you may not find any that deal with it specifically.

  • In that case try looking for articles that deal with the broader context in which your site was created and used.

    For example, try finding out more about the community in which your site is located - who lived/lives there? What is the economy based on? What are the politics? The social institutions (schools, religions, etc.) or other community networks?

    You may also need to widen your search for scholarly sources to include sources on similar sites in other locations, or the function of your site more broadly (for example, the purpose/role of public memorials in our national memory)

  • General and Multidisciplinary Databases: finding articles

Reference Books: background information

  • Chronology of the American West: from 23,000 B.C.E.
    through the twentieth century
    F591 Z46 2002
  • Historical atlas of the Pacific Northwest
    F851 H38 1999 ATLAS CASE
  • The Oxford history of the American West
    F591 .O95 1994

More subject guides

All Research Databases

Back to top


Last updated: September 26, 2006