BIS300 Interdisciplinary Inquiry: Library Overview and Research Guide

Your Librarian: Sarah Leadley -- sleadley@uwb.edu -- 425-352-5387 -- Library 310D

Getting Started at the Library - Overview Workshop Handouts

Research & Writing Links

Finding Films
Finding Books & Articles

Books

  • UW Libraries Catalog - Contains over 6 million titles held by more than 20 branches of the UW Libraries. Requested items arrive in 2-5 business days.
  • Summit Catalog - A library catalog of regional universities and colleges. Search over 22 million books, sound recordings, films, video tapes, and more. Items take about 3-5 business days to arrive.

Articles - the databases below should help you find articles on your topic.

Higher Education Websites Subject Encyclopedias and Background Information
  • Facts.com Education Topics - Campus Access Only
    This database provides very, very general overviews of a variety of topics. While you'll want to move on to more substantial information sources as you refine your question, this database could be an excellent place to start, as it might give you some topic and keywords ideas.
  • CQ Researcher - UW restricted
    Contains background information on topics of interest to Congress. Type the word "education" into the search box to get a list of topics. If you're interested in education topics that have sparked legislation that's either currently moving through Congress or did so in the past, try CQ.com. Note: CQ.com is also UW restricted and allows only 3 concurrent users to be logged into at a time. If access is denied, you might want to try back later.
  • Online Encyclopedias
    The resources listed on this page are also well suited to helping you brainstorm.
  • Print Encyclopedias and Reference Books
    The following are all located in the reference collection on the first floor of the library in the Information Commons:
Higher Education in the United States {LA225.H54 2002}
Fact Book on Higher Education {LA227.3 A44c 1997}
Encyclopedia of Education {LB15.E47 2003}
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education {LB15.G68 2003}
Historical Dictionary of American Education {LB15.H57 1999}
The International Encyclopedia of Education {LB15.I569 1994}
Learning Theories A to Z {LB15.L4695 2002}
World Education Encyclopedia {LB15.W87 2002}
Philosophy of Education {LB17.P485 1996}
Encyclopedia of American Education {LB17.U54 2001}
Handbook of Educational Ideas and Practices {LB17.H267 1990}

Getting help from your Librarian
If you have any questions at any stage of your research, please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance. I can help over email, or you can make an appointment to meet in the library.

Last updated: March 2007