BIS300 Research Workshop 4

Workshop 4 - Archival Research

Image analysis exercise

We'll be using the front and back covers of the book: A Small Place in class today. The front cover includes a painting by Robert Hogfeldt.

Here are a few more Hogfeldt images from Life magazine, published July 3, 1944

http://www.uwb.edu/library/guides/BIS300Burgett/imagepage1.gif
http://www.uwb.edu/library/guides/BIS300Burgett/imagepage2.gif

Here's an excerpt from the same 1944 Life magazine article:

"Sweden's best known comic artist is Robert Hogfeldt, a slyly disrespectful little man who is 50 years old and looks very much like his pink-cheeked characters shown on these pages. Since 1937 he has published at least three books. His water-color pictures have appeared in countless European magazines and have been reproduced by the million, but they have never been published in the U.S."

Life is described in the Ulrich's database as a consumer/photojournalism magazine

This National Archives worksheet provides some great strategies for "close reading" an image or photograph.

Based on this and your close reading of the text and images on the front and back covers, how would you address the worksheet questions for this artifact?

1) Who is (are) the "author(s)" of your artifact? Where and how was it produced, published, and/or archived? What do you know about that site and why the source seemed significant there? (Think about the artifact's and/or the site's intended audience.)

2) How did this artifact travel to your research cluster? Why does it now seem significant to you (collectable/appropriable by you) in the context of your interdisciplinary inquiry? What larger archive might it contribute to (in the context of your inquiry)?

3) Close-read your artifact (as we did earlier in the quarter with Kincaid and Harrison). Begin with the details, the things that catch your attention. List those details. How would you pull those details together in order to "read" the artifact? What remains unclear? What further questions do you want to ask about and of the artifact?

4) How might someone approaching the artifact with a different research agenda (posing a different problem and/or constructing a different archive) treat it differently? (This is not an easy question.) How might they "appropriate" it differently than you have?

Blackboard


Finding an artifact

Archival research involves collecting and assessing artifacts. Artifacts are generally produced by individuals or groups directly involved in the event or topic under consideration. Research on artifacts involves mining and creating archives which may include eyewitness accounts, diaries, speeches, works of art, films, photographs, songs, cartoons, illustrations, advertisements, recordings, government documents… Often artifacts are referred to as "primary sources."

Depending on your research area, you might search for U.S. or international news, government documents (U.S., international, foreign national governments), agency reports from non-profit or advocacy groups, more interviews, ads, images, music, historical archives, other? You're looking for something or someone with a direct, immediate relationship to your topic area.

“Artifact” really just means “made thing,” and we use that term to emphasize that anything someone has made may be used as a primary or archival resource. By “archive” we mean some set or collection of artifacts that are related in some way. (Remember that archives are also created by people and institutions, so the collector’s intentions and/or goals may affect the archival collection as far as what they’ve chosen to include or omit from the collection.)

Start with the sources you have - check their bibliographies to see what, if any, primary source material they used. Keep in ming that you may not be able to track this down quickly if it's not available locally or online.

1. Newspaper or magazine articles

Revisit some of the databases you've already used this term, such as the Proquest databases (Ethnic Newswatch, Alt-Press Watch, Research Library) and Lexis-Nexis.

There are more news databases listed on the Library's "search by subject" guide to Mass Communications, including National Newspapers, Washington State Newsstand, World News Connection, Global Newsbank and local community news. This subject guide also includes links to major media websites.

Remember that you can check the website for a publication to learn more about its editorial position, or search the Ulrich's International Periodical Directory for a brief description and review.

You can also check the Web for local newspapers, for example:


2. Government documents

The Library's subject guide for Government and Policy Studies includes some links to the major government agencies. See also the UW Libraries Government Documents guide. You can also use Google's U.S. government documents search engine

The research guide from our first workshop includes some links specific to the Caribbean area, including:

 

3. Image collections

Limit to Images in a Google image search and Google advanced image search

Associate Press (AP) Archive UW Restricted
Over two million photographs dating back to 1826, more than one million audio sound bytes dating from the 1920s, two million Associated Press news stories from 1997, and a professionally produced collection of more than 45,000 maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations, etc.

U.S. historical images and films - includes national and local collections

UW Libraries Digital Collections (emphasis is on local northwest history)

You can translate many pages in other languages into relatively understandable English by entering the website address into the Google search box and clicking on the "translate this page" link

We also have a guide for Finding and Using Digital Images that might be useful

Other web search engines:

4. Historical archives and databases

American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 - UW restricted

African American Newspapers, 19th Century UW restricted

Early American Imprints (1600-1800) UW restricted

New York Times 1851- 2001 (Proquest) UW restricted

Time Magazine Archives - The entire archive of articles dating back to 1923.

The Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985) UW restricted

Wall Street Journal, 1889-1989 UW restricted

Early English Books Online (1470-1700) UW restricted

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701-1800) UW restricted

More U.S. historical sources

5. Music

The UW Libraries Music Subject Guide has lots of useful info. Amazon has browsable archives, with mini sound bites/samples.


"Reading" or interpreting your archival/primary sources

As you read/examine your archival sources (sometimes referred to as primary sources) keep these questions in mind:
  • Where is the source from? Who "published" it? When? Where? What was the perspective/intention/ bias of the source's producer(s)? These questions can be easy, difficult, or impossible to answer depending on the source.
  • How do you read the source? Look closely at it. Examine and isolate details. How do those details add to/contradict the source's overall argument(s)? How does the source support and/or complicate what you've learned from your scholarly and other secondary sources materials?
  • What is the historical and/or cultural context in which the source was produced and "read"? Who was the intended audience? How might the source have been interpreted when it first appeared, why might it be read differently today? How might it have been interpreted by those for whom it was produced, in contrast to other potential audiences (including yourself.)
  • Are there other primary/archival sources to compare against this one? Do all of your sources tell the same story? If not, why might this be?
Compare this to your reading of scholarly secondary sources::
  • What questions does the author pose and answer? How do these questions contribute to an ongoing conversation about the materials at hand?
  • What evidence does the author use to support his or her argument or claim?


The U.S. National Archives has some primary source worksheets that you might find useful:


The final proposal and presentation

The assignment (from Blackboard)

Final Presentations and Portfolios (12/3 and 12/5)
Your final presentations will be take place on Monday, December 3. Each research cluster will have approximately 20 minutes of class time in order to discuss with the class the knowledge travels that have led you from Kincaid's "small place," through various (inter)disciplinary archives and methods of inquiry, and to wherever your travels may lead you next. You can most usefully think of your presentation as a travelogue, a slide show, or picture album. But remember how difficult it is to make one's own travels interesting to others. You will need to edit the documentation of your experiences, and use your time well. As you edit, focus on three points of interest: 1) How and why the original question/problem posed by your group may have changed during the course of your travels; 2) How Kincaid's "small place" may look different on your second visit there than it did on your first; 3) Where you (individually or collectively) are headed next. As always in good presentations, try to balance the information and ideas you will present to the class with opportunities for open discussion.

Your final portfolios will be due to my office during the regular class time on Wednesday, December 6. They should include all of the items from your first portfolio, along with your work from the second half of the course: 3 e-responses, 2 worksheets, and 1 essay and postcard. In addition, you will submit two new pieces of writing:

A) A collaborative (or individual) research proposal that responds to the following call:

The Burgett-Leadley Foundation is soliciting proposals for research projects developed by and for new and emerging interdisciplinary scholars, with special interest in projects related to "knowledge travels." The foundation has $500,000 dollars to give away during this funding cycle and is able to support projects that range from one quarter to one year in length. Here are the guidelines for submission:

Proposals to the Foundation should be no more than 6 double-spaced pages and should address the following six topics:

1) A description and justification of the problem or problems you will be posing (the question or questions you will be asking);

2) A discussion and rationalization of the types of scholarly sources you will be reading in order to orient your inquiry (the scholarly conversation/s you will be entering into). Please include the bibliographic citations for 3-5 scholarly articles that seem especially promising. (You do not need to have read these articles, but you should be able to discuss in your proposal the problems/questions they are posing, the methods they are using to address them, and any arguments they might be making);

3) A discussion and justification of the methods of inquiry you will be using (and not using). Be specific;

4) A description and justification of the archive(s) that you will be mining and assembling/collecting. Again, be specific;

5) A discussion of the intended audience for your research findings and a description of how and where you will publish your findings (a scholarly article in a specific journal, a documentary film screened at a specific location, a site-specific performance project, a series of workshops developed for specific locations, etc.). The Foundation welcomes scholarly articles, but is also interested in developing other innovative and effective modes of publication, performance, and intervention;

6) A detailed project budget and schedule of research activities (this may be an additional page).

Feel free to end your proposal with a tentative hypothesis concerning what you think you will find at the "end" of your research and what the significance of those findings will be. Finally, be sure to let the Foundation know the time frame for the completion of your project (between one quarter and one year) since proposals will be reviewed, in part, on how likely they are to be completed within that time frame and with the resources available to the project team.

B) A final "airmail letter" to me in which you have provide a self-assessment of your work in the course as a whole as it relates to the learning objectives listed on the course syllabus. (This is an opportunity to draw my attention to the high (and low) points within and across the assignments that make up your final portfolio, as well as what you've learned about diverse methods of inquiry and research strategies). I'll list the learning objectives here as well: 1) Understand and appreciate the interdisciplinary production of knowledge and the ways in which it underwrites different aspects of the IAS program; 2) Gain a critical understanding of the IAS program?s diverse and inter-related (inter)disciplinary fields and methods of inquiry; 3) Become better critical thinkers and writers, ones who are capable of posing, answering, and reposing a variety of complex questions; 4) Become better researchers, ones who are able to use the resources at UWB and elsewhere in order to identify existing and complementary scholarly work while producing original knowledge through data gathering and interpretation; 5) Become better speakers, ones who are able to communicate clearly and engagingly about complicated topics, arguments, and issues; 6) Learn to work well collaboratively, as learners, researchers, and teachers.

In order to retrieve your final portfolio, either provide me with a self-addressed and adequately stamped envelope, or come by my office next quarter.

Hints:

Depending on your project... review the Library's Subject Guides to identify relevant databases for scholarly sources.

Search the Catalog for books and videos

You might want to review the research database links from our scholarly source workshop - here's a copy if you can't find yours!

If you find an article that isn't available full text online, and you're really interested in tracking it down (it might be available in another database, or in the UW Libraries print collection), try this:

Please let me know if you need any help! I can meet with you in person or via email.

Sarah Leadley
American Studies Librarian
425-352-5387
sleadley@bothell.washington.edu


Do you have any other questions or suggestions? Please let me know!

Here is the main BIS300 webguide - it provides a lot of general info that you might find useful as you move into your winter term courses.

Library