BCUSP 135: Research Writing - Sharon Crowley

Your Librarian: Sarah Leadley, sleadley@uwb.edu - phone: 425.352.5387 - office: Library, 310D Contact Sarah!

Getting Started Helpful Links
Finding Books, Articles & more

1. Before you begin, try this short tutorial on connecting to UW Restricted databases from off-campus

2. This brief (5-10 minute) tutorial on Boolean search terms might help you with your keyword searching in databases and the catalog. I also highly recommend the entire Research 101 online tutorial.

Books and Films

  • UW Libraries Catalog - Contains over 6 million titles held by more than 20 branches of the UW Libraries. Requested items arrive in 2-5 business days.
  • Summit Catalog - Access over 22 million books, sound recordings, films, video tapes, and more. Current UWB students may request items from this catalog and items take about 3-5 business days to arrive.
  • Worldcat Local - Search locally and worldwide ; books and a limited collection of articles

Reference Books- finding background information

Articles

Research workshops

Workshop 2 - Annotated bibliographies

Worksheet

Sample guidelines for creating annotated bibliographies

Identifying Scholarly Journals

Research 101: About scholarly, popular and trade publications

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory - UW restricted

Citing your sources and Research Database and free citation generators

 

Workshop 1 - Selecting and focusing a topic; background research

Open this Word document, rename it, and then save it (to the desktop or your jump drive/disc)

At the end of class today you'll be submitting this worksheet online

Optional: Concept Map

Finding background info, issues and debates

Contact Sarah

 Contact me with questions about how to find information on your paper topic! You can call, e-mail or IM me.

Sarah Leadley, American Studies Librarian
sleadley@uwb.edu
425.352.5387
Campus Library, LB1-310D

More ways to get help - including the UW Libraries 24/7 online reference service

Instant Message Sarah, your librarian, using this box:
If you have a quick question about research resources or need help with an assignment.

Become a "fan" of the Library on Facebook and receive information about new and exciting resources and events.

 

 

Back to top