The Attic Learning Community: Reference Books

REFERENCE BOOKS

The reference books are on the first floor near the computers in the Information Commons. These are wonderful sources to help you decide on a topic as well as to find information on your topic.

The UW Libraries use the Library of Congress Call Number System. You will see a copy of it on many of the book stacks. Especially when searching for reference books, the LC Call Number System can help you find your area of interest. For example, in the following list of reference books, I didn't use the UW Libraries Catalog. I used the LC Classification System to help me find them. Since there are many more books in the General Stacks on the third floor, you would want to use the Catalog, but browsing can still be one way of searching for resources.

This is not a complete list of reference books. You'll find other good books next to these. To find these books, use the UW Libraries Catalog to search for the TITLE, or use the call number system to help you find them.


B. Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

BF. Psychology

Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology

BJ. Ethics

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics

BL. - BX. Religion

Encyclopedia of Religion

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

D. History: General and Old World

D. General History

Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II

DS. Asia and the Middle East

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia

Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia

E. History: United States

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy

F. History: Americas

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

G. Geography and Anthropology

GN. Anthropology

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

H. Social Sciences

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

HN. Social History and Social Reform

Social Issues in America

HQ. The Family, Feminism, Sexuality

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

J. Political Science

JZ. International Relations

Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations

K. Law

Legal Systems of the World

Q. Science

Encyclopedia of Science Technology and Ethics

QH. Natural History, Ecology

Encyclopedia of Bioethics

QL. Zoology

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior

W. Medicine

WA. Public Health

Encyclopedia of Public Health

WC. Communicable Diseases

Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS

WM. Psychiatry

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders


Contact me if you have any questions!

Venta Silins
Librarian
425-352-5241
vsilins@uwb.edu