Learning Community - From Mountains to Marriage
Learning Community: From Mountains to Marriage - Anthro 202 & Geog. 120 - Class Website

Library Contact


Places to Search

  • To find books, journal titles or videos, search the UW Libraries Catalog
  • . You may also search Summit, the combined catalog of 28 academic libraries in Oregon and Washington.
  • To find articles, search one of the journals databases from Databases and Catalogs
    • eHRAF World Cultures
      A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life
    • Ethnic Newswatch
      Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America
    • Anthropological Literature
      Anthropological literature describes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological literature indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present. Anthropological literature includes more than 426,000 records.
    • AnthroSource
      Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print
    • Academic Search Complete
    • Expanded Academic Index
      Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
    • Proquest Databases
      Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers and periodicals sections.
    • Lexis/Nexis
      Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources
    • Sociological Abstracts
      Contains abstracts of serial literature in sociology and related disciplines from approximately 2,500 journals.
    • Facts.com (Facts on File: World News Digest) UWB/CCC on-campus use only.
      Provides full access to Facts on File World News Digest (1980 to present), Facts on File News Archive (1950-1980), and selected access to the World Almanac, The World Almanac Encyclopedia, Reuters News Service,  Issues and Controversies On File, Today's Science on File and Editorials on File.
    • JSTOR
      A subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's
    • Project Muse
      A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals online with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full-text articles
    • A-Z Electronic Journals in Anthropology

    Connecting From Home

    The off-campus proxy service allows users to access "UW restricted" resources, such as library databases, from off-campus. Access to any of these resources from campus (including offices, classrooms, the Campus Library & Media Center and other spaces) will not be affected.


    More information is available at http://library.uwb.edu/computing/offcampus.html.


    Other Anthropological Resources and Subject Guides

    To find other anthropological resources (including relevant web sites), click on the


    Additional subject guides are available at: Resources by Subject.

    Internet websites


    Online Reference Tools


Search terms for Culture Groups

  • Yanom*

    Truncate the name Yanomami using "*". This will give you more versions of the name -- Yanamao, Yanomani, Yanomomo, etc. If you search the Catalog with the spelling Yanomami, you'll only find 25 books. By truncating the name, you'll find 55.

  • Khasi (Limit to English)
  • Saami and History

Non-Governmental Organizations

For books, do a subject search in the catalog for "non-governmental organizations"

Internet websites for Health Issues


Geography websites


Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from other Periodicals

Source Analysis


Locating ethnographies in the Online Catalog

  • Search the series: "Case Studies in Cultural Anthropology" - (Title Search)
  • Subject search: "Ethnology" or "Ethnology +group, (e.g., Ethnology Irish)
  • Keyword search: "ethnography or ethnology"

Selected Reference Sources


Evaluating Information


The Campus Library Homepage

The Campus Library website includes information about:

See also the Services for CCC Students